Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Annotation: These toolkits for consumers and employers provide information to address the challenges of low income wage earners returning to work while continuing to breastfeed. Contents include five individual toolkits. A toolkit for mothers provides information on how to talk with supervisors, coworkers, and child care providers and how to store and handle breast milk, as well as checklists, tips, sample schedules, and food ideas. A toolkit for family members explains the role grandparents and partners play while dispelling myths that can be held by others, and how to give support and care for a breastfed infant. Additional toolkits are designed to help employers comply with state and federal laws; offer guidance for mothers and employers on interpreting the laws and resources; and provide sample letters and policies.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (866) 881-2809 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employer initiatives, Legislation, Low income groups, New York, State programs, Supported employment, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This toolkit, which is geared toward oral health advocates in Arizona, is a collection of resources that can help with advocating for oral heath policies at the Arizona legislature. The toolkit is divided into three sections. The first section provides information about the Arizona legislature. The second discusses how a bill becomes a law. The third provides tools and tips related to the following topics: advocacy vs. lobbying, finding a lawmaker, the request-to-speak system, creating a message, and meeting with a legislator.

Contact: Arizona Oral Health Coalition, Web Site: https://azohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Arizona, Legislation, Legislatures, Lobbying, Oral health, State government

Annotation: This brief provides information about development, championing, and implementing policies, laws, and systemic plans that support state and community oral health efforts. It discusses the importance of developing sociopolitical systems and implementing policy changes that support oral health plans and interventions. It also provides 10 recommendations on developing evidence-based policies and interventions at both the state and the local level.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation

Annotation: This tip sheet discusses the reliance of oral health programs on health coalition members and community advocates to create and implement state plans, promote evidence-based prevention and public health approaches, and advocate for new policies and laws. It also provides 10 recommendations for what these coalition members and advocates can do to support state oral health infrastructure and capacity building.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, State legislation, State programs

Annotation: This public health spotlight describes state and local legislative trends to incorporate health equity and antiracism policies; collect health disparity data; and improve rural healthcare access.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Health equity, Policy development, Public health, Racial factors, Racism, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This report describes state trends in the use of Medicaid funds to improve maternal health, including Medicaid extensions that cover the 12-month postpartum period; the expansion of provider types to include doula care; and coverage of postpartum mental health screening and treatment. Guidance on how states can leverage Medicaid managed care contracts to Improve maternal health outcomes is included, along with a chart comparing the percentage of women who attend timely prenatal and postpartum visits in both expansion and non-expansion states.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy , Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Quality improvement, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This online tracker contains an updated map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This web page describes the pathways that states can take to obtain reimbursement for funding immediate postpartum long-acting reversible contraception (IPP LARC) outside of the global obstetric payment. Included is a map The map and accompanying chart for each state indicating their policies regarding Medicaid reimbursement for IPP LARC.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Financing, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, State aid, State legislation

Annotation: This online resource tracks state actions to implement extended Medicaid postpartum coverage, including states that have implemented a 12-month postpartum extension, states that are planning to implement a 12-month extension, states with pending legislation to seek federal approval through a waiver, and states that have proposed or received approval for a limited coverage extension.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Legislation , Medicaid, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Annotation: This guide provides information for policymakers, state agencies, licensing boards and agencies, oral health and other nonprofit organizations, state governments, and other interested parties in states that have enacted dental therapy legislation and are planning licensing and regulatory efforts. The guide explains what an administrative rule is and offers background information on dental therapy and rulemaking. Also discussed are best practices in dental therapy administrative rulemaking, tribal regulation of dental therapists, and the Model Dental Therapist Rule.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Best practices, Licensing, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This research brief describes state options and actions that can be taken to extend Medicaid-related pregnancy coverage beyond 60 days postpartum. Included are examples of state legislation and federally-approved waiver requests.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Expanded eligibility, Medicaid, Model legislation, Postpartum care, State legislation

Annotation: This chart provides a list of states in which dental hygienists may provide services in medical settings such as hospitals and medical offices, as well as in public health clinics. For each state, a link to the relevant statute or rule is provided, and a description of the provision is presented.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Health services, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This report evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to demonstrate how health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/Hispanic, American Indian/Alaska Native (AIAN), and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations. The report displays data using multiple charts and figures; the data can also be displayed by individual race/ethnic group on its own. The report also recommends policy changes to address disparities in access to health care.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Legislation, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief discusses Medicaid’s eligibility for pregnancy and postpartum care, describes gaps in coverage, particularly for low-income women who live in states that have not expanded Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act, and highlights several state and federal efforts to extend postpartum coverage for a longer period of time.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal legislation , Health care delivery, Medicaid, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This report reviews federal and state laws and policies that can enable women to initiate and sustain breastfeeding successfully through the first year of the infant's life. It reviews the effect of health care delivery, insurance coverage, paid parental leave, workplace and child care policies, and legal protections for breastfeeding in public spaces. It also considers integration of breastfeeding into existing public health and assistance programs. The report concludes with a review of emerging trends and research needs informing future efforts to enable breastfeeding, thereby improving health across 2 generations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based practice, Federal legislation, Federal programs, Research, State legislation, State programs