Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Pew Center on the States, Home Visiting Campaign. 2012. Winning advocacy: Strategic lessons for advancing home visiting. Philadelphia, PA: Pew Charitable Trusts, 1 video (70 min.).

Annotation: This webcast provides information on educating and promoting home visiting to state legislators and building successful coalitions, grooming legislative champions, how to talk about home visiting in a way that is meaningful to legislators, and other successful advocacy tactics.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: info@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Home visiting, State initiatives, State legislatures

Straw T, Herman M. 2004. Quality in children's health care. [Washington, DC]: National Conference of State Legislatures, 11 pp. (Policy report)

Annotation: This report focuses attention on quality improvement in Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIP), offers a primer on why child quality measures are important, and suggests how these data can be used. The report defines quality and discusses (1)which factors should be considered when developing a quality-measurement strategy, (2) the role of state legislatures, (3) what dimensions of quality are measured, (3) whether children and adults require different quality measures, (4) what quality measures exist for children, (5) how states use quality measures to evaluate quality in Medicaid and SCHIP, (6) the Performance Measurement Partnership Project, and (7) problems in measuring quality. Conclusions and endnotes are included.

Keywords: Adults, Children, Data, Measures, Medicaid, Quality assurance, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State legislatures

Gonzalez R, Perez SM, Waslin M. 2003. NCLR agenda for Hispanic families: A public policy briefing book. Washington, DC: National Council of La Raza, 46 pp.

Annotation: This briefing book offers guidance to Congress, the administration, and state legislatures about which issues resonate with Hispanics, the nation's largest ethnic group. Topics include (1) civil rights, (2) economic mobility, (3) education, (4) health care, (5) housing, (6) immigration, and (7) NCLR's state and local policy activities. Population tables and references are included.

Contact: National Council of La Raza, 1126 16th Street, NW. Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-1670 Fax: (202) 776-1792 E-mail: comments@ncir.org Web Site: http://www.nclr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Civil rights, Economic factors, Education, Ethnic factors, Federal government, Health care, Hispanic Americans, Housing, Immigration, Local initiatives, Public policy, State legislatures

Reforming States Group and Milbank Memorial Fund. 1999. Pediatric dental care in CHIP and Medicaid: Paying for what kids need, getting value for state payments. New York, NY: Milbank Memorial Fund, 1 v.

Annotation: This report proposes a new approach to policy for state financing of oral health care for the 20 million children who lack access to preventive and reparative services. It explores the opportunity that the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) presents to legislators and state policymakers to develop effective new pediatric oral health programs, reform ineffective pediatric dental Medicaid programs, and maximize the impact of public health approaches to improve the oral health of children who suffer the most oral disease.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: mmf@milbank.org Web Site: http://www.milbank.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-887748-28-8.

Keywords: Children, Dental insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Reports, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State health insurance programs, State legislatures

Fox-Grage W, King M, Gehshan S, Starr J, Bradley C. 1999. CHIP and children with special health care needs. Washington, DC: National Conference of State Legislatures, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report provides background information about children with special health care needs (CSHN) and describes states' options for addressing those needs under the State Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). To assist state legislators who want to use the flexibility of Title XXI to improve services for CSHN, the report describes the following strategies: providing supplemental benefits; arranging for specialists to be included under the CHIP plan; expanding eligibility criteria to assist additional families; defining "medical necessity" more broadly; modifying cost-sharing requirements; and addressing quality assurance issues. Appendices include details about programs in Connecticut, Florida, and North Carolina; public health care programs for low income children; and lists of state and national contacts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-074-7.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Connecticut, Florida, Low income groups, Model programs, North Carolina, Public health services, Reports, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State CSHCN programs, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State legislatures

Horton JA, ed. 1998. State profiles on women's health. Washington, DC: Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, 209 pp., exec. summ. (4 pp.).

Annotation: This publication for health care providers, policy makers, educators, and advocates with an interest in improving health care access and quality for women provides a baseline against which future trends in women's use of the health care systems can be measured. State and national data are provided for comparison. Basic demographic information about the female population of each state, including race/ethnicity, age, income, and education, are included. Also included are data on the major risk factors for illness, leading causes of disease and death, health insurance coverage, use of selected preventive health services, and several women's health care policy issues that have received and are expected to continue to receive attention in a majority of state legislatures. A section on references and explanation of terms follows the individual state profiles and contains information describing the data sources used.

Contact: Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4184 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: whieditor@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.jiwh.org $33.50 including shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-444-10029-6.

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Demography, Health are reform, Health care systems, Measures, State legislatures, Trends, Women

Forum for State Health Policy Leadership. 1997. Current state health policy issues: Highlights from the First Annual Workshop of the Forum for State Health Policy Leadership. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report presents highlights from the First Annual Workshop of the Forum for State Health Policy Leadership: Current State Health Policy Issues, held in Dallas, Texas, on January 23, 1997. The objectives of the workshop were to (1) prepare participants to deal in a more informed manner with vexing health policy issues facing them during their legislative session, (2) allow the legislators to meet their counterparts in other states and forge new relationships, and (3) discuss future educational and technical assistance needs and directions. The report includes an introduction to the forum and a discussion of what legislators need to know about Medicaid and about five critical state health policy issues. The report includes two appendices: faculty biographical sketches and a participants list.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Education, Health policy, Medicaid, Public policy, State legislatures, Technical assistance, Texas

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, National Governors' Association, National Conference of State Legislatures, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1993-. Looking forward: The role of state policymakers in promoting healthy families. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, irregular.

Annotation: This set of three-ringed binders contains conference materials for the "Looking Forward" conference, which is held periodically. The conference focuses on the state role in national health care reform, promotion of healthy families, and financing in the public and private sector. Later volumes address rural health, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), Medicaid, and trends in the private market. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Contact Phone: (703) 525-7802 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Financing, Government financing, Health care reform, Maternal health, Private sector, State legislatures

Duker L. 1993. Violence and public policy: Action at the local and state level. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Children's Safety Network, 5 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet provides 11 general ways in which state and local legislatures can influence violence prevention public policy. The list serves as a tool for brainstorming and discussion about public policy opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ003 (rev. ed.), MCHG068.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Legislation, Local government, Policy development, State legislatures, Violence prevention

Lee E, ed. 1962. Proceedings: Institute on Administration in Crippled Children Services: Berkeley, California, June 24-29, 1962. Berkeley, CA: University of California, School of Public Health, California State Department of Public Health, and U.S. Children's Bureau, 126 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings discuss administrative problems in crippled children services (CCS), selling CCS programs, county government and barriers to selling health programs, selling a program in the legislature, program administrator's commodity, legal aspects of standards for medical care goods and services in the Crippled Children Program, standard setting in medical care programs, expenditure controls in a medical care program, estimating program trends, budget presentation, administrative costs in a CCS program, case management for CCS, the responsibility of administration for case management, the role of the public health nurse in case management of CCS cases, supervision and training of personnel, analysis and improvement in health service offices, and evaluation in CCS programs.

Keywords: Administration, Budgeting, Case management, Child health programs, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, County government, Personnel, Program evaluation, Public health nurses, Standards, State legislatures

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.