Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral-health-related behaviors among students in middle and high school in North Dakota and offers suggestions for how they can maintain or improve their oral health. Suggestions are divided into things to do and things not to do. Examples of things to do include wearing a mouth guard while playing sports, brushing and flossing teeth daily, and visiting the dentist regularly. Examples of things not to do include regularly drinking sugary beverages, getting lip or tongue piercings, and smoking or chewing tobacco.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chewing tobacco, Health care utilization, High school students, Middle schools, Mouth guards, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Smoking, State information

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This survey provides information about the oral health of young children in Nebraska during the period 2021–2022. Topics include the statewide Head Start survey, the statewide third grade survey, the Lancaster county third grade survey, oral health disparities, and trends. The oral health status of young children in Nebraska compared with the oral health status of young children in the United States as a whole is discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Health care disparities, Nebraska, Oral health, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program's school dental sealant programs. Topics include the total number of students in the programs who received an oral health screening, who received sealants, who received fluoride varnish. who had untreated tooth decay, and who had urgent oral health needs. The number of potential school days saved is also presented, along with an explanation of how this number was calculated.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/disease-prevention/oral-health-program

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health screenings, New Hampshire, Oral health, State information, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on the Future Oral Health Workforce project, which launched in 2024 with the goal of improving oral health equity and access to oral health care in the state. The project synthesized insights from statewide studies, expert consultations, and community convenings to develop recommendations for building a more equitable and effective oral health care system in New York. This report highlights challenges related to oral health care in the state and offers strategies for improving access to care and addressing the state’s persistent workforce shortages.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Initiatives, New York, Oral health, Oral health equity, State information, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding the role of dental hygienists in New York to improve access to oral health care in the state. Topics include the role of dental hygienists in providing oral health care, expanding the types of care that dental hygienists can provide, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental hygienists, New York, Oral health, Policy development, State information

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding access to oral health care in New York. It discusses challenges to accessing oral health care among young children, uninsured children, children living in poverty, non-Hispanic black children, children from non-English-speaking households, and children with special health care needs. It addresses structural inequities that create barriers to achieving good oral health and pregnant women’s difficulties with accessing oral health care, in spite of the fact that they are at high risk for oral health problems. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Children with special health care needs, High risk groups, New York, Oral health, Poverty, Pregnant women, Racial factors, State information, Uninsured persons, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the impact of the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, on oral health in the community in 2023–2024. The report provides background information on the Office of Oral Health and discusses highlights and partnerships, impact across 75 counties, oral disease prevention, toothbrushing, fluoride varnish, dental sealants, oral health education, and media.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Community health, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Health education, Media, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report offers recommendations to support North Carolinians in accessing high-quality and affordable oral health care. The recommendations were developed by the North Carolina Institute of Medicine's Oral Health Transformation Task Force. Strategies for addressing each of the the 14 recommendations are also provided. Also discussed is executing a collaborative implementation plan for oral health transformation in North Carolina.

Contact: North Carolina Institute of Medicine, P.O. Box 4176, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7590, Telephone: (919) 445-6500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nciom.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Health promotion, North Carolina, Oral health, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This survey focuses on the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in Wisconsin during the 2022–2023 school year. The survey provides an introduction explaining why good oral health is important; describes the survey methodology; and presents results in the following areas: participation, tooth decay experience; oral health care needs, statewide trends among children in third grade, and oral health by region. A convenience sample focused on American Indian and Alaska Native students is also discussed, and key findings are presented.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, School age children, State information, Tooth decay, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas