Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health. [2016]. Mouth guards. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp. (Oral health in Massachusetts; A fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the importance of wearing mouth guards during athletic activities. It explains what mouth guards are and who should wear them. It describes the characteristics that mouth guards should have and explains the differences among three types of mouth guards: stock mouth guards, boil and bite mouth guards, and custom-made mouth guards. The fact sheet also discusses how to care for mouth guards and provides statistical information about mouth guard use.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletics, Consumer education materials, Injury prevention, Mouth guards, Mouth protectors, Safety equipment, Sports

Safe Kids Worldwide. 2014. Changing the culture of youth sports. Washington, DC: Safe Kids Worldwide, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of athletes in grades 7-10, coaches of athletes in grades 7-10, and parents with children who play sports in grades 1-10 about sports injuries and what is being done to keep young athletes safe while playing sports. The report provides information on sports injuries in children, players who play injured, injuries resulting from foul play, and opportunities to improve coaches' knowledge and skills. Tips on sports safety are also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletes, Child safety, Children, Injury prevention, International health, International programs, Program improvement, Recreational safety, Risk taking, Safety programs, Sports equipment, Sports injuries, Team sports

American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. 2013. Treatment of facial injury. Rosemont, IL: American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 1 v.

Annotation: This resources provides information on treating and preventing maxillofacial injuries, also referred to as facial trauma. Topics include the role of oral and maxillofacial surgeons in treating injuries to teeth, the mouth, jaws, and facial structures. The resource also discusses the importance of making safety gear such as protective mouth guards, masks, and helmets part of standard athletic equipment. Recommendations for injury prevention in specific sports are included.

Contact: American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 9700 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018-5701, Telephone: (847) 678-6200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 822-6637 Fax: (847) 678-6286 Web Site: http://myoms.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Facial injuries, Injury prevention, Oral health, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment. 2013. Get a heads up on concussion: Heads up to parents. Atlanta, GA: CDC Foundation, 1 v.

Annotation: This website contains tools to help those who play a role in keeping children and adolescents safe from concussion and other serious brain injuries. Included are fact sheets, videos, training courses, and tutorials to assist parents in selecting a safety helmet, recognizing the signs of concussion, and understanding the science behind brain injuries and how to safeguard against them.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (888) 880-4CDC Fax: (404) 653-0330 Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Safety, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

Youth Sports Safety Alliance. 2013. National action plan for sports safety. Carrollton, TX: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the benefits and potential risks to student athletes while playing sports and general recommended actions for schools, parents, and advocates to minimize or eliminate adverse outcomes among secondary school athletes. Topics include providing proper equipment, available health care professionals, and a safe environment. The document also provides specific recommended actions related to cardiac events, neurologic injuries, environmental / exertional conditions, and dietary / substance-induced conditions.

Contact: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 1620 Valwood Parkway, Suite 115, Carrollton, TX 75006, Telephone: (214) 637-6282 Secondary Telephone: (860) 437-5700 Fax: (214) 637-2206 Web Site: http://www.nata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Athletes, Community action, Health care delivery, Injury prevention, Parents, Physical activity, Policy development, Risk factors, Safety, Safety equipment, Secondary schools, Sports, Students

Prevent Blindness America. 2005. Recommended sports eye protectors. Chicago, IL: Prevent Blindness America, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the proper types of eye protection to use for preventing eye injuries while playing sports. Type of eye protection and the types of eye injuries that can be prevented are discussed for each of the following sports: (1) baseball, (2) basketball, (3) soccer, (4) football, and (5) hockey. A phone number for more information is included.

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Eye care, Eye injuries, Prevention, Safety, Safety equipment, Sports, Sports injuries
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.