Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit, which is geared toward oral health advocates in Arizona, is a collection of resources that can help with advocating for oral heath policies at the Arizona legislature. The toolkit is divided into three sections. The first section provides information about the Arizona legislature. The second discusses how a bill becomes a law. The third provides tools and tips related to the following topics: advocacy vs. lobbying, finding a lawmaker, the request-to-speak system, creating a message, and meeting with a legislator.

Contact: Arizona Oral Health Coalition, Web Site: https://azohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Arizona, Legislation, Legislatures, Lobbying, Oral health, State government

Annotation: This report provides information to increase awareness about the role law and policy play in improving oral health and focuses on state, tribal, and local settings. Topics include financing oral health care, the government’s role in the oral health workforce, challenges in accessing available oral health care, recommendations for additional research, and emerging trends and issues.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Background Information On Report

Keywords: Government role, Laws, Local government, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This report examines the status of federal public health funding for states, state public health funding, and key health facts. Topics include an overview of federal funding for states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), CDC's Public Health and Prevention Funding for states, Health Resources and Services Administration's funding by state, state public health funding, key health facts, rising epidemics, effective investments to curb crises and cut costs, and recommendations.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Detailed State-by-state Data

Keywords: Community based services, Data analysis, Federal programs, Government financing, Grants, Health statistics, Prevention programs, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Annotation: This e-book highlights lessons learned from the initial implementation of a federal initiative to support states in their efforts to align, coordinate, and improve the quality of existing early learning and development programs across multiple funding streams that support children from birth through age five. Contents include experience, trends, and reflections captured through interviews with state leaders. Topics include state systems building through governance, local systems building through coalitions, early learning-health connections, trends and innovations in early childhood education work force development, reform in vision and practice, improving systems of learning through the use of child standards and assessments, integrated data strategies, and the impact of the initiative on state Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS).

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessments, Child health, Coalitions, Data, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Financing, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Standards, State government, Systems development, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This brief for local education agency staff describes enumeration in the context of anti-bullying policies, referring to any specific listing of traits or characteristics of students that could be the basis of bullying. Topics include support for and concerns about enumeration, research on the effectiveness of enumerating anti-bullying policy, and key considerations and actions for effective implementation of all anti-bullying policies.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Local government, Policy development, Public policy, Research, School districts, State legislation, Students

Annotation: This paper provides state governors with actions they can take to improve preparedness for public health emergencies. Topics include understanding legal authority to respond in the event of a public health disaster, establishing and institutionalizing coordination among key players, strengthening internal and external communications, and identifying gaps in baseline capabilities and available resources needed to address these gaps.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Crisis intervention, Disaster planning, Legal issues, Program coordination, Public health infrastructure, Resource allocation, Service delivery systems, State government

Annotation: This tip sheet is designed to assist state and local justice and education agency administrators in creating strong working relationships that make high-quality education programs within juvenile justice settings possible. Topics include the importance of working together, the biggest challenges to good relationships, and working together toward a meaningful and sustainable partnership.

Contact: National Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center for the Education of Children and Youth Who Are Neglected, Delinquent, or At-Risk, American Institutes of Research, Washington, DC Web Site: http://www.neglected-delinquent.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Criminal justice system, Educational programs, Juvenile justice, Local government, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resources for professionals, State departments of education, Sustainability

Annotation: This report explores efforts in eight states to support community-based prevention activities through delivery system and payment reform design innovation. Topics include public health, delivery system reform, and the Affordable Care Act; mechanisms to align the delivery system and community-based prevention; and lessons from states' experiences. The appendices contain profiles of efforts in California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, and Vermont.

Contact: ChangeLab Solutions, 2201 Broadway, Suite 502, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 302-3380 Web Site: http://changelabsolutions.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Financing, Government role, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health policy, Policy development, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This collaborative planning tool is designed to help state and local health departments understand and apply adaptive thinking to health care reform with the goal of improving population health. Contents include a series of three guided practices that can be used by an individual or a team. The interactive tool includes prompting questions and sample courses of action, but allows the user to present their own questions and solutions. An introductory video is also available from the website.

