Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster is a photograph of a woman breastfeeding her infant. The phrase in Spanish encourages breastfeeding.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB009.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster shows a safety pledge for children, in which they pledge to get an adult if they see a gun. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster bears the text: Thousands of kids are killed or badly hurt by guns every year. Now they can't play sports, can't drive, can't dance, can't even walk, talk or see. These are the kids who lived. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster shows three children finding a gun in a dresser drawer. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This publication, which is written in both English and Spanish on facing pages, is designed to help groups reach across differences that might otherwise obscure talents, perspectives, and contributions of people who have much to offer in making our communities safer and healthier. The publication includes an overview of the Cultural Competency Sub-Committee of the Partnership for the Public's Health (PPH), the subcommittee's guiding principles, PPH's language policy, information on providing translation and interpretation services, guidelines for working with interpretation and translation agencies, guidelines for facilitators working in multi-lingual settings using simultaneous interpretation, and guidelines for selecting interpretation equipment.

Contact: Partnership for the Public's Health, 180 Grand Avenue, Suite 750 , Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 451-8600 Fax: (510) 451-8606 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.partnershipph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Language, Spanish language materials, Translation

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support, International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure is intended to serve as a starting point for new parents looking for information about Down syndrome and related resources and support groups. It includes talking points to use during a diagnostic consultation with a physician and answers to frequently asked questions such as (1) What is Down syndrome? (2) Where do I begin to help my baby? (3) How might Down syndrome affect my baby's health? (4) Where can I find more information about Down syndrome? and (4) How can I find other parents of children with Down syndrome? The brochure is available in both English and Spanish.

Contact: University of Southern California University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities at Children's Hospital Los Angeles, 46550 Sunset Boulevard, Mailstop #53, Los Angeles, CA 90027-0980, Telephone: (323) 361-2300 Secondary Telephone: (323) 480-4192 Fax: (323) 361-8305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uscucedd.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Down syndrome, Infants with special health care needs, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This flyer provides quotes from mothers who breastfeed and summarizes why breastfeeding is good for babies, mothers, and families. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This illustrated flyer describes the proper sleeping environment for babies in cribs. It is available in Arabian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Khmer, Lao, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: SIDS and Kids Australia, 98 Morang Road. Suite 1, Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia 3122, Telephone: +61 3 9819 4595 Fax: +61 3 9818 4596 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsandkids.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Non-English Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Fragile X syndrome (FXS). It describes what Fragile X is; explains what causes it; and discusses the conditions that are common among children with Fragile X. It also lists some of the signs of FXS and explains what parents should do if they think their child has FXS. One side of the fact sheet is in English and the other is in Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disabilities, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource presents a collection of forms in use by safety-net oral health programs across the country. The forms are organized into the following categories: consent forms, dental practice policies and procedures, guidelines and instructions, human resources forms, and quality. Some of the forms are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Forms, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit is for midwives, doulas, and other childbirth educators to introduce newborn screening into midwifery practices and into nontraditional settings including childbirth education classes. Brochures, videos, and other educational materials are provided for the states of New York, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Links to resources for national audiences are provided from the March of Dimes, the Health Services and Resources Administration, Genetic Alliance, and the Save Babies Through Screening Foundation. Materials are available in English and Spanish, with items from Pennsylvania available in Chinese, French, Portuguese, Vietnamese, and Russian.

Contact: Wadsworth Center for Laboratories and Research, NYS Department of Health, Empire State Plaza, P.O. Box 509, Albany, NY 12201-0509, Telephone: (518) 474-2160 Web Site: http://www.wadsworth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth education, Educational materials, Genetic screening, Midwifery, Midwives, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children