Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This interactive website presents an overview of how Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) provide coverage across the United States. It offers state-specific fact sheets showing enrollment data, federal support, and the impact of Medicaid on different populations. The website features a color-coded map displaying Medicaid and CHIP enrollment per 1,000 state residents ages 0-64, allowing users to click on individual states to access detailed information. Key topics covered include Medicaid's role as the largest health insurer in the U.S., its coverage of various health services, evidence of improved health outcomes, and its financial importance to healthcare providers in both rural and urban areas. State fact sheets like Virginia's provide specific enrollment statistics, federal funding information, and data on how Medicaid serves children, adults, rural communities, and individuals with mental health needs.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Enrollment, Maternal health, Medicaid, State aid, State health insurance programs, Statistics

Annotation: This research report examines the potential impacts of eliminating enhanced Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) for Medicaid expansion, focusing on state budget implications and health coverage consequences. It presents data showing that if enhanced FMAP were eliminated in 2026, the 41 expansion states would need to increase spending on acute care for the nonelderly by an average of 25.6 percent to maintain current eligibility levels. If all states dropped Medicaid expansion in response, Medicaid enrollment would decline by 15.9 million people, with 10.8 million becoming uninsured. The report describes how Medicaid expansion has benefited enrollees through improved health care access and financial security, while also providing fiscal benefits to states through additional savings and revenue. Using the Urban Institute's Health Insurance Policy Simulation Model, the analysis examines various scenarios of state responses and includes detailed data tables showing state-by-state impacts on coverage and spending.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, State aid

Annotation: This web page describes the pathways that states can take to obtain reimbursement for funding immediate postpartum long-acting reversible contraception (IPP LARC) outside of the global obstetric payment. Included is a map The map and accompanying chart for each state indicating their policies regarding Medicaid reimbursement for IPP LARC.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Financing, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, State aid, State legislation

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Minnesota is engaging community health workers in a variety of ways to improve oral health education and access to oral health care. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Minnesota; the Healthy Teeth, Healthy Baby campaign; and the Healthy Brain Initiative pilot. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Minnesota is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Kansas is using community health workers (CHWs) to expand oral health education and care in the state. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Kansas, incorporating oral health into each core competency of the CHW training curriculum developed by the Kansas Community Health Worker Coalition, and reimbursement and certification of CHWs in the state. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Kansas is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Kansas, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This document lists planning tools and resources to aid states in their efforts to address the challenges faced with accepting and administering new funds from the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Tools and resources include state, regional and national data profiles; a strategic planning toolkit; a framework for early childhood plans; a self-assessment checklist for states; information about the ARRA; a policy guide; and a searchable database on state policies and initiatives. The document provides descriptions of each resource and a link to the Web site where the resource is located.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal aid, Federal legislation, Infants, Resource allocation, State programs, Very young children

Annotation: This webcast on the prevention of the perinatal transition of HIV AIDS was held on February 17, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Margaret Lampe, from the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention-Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, who discussed Rapid HIV-1 testing for women in labor with unknown HIV status; (2) Ana Rua-Dobles, from the HUG-Me Program in Orlando, FL, who presented on the perinatal nurse's role in the prevention of HIV vertical transmission; and (3) Jackie Nash, Regional HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator, Duval County Health Dept. in Jacksonville, FL, who talked about Florida's Targeted Outreach for Pregnant Women Act Program (TOPWA). The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Multimedia, AIDS, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Florida, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal influences, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, State programs

Annotation: These resources for advocates, educators, policymakers, public health professionals, parents, youth, and community stakeholders comprise profiles of sexuality education programs in the United States. The profiles include an overview of each state’s current sex education laws, policies, and guidelines, newly introduced legislation, and relevant action that advocates have taken to advance or defend sex education in their communities. This report also incorporates the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s School Health Profiles data to help paint a comprehensive picture of what sexual health education topics are, or are not, being taught to young people in the classroom. The current and 3 most recent editions are posted on the website, and older editions may be requested.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, HIV, Model programs, Prevention programs, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report describes the Health Consumer Alliance (HCA) partnerships that operate eight community-based legal services organizations providing health consumer assistance in six California counties, and the Health Rights Hotline (Hotline) organization that provides legal services for health consumers in the Sacramento, California, area. This report reflects the combination of qualitative and quantitative measures to evaluate formative, process, and outcome indicators. Report topics include an overview of the evaluation approach and methods, strategies used for identifying and engaging consumers who have difficulties obtaining needed health care services, program success and effectiveness in solving the problems of consumers, program effectiveness in changing systems and policies to improve access to care, and a discussion of policy implications and lessons learned. Appendices include details on evaluation and outcome methods and a chart on health consumer collaborative statewide policy issues. Tables present statistical data throughout the report.

Contact: University of Southern California, Department of Family Medicine, Division of Community Health, Building A7, Room 7430, 1000 South Freemont Ave., Alhambra, CA 91803, Telephone: (626) 457-4057 Fax: (626) 457-5858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usc.edu/schools/medicine/departments/family_medicine/communityhealth/pages/Aboutthedivision.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Community based services, Final reports, Legal aid, Patient advocacy, Program evaluation, State initiatives

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives

Annotation: This report demonstrates the way HIV policy in the aftermath of the HIV/AIDS crisis of the 1980s spawned a new paradigm of sexuality education, and it proposes a new model of prevention efforts for communities to consider. The report includes the following chapters: (1) the historical context, (2) the legal-social context, (3) the inverted triangle of secondary prevention and public schools, (4) federal level, (5) analysis of the narrative--special interest groups, (6) state level, (7) role of teacher expectations, (8) problems associated at every level, (9) implications for schools, and (10) references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Friends First, P.O. Box 270302, Littleton, CO 80127, Telephone: (800) 909-WAIT Secondary Telephone: (720) 981-9193 Fax: 720-981-9104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.friendsfirst.org

