Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document is designed to support public health organizations in assessing their capacity, translating theory into action, and transforming their practices to address social determinants of health and advance health equity. It also offers a method for measuring progress as public health organizations transform practice to achieve health equity. It is intentionally designed to support a dynamic process of learning and continuous improvement.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Learning, Public health, Social factors, State agencies

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This infographic summarizes results of a survey focusing on oral health during pregnancy administered to oral health professionals (dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants) in Maine in 2016. It provides information about the percentage of respondents who agreed that women should receive preventive oral health care and that it is safe to take X-rays during pregnancy. The infographic also provides information on the percentage of respondents who use the prenatal visit to provide anticipatory guidance about oral health care to pregnant women and respondents who believe there are restrictions on providing oral health treatment to pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Maine, Oral health care, Pregnant women, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to improve population health outcomes of New Mexico residents through an engaged, empowered, and high-performing health work force and simple and effective processes that support health status improvement. Topics include mission and vision; guiding principles; strategic planning process and membership; external trends, events, and other factors affecting the work; strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges; results, priorities, and indicators; and results-based accountability and strategy execution. Strategies and actions include promoting access to person- and community-centered health and wellness by aligning and integrating public health, behavioral health, oral health, and primary care.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• FY17-FY19

Keywords: Accountability, Fiscal management, Health care systems, Health promotion, Health status, New Mexico, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, Work force, Work force

Annotation: This document for state health departments provides guidance on developing a state health assessment. Contents include four modules on identifying and engaging system stakeholders; collecting and analyzing health status data; collecting and analyzing stakeholder and community input data; and summarizing, presenting, and communicating findings. Each module provides information about relevant Public Health Accreditation Board standards, measures, and guidance; ideas for structuring the process and conducting assessment activities; specific examples and lessons learned from states; sample tools and links to additional resources; and a summary of key products, deliverables, or processes resulting from the module activities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name, Organization, And Email Address

Keywords: Assessment, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Health status, State health agencies, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what a state office of rural health (SORH) is, goals of a SORH, and why SORHs are important. Topics include how SORHs support and build local capacity and draw attention to the challenges and successes in rural health care and how they support coordination and information sharing on rural health issues within state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services delivery, Information dissemination, Public health infrastructure, Role, Rural health, Rural population, Service coordination, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This module is designed to assist state and territorial Title V agencies in planning and implementing programs in an environment of health reform and health system transformation. The module describes a five-step planning process and practice examples. Each example guides users in defining a question, collecting information, selecting an option, applying adaptive actions, and creating a simplified implementation plan. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia Health Policy Center, Georgia State University, P.O. Box 3992, Atlanta, GA 30302-3992, Telephone: (404) 413-0314 Fax: (404) 413-0316 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ghpc.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evolution, Health care reform, Health care systems, Organizational change, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, State agencies, Systems development, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report presents five case studies of state, local, and tribal health agency efforts to shift their thinking and their work from focusing on health disparities to advancing health equity. Contents include efforts to address the root causes of health inequities in Colorado, Oregon, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Topics include racism and unequal distribution and access to resources such as a living wage, health care, and quality education and housing.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Collaboration, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Public health infrastructure, Service integration, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This document presents results from a survey of state maternal and child health (MCH) and injury and violence prevention program directors in all 50 states and the District of Columbia about state health agency involvement in bullying prevention efforts. Topics include leadership of state bullying prevention efforts, strategies used by state public health agencies to prevent bullying, types of bullying addressed by state public health agencies, systems and populations addressed by state public health agency bullying prevention efforts, funding for bullying prevention, strategic plans for bullying prevention, measuring progress in bullying prevention, and multi-agency bullying prevention task forces and committees. Strengths, challenges, opportunities, and conclusions are also addressed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Bullying, Financing, Injury prevention, Leadership, Measures, Multidisciplinary teams, Prevention programs, State health agencies, State surveys, Strategic plans, Violence prevention

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: This guide for state health departments provides information and tips for developing and implementing a state health improvement plan (SHIP). The information provided in the guide is consistent with National Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) requirements and documentation guidance and includes references to PHAB requirements and documentation guidance. Topics include identifying and engaging stakeholders in planning and implementation; engaging in visioning and systems thinking; leveraging data inputs; establishing priorities and identifying issues through priority setting; communicating SHIP priorities; developing objectives, strategies, and measures; and implementing and monitoring the SHIP.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Health status, Program improvement, State health agencies, Statewide planning

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the strategies being used to expand preventive services and the opportunities for state public health departments to influence and lead such efforts. Topics include how preventive services are currently provided in the community, understanding the Medicaid landscape in states, Medicaid state plan amendments and waivers, increasing access to preventive services through emerging professions, preventive services rule change (what the rule changes and how the regulatory change can improve community prevention efforts), opportunities to expand preventive services through community benefit program, and key points for state health departments on expanding community-based prevention services. Resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Community health services, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Regulations, State health agencies

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Survey Findings

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

Annotation: This guide presents the process for seeking and obtaining initial public health accreditation through the Public Health Accreditation Board. Topics include preparation, registration and application, documentation selection and submission, site visit, evaluation, and suspensions. Additional contents include background and information about the benefits of public health accreditation, standards and measures, eligibility for accreditation, accreditation decisions, appeals and complaints, annual reports, reaccreditation, and technical assistance.

Contact: Public Health Accreditation Board, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Fax: (703) 778-4556 Web Site: http://www.phaboard.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Public health agencies, State health agencies

Annotation: This report provides information about state public health agency activities, structure, and resources. First published in 2007, the report aims to define the scope of state public health services, identify variations in practice among state public health agencies, and contribute to the development of best practices in governmental public health. Topics include governance and structure, work force, activities, planning and quality improvement, health information management, and finance. Individual profiles of responding states; a slide deck with tables and figures from the full report; issue briefs; infographics, information for researchers (survey instrument, codebook, and related materials); and previous reports are also available.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Financing, Management, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Quality improvement, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends, Work force