Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the South Carolina Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report offers background on the project and information about project progress (including accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This plan presents priorities for oral health in South Carolina during the period 2015–2020. Priorities discussed include strengthening public health infrastructure; improving access to oral health services for vulnerable populations; education and prevention; supporting the integration of public health priorities, as they relate to oral health, into higher education programs’ dental education; and policy and outreach. For each priority, recommendations are provided.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov

• PDF
• Entry Page

Keywords: Access to health care, Education, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This training contains five modules for health professionals and their staff about oral health and children. The modules cover tooth decay, caries risk assessment, anticipatory guidance, the benefits of fluoride and fluoridated water, and fluoride varnish and other strategies for integrating oral health care into primary care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecting Smiles, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2100 Bull Street, Charleston, SC 29201, Web Site: https://connectingsmilessc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Fluoride, Oral health, Professional education, Service Integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Training materials

Annotation: These practice guidelines provide information on the oral health care of pregnant women in South Carolina. They contain data on infant mortality and preterm birth, oral health care and counseling utilization, and key findings from the South Carolina Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring Systems (PRAMS) for 2012–2013. The guidelines also include recommendations for health professionals and for oral health professionals, referral forms for oral health care, and dentists’ reports for prenatal care professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Forms, Guidelines, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This paper provides information about initiating interprofessional networks that integrate and coordinate person-centered oral health care in rural communities. Topics include oral health as a national issue with rural implications, interprofessional practice and the oral-systemic health connection, creating networks and a learning collaborative, state offices of rural health and medicaloral expanded care initiation, and challenges and opportunities for innovation. Examples from Colorado, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Collaboration, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Health care delivery, Information systems, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Provider networks, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Service integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Systems development, Technology, Work force

Annotation: This brief explores how six states (Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina) have responded to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Oral Health Strategic Framework. For each state, a summary of how the state is improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health interprofessional practice is provided.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Service Integration, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This manual provides expectations and standards for programs that enter into a memorandum of agreement with the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, School-Based Dental Prevention Program. Topics include regulatory compliance, program operation, data management and monitoring, and reporting requirements. Supporting documents and educational resources are included.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dentists, Manuals, Oral health, Regulations, School age children, School based clinics, South Carolina, State programs, Training materials

Annotation: This website describes Upstate Cribs for Kids -- a regional program in South Carolina that aims to reduce the number of infant deaths due to unsafe sleeping environments. The site provides safe sleep education and materials to help families and caregivers avoid putting their children at risk due to unsafe sleep practices. Also included is a link to the online safe sleep video, Room to Breathe.

Contact: Safe Kids Upstate, 255 Enterprise Boulevard, Suite 110, Greenville, SC Telephone: (864) 454-1100 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekidsupstate.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, Regional programs, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from an analysis of contraceptive use and pregnancy patterns among low-income adolescents on Medicaid in South Carolina. Conducted by the South Carolina Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy and the South Carolina Budget and Control Board, the report reveals the percentage of teens who became pregnant who used no birth control, or less reliable forms of birth control, and suggests that offering a different type of birth control to teens on Medicaid might help delay pregnancy and childbirth. Based on longitudinal data from one to five years for each teen, the report compares and contrasts contraceptive use, birth control methods, and rates of pregnancy according to the participants' age and race. The report concludes with recommendations to help reduce the teen pregnancy rate among low-income adolescents. in South Carolina.

Contact: South Carolina Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 1331 Elmwood Avenue, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 771-7700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 849-0455 Fax: (803) 771-6916 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teenpregnancysc.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Comparative analysis, Contraceptive use, Data, High risk adolescents, Low income groups, Prevention, South Carolina, State initiatives

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to raise awareness about oral health in South Carolina and to guide efforts to prevent and treat oral disease among South Carolina residents. The report provides information about the oral disease burden in the state, highlights groups at highest risk for oral health problems, and discusses strategies to prevent these problems from occurring and provide access to oral health care. Comparisons are made with national data whenever possible and to Healthy People 2010 objectives where appropriate.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, High risk groups, Oral health, Prevention, South Carolina, State initiatives, Treatment

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to give parents and other caregivers tips on oral hygiene and oral health care for children and youth with special health care needs. Topics include selecting and adapting a toothbrush, addressing challenges, providing good nutrition, encouraging safety, and going to the dentist. Contents also include information sheets for specific conditions, state and national organizations, and service information.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Family support services, Learning activities, Oral health, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This series of reports describe federal funding for chronic disease prevention programs in six states (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Washington) and the potential impact on the individuals served by these programs if federal funds are reduced or eliminated. The report addresses programs and impacts in the following areas: breast, cervical, and colon cancer; diabetes; domestic violence and sexual assault; heart disease and stroke; oral health; and tobacco.