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Communities, Federal programs, HIV, Legislation, Prevention, Public schools, Schools, Sexuality education, State programs, Teachers

Annotation: This report, written in response to a Congressional request, evaluates state efforts to reduce perinatal transmission of HIV and analyzes the existing barriers to the further reduction in such transmission. This report addresses ways to increase prenatal testing, improve therapy for HIV infected women and children, and generally reduce perinatal HIV infections. The report also considers the ethical and public health issues associated with screening policies as prevention tools, and their implications for prevention and treatment opportunities for women and infants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL049; ISBN 0-309-06286-1.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Infants, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reports, State programs, Therapeutics, United States

Annotation: This report provides a description of the experiences of federally funded health centers in the implementation of the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) and/or Medicaid expansions. The study was conducted in two phases. This report covers the first phase, which involved case studies of six selected community health centers and their interaction with state programs and their primary care associations. The health centers were in Connecticut, California, Michigan, Colorado, South Carolina, and New Mexico. The report includes a chapter on each center. Each chapter discusses background information about the center; SCHIP planning, implementation, outreach, and readiness; services for children; and key factors for success.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, Office of Evaluation and Inspections, 1100 Commerce Street, Room 4B5, Dallas, TX 75242, Telephone: (800) 848-8960 Secondary Telephone: (214) 767-3310 Fax: (214) 767-2039 Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-06-98-00320.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Case studies, Child health services, Colorado, Community health centers, Connecticut, Federal aid, Health facility planning, Low income groups, Medicaid, Michigan, New Mexico, Outreach, Primary care, South Carolina, State Children', State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents the results of analyses of the implementation of waivers to the regulations for the Aid to Families with Dependent Children program in five states. The programs analyzed were located in Florida, Indiana, New Jersey, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report provides information on the purpose, context, and methodology of the study and presents and discusses the findings. The states used the waivers to add work requirements, place time limitations on the provision of services, and impose family caps which deny cash benefits for children born to families already participating in Aid to Families with Dependent Children. The states reorganized the operations and the management of their programs to redefine how the staff and clients interact, to increase the involvement of employers and communities, and to restructure their service delivery systems. Not all of the programmatic changes or management revisions were used in each of the five states.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-96-105.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Florida, Indiana, New Jersey, State initiatives, Virginia, Waiver programs, Welfare programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: These five issue papers discuss the impact of the 1996 Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act on states' child welfare systems for children with mental and emotional disorders and their families. They discuss an overview of state implementation of the new welfare law; the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families block grant; the children's Supplemental Security Income program; changes in Medicaid coverage; and child welfare, social services and nutrition programs. Several issue papers end with tables.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Contact Phone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: HN1660@handsnet Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Affective disorders, Child mental health, Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Federal legislation, Federal programs, State agencies, State aid, State grants, Welfare programs

Annotation: This report synthesizes the findings of nine published studies which focused on the welfare-to-work initiatives implemented in eight states since these reforms were enacted in 1988. The synthesis was undertaken to assess how these initiatives compare to the welfare reform measures being considered by Congress in 1995, and to ascertain which approaches resulted in higher rates of employment or in reductions in the number of welfare recipients. The report provides background information for the topic and presents and discusses the findings.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-95-26.

• PDF

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Employment, Program descriptions, State programs, Welfare reform

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey concerning the activities of state Title V agencies relating to (1) serving women and children with HIV infection and AIDS, and (2) supporting comprehensive school health programs with a focus on HIV prevention education. Recommendations are also presented. The appendices list the components of a comprehensive school health program and include the survey instrument. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHI042.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Children, Comprehensive programs, Education, HIV, Prevention, School health, State MCH programs, Surveys, Women

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder is a collection of articles and reports on welfare and education reform prepared for a February, 1995 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. The background materials focus on the potential impact of proposed federal legislation on state programs, lessons learned from state reform efforts, the use of block grants to cap federal spending, and misconceptions about current welfare programs. Sections of the manual concentrate on the possible end of entitlement programs and the corresponding shifting of costs to the states, the relationship of health coverage to welfare dependency, the potential effect of current proposals on immigrant populations, and the adoption of national standards for education. The manual includes a summary of the findings of a National Governors' Association (NGA) survey on state initiatives to reduce reliance on welfare programs as an appendix. Bibliographies on both topics contain citations and abstracts to materials in the reference collection at the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Educational change, Employment, Employment programs, Federal government, Immigrants, Program evaluation, Proposed legislation, State programs, Training, Welfare programs, Welfare reform

Annotation: These proceedings examine the issue of funding stability for school based health centers in an unstable political and economic environment. Specific topics covered include: patient care revenues; school based health centers as a safety net service; cost effectiveness; managed care and school health center relationships; and public policy implications. The proceedings include comments from representatives from state and local managed care organizations and school health centers about their experiences and recommended strategies to address future problems. Appendices contain local and state profiles of programs that participated in the conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Conferences, Financing, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Managed care, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Medicaid, School health services, Service coordination, State aid

Annotation: This report considers the implications of revising the official definition of poverty by the federal government, the likely impact on the allocation of funds to state and local governments, and the effect on the delivery of services when financial responsibility is shifted to state and local governments. The report summarizes the findings in brief, outlines the background of the study, and discusses issues related to the fairness of the allocation of federal funds if the criteria for determining poverty are revised. Funding implications at the state and local level are considered, and possible solutions to improve the equity of fund distribution are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS 94-165.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal aid, Federal grants, Local government, Poverty, State government