Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource describes core competencies in the areas of information and knowledge services; systems and technology; resources; information and data retrieval and analysis; organization of data, information, and knowledge assets; and information ethics. It also lists enabling competencies and summarizes the task force competencies. Additional resources on using the competencies are available to members.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Guidelines, Special libraries, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This book is a collection of papers on the following: two surveys of special collections and archives, (1) one by the Association of Research Libraries and (2) one in the United Kingdom and Ireland; (3) archival collections assessment; (4) getting around barriers to the implementation of the standard Encoded Archival Description (EAD); (5) EAD tag analysis in ArchiveGrid and implications for discovery systems; (6) metadata as the interface for better description for better discovery of archives and special collections; (7) the use of digital cameras in the reading room; and (8) streamlined sharing of special collections;

• Link

Keywords: Archives, Case studies, Collection development, Libraries, Special collections

Annotation: This compilation of readings discusses knowledge management, knowledge as a competitive asset, the skills and competencies required to put knowledge to work, lessons from the field, putting a value on knowledge assets, ignorance, careers in knowledge management, knowledge and the firm, strategies for implementing knowledge-based systems, the benefits of a knowledge culture, knowledge management tools for knowledge managers, post information age position for special librarians, and intellectual capital and how to leverage it.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Contact Phone: (202) 234-4700, ext. 643 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-480-1.

Keywords: Information sources, Knowledge management, Special libraries

Annotation: This book examines the benefits and impact of libraries outsourcing technical services though a series of case studies of outsourcing programs at select academic, public, and special libraries. It explains and evaluates the options, outcomes, and assessments in contracting out a broad range of services. Topics covered include: 1) authority control, 2) book selection, 3) collection replacement, 4) database maintenance, 5) document delivery services, 6) foreign language cataloging, 7) HTML programming, and 8) original cataloging. An annotated select bibliography is provided at the end of the book.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433 ext. 5036 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-0703-2.

Keywords: Case studies, Contract services, Libraries, Management, Public libraries, Special libraries

Annotation: This guide is designed for individuals or groups charged with managing an organization's information services. The basic questions addressed are the definition of a special library, when an organization is ready for a special library, where the information comes from, organization of information, getting information to the user, staffing, space and equipment needs, budgeting, and roles information professionals play in an organization.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org $42.00 list price; $36.00 for members. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-466-6.

Keywords: Information services, Management, Special libraries

Annotation: This report is intended to assist special librarians in relating to the future. The first part of the report provides an overview of the current state of corporate management and the corporate library. The second part identifies some of the key trends that are likely to affect corporate management over the next few years and discusses the impact of these trends upon the corporate library or information center function. The third part of the report recommends a conceptual framework and strategies that can be used to enhance the ability of organizations to take full advantage of their intellectual asset investments. In a pocket of the back cover are inserted a bibliography of articles which can be found full text online and reprints of six related articles.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org $29.00 list price; $25.00 for members. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-476-3.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Information services, Management, Planning, Reports, Special libraries, Trends

Annotation: This manual provides a guide for developing and managing a strategic plan, including getting started, surveying the situation, strategic paths, the budget as a planning tool, and managing the plan. An appendix gives a suggested outline of a strategic plan. An index is included.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org

Keywords: Manuals, Special libraries, Strategic plans