Contact: Coalition of National Health Education Organizations, Normal, IL 61790-5220, Telephone: (309) 438-2324 Fax: (309) 438-2450 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnheo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Alaska, Block grants, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, Program budgeting, Public health services, South Carolina, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This web page presents information from a 2-day institute that brought together early childhood teams from Mississippi, Oklahoma, and South Carolina to discuss ways to effectively develop their states' early childhood data systems. The web page provides information about the purpose of the meeting as well as links to the meeting agenda, presenters, and presentations.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Program coordination, Public policy, South Carolina, State programs, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This power point presentation explains how the Nurse Family Partnership's home visitation program can improve maternal and child health outcomes. It provides an overview of the Nurse Family Partnership (NFP) program; discusses research findings about its effectiveness in terms of health outcomes and monetary benefits; and looks at NFP program implementation and outcomes in the states of North Carolina and South Carolina. The presentation also addresses new federal funding for state home visitation programs and discusses emerging issues and trends related to improved maternal and child health outcomes. The various presenters are from the Nurse Family Partnership and Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Contact: Nurse-Family Partnership, 1900 Grant Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 327-4240 Secondary Telephone: (866) 864-5226 Fax: (303) 327-4260 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nursefamilypartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence, Families, Family centered services, Home visiting, MCH programs, North Carolina, Nurse practitioners, Outcome evaluation, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This archived webinar from December 6, 2010 highlights how Illinois, Oregon, South Carolina, and Vermont are using ABCD III (Assuring Better Child Health and Development) and/or CHIPRA quality grants to build on and align current efforts, such as medical home initiatives, health information technology or exchange, performance measurement, and health reform, to transform the delivery of care to children covered by Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children', Illinois, Medicaid, Medical home, Multimedia, Oregon, South Carolina, State programs, Vermont, s health insurance program

Annotation: This essay discusses how improving education levels can increase life expectancy more effectively than medical advances can. It also discusses how schools can be used as opportunities to improve the health of a significant portion of the population each day. In addition, the essay describes an increase in sales tax that was dedicated to improving education in South Carolina.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Educational attainment, Health promotion, Life expectancy, Oral health, Social factors, South Carolina, State initiatives

Annotation: This needs assessment for South Carolina provides background information; discusses the assessment process; provides a statewide data report, a definition of community, and a data report of each at-risk community; and discusses the quality and capacity of existing programs and the state's capacity for substance abuse treatment and counseling services.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Counseling, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Needs assessment, Poverty, South Carolina, State programs, Statistical data, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment, Underserved communities

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information on community water fluoridation in South Carolina. Topics include the causes of tooth decay, the adverse impact of tooth decay on child and adult health, and the importance of community water fluoridation in preventing tooth decay. Additional information on water fluoridation activities in South Carolina are provided.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health objectives, Oral health, South Carolina, State programs, Water

Annotation: This report investigates how Action for Healthy Kids teams are working to help diverse communities communicate with one another and appreciate cultural differences for the ultimate purpose of helping schools help students in the areas of nutrition and physical fitness. The report profiles the progress of Action for Healthy Kids teams in Utah, New York and New Jersey, South Carolina, and Idaho.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Blacks, Child health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Families, Hispanic Americans, Idaho:, Low income groups, New Jersey, New York, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Poverty, Prevention, Rural population, Schools, South Carolina, Utah

Annotation: This fact sheet provides parents with information about South Carolina’s school oral health program, which includes a dental sealant component and a fluoride treatment (gel, foam, or varnish) component. Definitions of sealants and fluoride treatment are provided, along with information on how children can take part in the program. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• English And Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School health programs, South Carolina, Spanish language materials, State programs