Contact: Georgia Health Policy Center, Georgia State University, P.O. Box 3992, Atlanta, GA 30302-3992, Telephone: (404) 413-0314 Fax: (404) 413-0316 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ghpc.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Online Edition Is Free But Requires Registration

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Health care reform, Local government, Policy analysis, Program improvement, Program planning, Research, State health agencies, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report provides data on the key issues of health, child abuse, school readiness, child care, after school, and poverty. It focuses on the importance of federal programs for children and how proposed changes will affect them.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-9790866-0-4.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child health, Children, Costs, Federal government, Government role, Poverty, State programs, Taxes

Annotation: This paper describes opportunities for state governors to bring state agencies together and develop a coordinated strategy to align early childhood education (ECE) and K–12 policies so they better serve all children, starting at birth. Contents include an analysis of what ECE and K–12 goals, approaches, and reform strategies have in common and how they differ and action steps that promote greater alignment of ECE and K–12 reforms in key areas. Topics include leadership and governance, learning standards, child assessments, accountability, teacher/leader preparation and professional development, and resource allocation and reallocation.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Assessments, Early childhood education, Educational reform, Leadership, Learning, Policy development, Program coordination, Resource allocation, Standards, State government, Training

Annotation: This paper focuses on state information available online for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, child care assistance, Medicaid, and the Children's Health Insurance Program. The paper presents an overview of findings related to what online information these programs provide and a list of links, organized by state.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Children', Costs, Government financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public assistance, State programs, Supplemental food programs, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These documents provide an overview of the burden of oral disease in the United States and federal and state efforts to address the problem. Topics include the efforts of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to support state-based programs, monitor oral health status, provide education and share expertise, support prevention science and new approaches, guide infection control in dentistry, and prevent oral cancer. Stories and description of state programs that can serve as examples are included.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Families, Government role, Health status, Infection control, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This resource provides an audio conference call that focuses on planning tools for states in using the economic stimulus funds to benefit infants, toddlers, and their families. The conference call provides an overview of the possible uses of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funds for young children and features resources from Zero to Three, the National Center for Children in Poverty, and the Education Counsel. The resource also includes a downloadable document containing a menu of planning tools and resources to aid states in accepting and administering the new funds.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Families, Government financing, Health care reform, Infants, Multimedia, State programs, Statewide planning, Toddlers

Annotation: This report arises from a discussion at a forum hosted by the National Academy for State Health Policy on May 5, 2008. Addressing state health policy makers, it examines how federally qualified health centers can fit into states' health care reform plans and help achieve state reform goals related to access, quality, and cost. It focuses on identifying and enrolling individuals in need of insurance, and assuring access, quality, and medical homes.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community health centers, State government, State health care reform

Annotation: These questionnaires are designed to assess school health policies and programs at the state, district, school, and classroom levels. Components include health education, physical education and activity, health services, mental health and social services, nutrition services and foods and beverages available at school, healthy and safe school environment, physical school environments, faculty and staff health promotion, and family and community involvement in schools.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• 2006
• 2000, 1994

Keywords: Food service, Health education, Health policy, Health services, Local government, Physical education, Policies, Programs, Questionnaires, Schools, State government, Survey tools, Teachers

Annotation: This issue brief explores three sets of issue associated with the State Children's Health Insurance Program's (SCHIP) funding structure: (1) efforts to control and make federal funding more predictable limits the flexibility of a funding structure that responds to program needs, (2) inequities and problems targeting funds are unavoidable when distributing capped federal funding to states through a pre-set formula, and (3) while attempts to fix distributional problems can provide some help, they also make the funding system more complex and hard to manage. The brief provides background, describes SCHIP basic structure, discusses financing issues, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report includes one appendix that summarizes SCHIP legislative history.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Financing, Government financing, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents information about access to health insurance programs for children from low-income families in light of deficits and declines in federal funding. Specifically, the report focuses on changes in the State Children's Health Insurance Program's (SCHIP's) coverage. The report provides a brief history of SCHIP, discusses the program's growth and then its ensuing recent decline, touches on federal funding for the program and enrollment freezes implemented in response to state and federal funding deficits, discusses how the freezes may impact children, and offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Institute for Child Health Policy, University of Florida, 1329 SW 16th Street, Room 5130 , Gainesville, FL 32608, Telephone: (352) 265-7220 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (352) 265-7221 Web Site: https://ichp.ufl.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Families, Government financing, Low income groups, State Children', Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report addresses the following questions: (1) What key actions can officials take to increase the likelihood of success in nutrition education? (2) Do U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), state, and local officials incorporate these actions into their nutrition education efforts during program design? (3) Do these officials incorporate these actions during service delivery? And (4) Do these officials incorporate these actions during program evaluation? The report is divided into the following sections: (1) results in brief, (2) background, (3) several actions are key to performance-based management and successful nutrition education, (4) although USDA generally incorporates the key program design actions likely to contribute to success, establishing linkages among programs is difficult, (5) programs incorporated the service delivery actions in different ways and to varying extents but faced similar challenges to incorporating them, (6) programs generally did not incorporate key nutrition education evaluation actions, leaving officials with limited information about program results, (7) conclusions, (8) recommendations for executive action, and (9) agency comments. Three appendices include the scope and methodology of the study, nutrition education goals for key USDA programs, and General Accounting Office contacts and staff acknowledgments. Statistical information and other information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Department of Agriculture, Local government, Nutrition education, Program development, Program evaluation, Service delivery systems, State government