Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (215 total).

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Title V information system glossary. Germantown, MD: HRSA Call Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This glossary explains terms used in the Title V Information System, an online service that electronically captures and makes available applications and reports submitted by U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions on state programs funded under Title V of the Social Security Act.

Contact: Title V Information System, HRSA Call Center, 12530 Parklawn Drive, Suite 350, Germantown, MD 20850, Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 998-7377 E-mail: CallCenter@HRSA.GOV Web Site: https://mchb.tvisdata.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Family Voices. n.d.. First steps for family leaders: Forming collaborative relationships with your state Title V Program. Albuquerque, AZ: Family Voices, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on how family leaders can form collaborative relationships with their state Title V programs. The fact sheet lists 10 steps that family leaders can take to develop or renew such partnerships. Resources for more information are also provided.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Families, Relationships, State MCH programs, Title V Programs

National Center for Social Statistics. n.d.. Statistical summary of patients served in mental retardation clinics, fiscal year 1969. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social and Rehabilitation Service, National Center for Social Statistics, 7 items. (NCSS report MR-1 (FY 69))

Annotation: This document provides data on services rendered to mentally retarded children in fiscal year 1969 by clinics supported in whole or in part by federal grants under Title V of the Social Security Act. The library also holds instructions and forms for reporting similar data in other years (1956, 1960, and 1974).

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: NCSS Report MR-1 (FY 69).

Keywords: Children, Clinics, Mental retardation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs. 2020. ESM development guide: Evidence-based or informed strategy measures. Washington, DC: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 26 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides a summary of evidence-based/informed strategy measures (ESMs) as part of the 2018/2020 MCH Block Grant submission as seen through the results-based accountability (RBA) framework. It provides tools to help state Title V agencies ensure their programs have the greatest potential to be effective for the families they serve. For each of the 15 National Performance Measures (NPMs) the document provides evidence strategies and examples of field-generated measures currently used by states. It also provides resources for a structured planning process and finding, implementing, and measuring evidence-based/informed programs. Social determinants of health and health equity tools are included, and information on requesting technical assistance.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based practice, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Holt K, Kolo S, Louie R. 2020. Title V national performance measure 13 (oral health): Strategies for success (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 25 pp.

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on oral health (NPM 13) and oral-health-related state performance measures. It provides sample strategies for addressing NPM 13.1 (preventive dental visit for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visit for children and adolescents). For all strategies, the report presents sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a comprehensive list of resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.1 Injury hospitalization ages 0 through 9 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 259 pp. (brief 9 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.2 Injury hospitalization ages 10 through 19 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 369 pp. (brief 10 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Brady R, Sun BD, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.1 smoking in pregnancy evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 108 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Corona A, Leahy M, Taft K. 2020. A roadmap for collaboration among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs: Accelerating improvements in early childhood outcomes. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 30 pp.

Annotation: This document makes recommendations for improved program alignment among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs and suggests steps to take for collaborative action planning. A case study of the Indiana State Department of Health's internal organizational structure for improved early childhood collaboration is included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State programs, Title V programs

Adolescent and Young Adult National Resource Center. 2019-. #ScreenToInterveneForAYAs: Adolescent and Young Adult Behavioral Health Blog. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This blog provides a space for state Title V maternal and child health professionals and their partners to learn about efforts to build better preventive care systems for optimal adolescent and young adult wellbeing across the country.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Behavior, Adolescent health, Behavioral medicine, Communication, Prevention programs, Social media, State Title V programs, State initiatives, Young adults

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 1: Percent of women with a past year preventive visit. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 1, percent of women with a past year preventive visit. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) strengthen data systems and expand the evidence base; (2) enable healthy living; (3) improve access to care; (4) ensure high quality health care for women; (5) ensure high quality maternity care; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Model programs, Prevention, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs, Women's health

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 6: Percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 9: Percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or who bully others. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 9, percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or who bully others. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) assessment; (2) communication efforts; (3) implementation of evidence-based practices; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) policy and systems approaches; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

National MCH Workforc Development Center, Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, MCH Navigator. 2019. MCH needs assessment toolkit. Chapel Hill, NC: National MCH Workforc Development Center; Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and MCH Navigator,

Annotation: This toolkit helps state Title V programs to begin to understand the complexity of challenges to the maternal and child health (MCH) system, identify needs, and select priority areas of focus. It provides webinars, trainings, and tools for states to use in each step of the process.

Contact: National MCH Workforce Development Center, University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Campus Box 7445, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7445, Telephone: (919) 966-6290 Fax: (919) 966-0458 Web Site: http://mchwdc.unc.edu

Keywords: Child health, Health care systems, Maternal health, Needs assessment, State programs, Title V programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2019. Elevator pitch for introducing oral health issues to MCH director or Title V director. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information for crafting an elevator pitch (a brief, persuasive speech to spark interest in an organization, project, idea, or product that is succinct while conveying meaningful information, aimed at delivering information during the time of an elevator ride) to introduce issues to a maternal and child health (MCH) director or Title V coordinator. The document describes characteristics of an elevator pitch, lists steps to follow to produce a good pitch, and provides a sample pitch that can be modified to fit specific needs.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, MCH programs, Oral health, State programs, Title V programs

Le L, Brady R, Hanssen P, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 11 medical home evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 104 pp. (brief, 5 pp. ). (Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs)

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 10: Number of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, with a preventive medical visit in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 10: Number of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, with a preventive medical visit in the past year Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) improve access and uptake of preventive services;; (2) improve quality of preventive services; (3) improve statesystems-level policies and practices; and (4) positive youth development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Health supervision, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) youth and family education and leadership development; (2) health care professional workforce development; (3) care coordination; (4) communications and social media; and (5) measurement and assessment. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Model programs, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, State programs, Title V programs, Transition to adult services, Young adults

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.2 smoking in the household evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 139 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Florida Department of Health. 2018. MCH block grant. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health,

Annotation: This web page gives links to the latest MCH block grant and state snapshot. It also links to these 2015 MCH needs assessment topic briefs: Adequate Health Insurance Coverage [pdf; 365kb] Adolescent Well-Visit [pdf; 211kb] Black-White Disparities in Infant Mortality [pdf; 247kb] Black-White Disparities in Maternal Mortality [pdf; 473kb] Breastfeeding [pdf; 233kb] Bullying [pdf; 307kb] Developmental Screening [pdf; 607kb] Household Secondhand Smoke [pdf; 473kb] Injury Prevention [pdf; 418kb] Oral Health [pdf; 406kb] Perinatal Regionalization [pdf;466kb] Physical Activity [pdf; 217kb] Safe Sleep Behaviors [pdf; 241kb] Substance Exposed Newborns [pdf; 491kb] Well-Woman Care [pdf; 523kb]

Contact: Florida Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399, Telephone: (850) 245-4147 Fax: (850) 487-4574 Web Site: http://www.doh.state.fl.us

Keywords: Child health, Florida, MCH programs, Maternal health, State programs, Title V programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.