Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (469 total).

Rutgers Occupational Training and Education Consortium. n.d.. Trauma training: Child development, trauma and the brain—The DYFS mental health screening program. Buhl, ID: National Family Preservation Network,

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Measures for quality improvement--How to build an advancing oral health prevention in primary care family of measures. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care driver diagram and change ideas. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. n.d.. Advancing oral health prevention in primary care: Getting started on quality improvement. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 1 video (11 min.)

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Oregon Health Authority. [2023]. Advancing prevention and reducing childhood caries in Medicaid and CHIP (MAC) Affinity Group, July 2021-December 2022. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on efforts made by the Medicaid and Children’s Health CHIP Affinity Group to prevent and reduce tooth decay in children and adolescents from July 2021 through December 2022. The fact sheet describes the purpose of the group and its activities and goals, offers background on tooth decay among children and adolescents from families with low incomes, and provides the group’s draft aim statement. Baseline data on fluoride varnish application is also included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Prevention, State Children', State information, s Health Insurance Program

Insure Kids Now. 2023. Think Teeth oral health outreach tools. Baltimore, MD: Insure Kids Now, multiple items.

Annotation: This tool library provides links to resources for promoting oral health and encouraging families to enroll children who are eligible for Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Resources include videos, social media messages and images, web banners, web buttons, print materials, a Find a Dentist widget, posters, flyers, tear pads, templates, and fact sheets. A list of each state’s dental benefits for children is also available, along with information on a Centers for Medicare & Medicaid oral health initiative to help states ensure that children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP have access to oral health care.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, Outreach, State Children', State health insurance programs, s Health Insurance Program

South Dakota Department of Social Services. 2022. Advancing prevention and reducing childhood caries in Medicaid and CHIP. Pierre, SD: South Dakota Department of Social Services, 8 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on how the Advancing Prevention and Reducing Childhood Caries in Medicaid and CHIP Affinity Group, launched by the Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, will provide technical assistance to state Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program agencies and their partners as they design, test, implement, and assess strategies to improve pediatric oral health. The purpose of the group is to help states improve oral health outcomes through the delivery of preventive oral health care. The fact sheet discusses oral health, provides an overview of the group, and presents state team learning objectives.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Social Services, 700 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3165 Web Site: https://dss.sd.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Quality improvement, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Georgia Health Policy Center. 2021. Medicaid options for states during COVID-19: Considerations for children and youth with special health care needs. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This fact sheet explores Medicaid policy options for states to meet the needs of children and youth with special health care eneds (CYSHCN) during the COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE) and discusses how future rollbacks of PHE modifications may affect CYSHCN populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Medicaid, Policy development, State health insurance programs, Virus diseases, Youth, s health insurance program

Commonwealth Fund. 2021. Closing gaps in maternal health coverage: Assessing the potential of a postpartum Medicaid/CHIP expansion . New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund,

Annotation: This issue brief assesses the current coverage landscape for pregnant and postpartum women and shows how a postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension could benefit uninsured new mothers. The brief 1) provides an overview of existing publicly subsidized coverage options for pregnancy and the postpartum period, including covered benefits and cost-sharing requirements; 2) reviews recent state and federal legislative proposals to extend postpartum coverage options and examines how such reforms could expand the coverage landscape for new mothers; and 3) estimates how many postpartum individuals would likely benefit from a 12-month postpartum Medicaid/CHIP extension, based on analysis of 2016–18 American Community Survey (ACS) data using the Urban Institute Health Policy Center’s Medicaid/CHIP Eligibility Simulation Model.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

Link

Keywords: Insurance, Medicaid, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2020. Oral health metrics—Indiana. Indianapolis, IN: Indiana State Department of Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2019 . Lessons learned about payment strategies to improve postpartum care in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief describes payment strategies and state model programs aimed at improving postpartum care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Included are state examples of fee-for-service programs and alternate payment models linked to quality metrics.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

Keywords: Children', Health insurance, Medicaid, Models, State initiatives, s Health Insurance Program

Children's Dental Health Project. 2019. Medicaid dental guidance to states: An opportunity to aim for equity. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

U. S. Government Accountability Office . 2019. Children's Health Insurance Program: Efforts to measure and address potential substitution for private health insurance. Washington, DC.: U.S. Government Accountability Office , 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes efforts to measure and address Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) "crowd-out," when families who apply for public CHIP benefits have access to private health insurance. For the report, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) asked 42 states that have separate CHIP programs to report on two separate crowd-out indicators: (1) the percent of individuals who are enrolled in CHIP that have access to private health insurance and (2) the percent of CHIP applicants who cannot be enrolled because they have private health insurance. Included is a description of procedures that CMS and states use to address crowd-out, together with statistics on income eligibility, enrollment in public vs. private insurance, and other relevant data extracted from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Data, Eligibility, Enrollment expansion, Federal programs, National surveys, State Health insurance programs, s Health insurance Program

U.S. Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services. 2018. Aligning dental payment policies and periodicity schedules in the Medicaid and CHIP programs. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicare Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This bulletin discusses the importance of state Medicaid programs and Children’s Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) properly implementing dental periodicity schedules to ensure children’s access to dental coverage. Topics include background on tooth decay in children, dental coverage for children enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, proper implementation of dental periodicity schedules, and state action to ensure dental periodicity and fee schedule alignment and flexibility.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, State Children', State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Hall-Lande J, Askhir A, Dalbec B, Gulaid A. 2018. Building a network of community leaders to support early developmental screening: Minnesota Act Early delegate network in diverse cultural communities. [Minneapolis, MN]: Minnesota Autism Developmental Disabilities Monitoring Network; Minnesota Act Early; Minnesota Department of Health; University of Minnesota Institute on Community Integration, Research and Training Center on Community Living, 1 pp.

Annotation: This poster illustrates how the Minnesota Act Early and the Minnesota Department of Health cooperated to increase early childhood developmental screenings in their state. It outlines how the project trained parent leaders from Hmong, Somali, and Latino communities to promote awareness of developmental milestones and early intervention services. The document highlights the project's components, including recruitment of community leaders, customized cultural materials, and outreach through various channels such as radio stations and community events. The project involved partnerships between the Minnesota Department of Health, University of Minnesota, and several community organizations to integrate culturally appropriate developmental screening messages across diverse communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Developmental screening, State CSHCN programs, Posters, Family support services, Children', s health

Washington State Department of Health. 2018. Washington state telehealth capacity assessment: Provider perspectives on telehealth in washington. [Tumwater, WA]: Washington State Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document presents findings from a 2017 survey conducted by the Washington State Department of Health on telehealth capacity for autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities services. The assessment, part of the federal Autism Spectrum Disorder and Developmental Disabilities (AS3D) grant work, surveyed 52 healthcare providers including applied behavioral analysis (ABA) providers, Centers of Excellence for autism, and neurodevelopmental centers. Survey results show approximately one-third of respondents currently offer telehealth services, with ABA providers having the highest implementation rate (53%). The most common barrier to telehealth adoption reported by non-offering providers was lack of technical knowledge, while providers already offering telehealth cited billing/reimbursement challenges as their primary concern. Additional barriers included HIPAA compliance, patient trust, and organizational capacity for change.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, Surveys, State CHSCN programs, Children', s health

Washington State Department of Health. 2018. Washington state telehealth capacity assessment: Family/caregiver perspectives on telehealth in Washington. [Tumwater, WA]: Washington State Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report from the Washington State Department of Health provides insights into how telehealth can improve access to services for children with autism spectrum disorder and other developmental disabilities, particularly in underserved and rural areas. Funded by the AS3D (Autism Spectrum Disorders and Other Developmental Disabilities) federal grant, the goal of this initiative is to increase early diagnosis and service entry for these populations by leveraging telehealth. To better understand how families access and use telehealth, a survey was conducted in 2017, focusing on caregiver access to technology, interest in telehealth, and the barriers they face. The survey analyzed responses from 118 caregivers, with 94.4% being mothers and 42% on Medicaid insurance. Survey respondents discuss barriers and benefits of telehealth care, their child’s engagement with telehealth compared to in-person visits, insurance coverage, and their desire for more information on various topics. Overall, this assessment underscores the potential of telehealth to bridge gaps in service access for children with special health care needs, while highlighting the importance of addressing caregiver concerns about technology, security, and insurance coverage to ensure broader telehealth adoption.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Surveys, Family support services, Children', s health

Washington State Department of Health. 2018. Creating connections: Addressing the needs of children with autism and other developmental disabilities using telehealth. [Tumwater, WA]: Washington State Department of Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This 2017 report from Washington State's AS3D (Autism Spectrum Disorders and Other Developmental Disabilities) Initiative examines the potential for expanding telehealth services for children with autism spectrum disorders and other developmental disabilities. The assessment, which included provider capacity surveys, key informant interviews, and family/caregiver feedback, the reveals significant barriers to telehealth implementation. Despite these challenges, both providers and caregivers expressed interest in telehealth and the document highlights the benefits that can be achieved by the successful implementation of a telehealth program.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Telehealth, Washington, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Surveys, Family support services, Children', s health

Brooks T, Wagnerman K, Artiga S, Cornachione E, Ubri P. 2017. Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017: Findings from a 50-state survey. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017, and identifies changes in these policies in the past year. It documents the role Medicaid and CHIP play for children and families with low incomes and the evolution of these programs under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and renewal processes, and premiums and cost sharing. Trend and state-by-state tables are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, State surveys, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program