Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

Annotation: This paper examines how community health workers (CHWs), promotores, and parent mentors can be used to improve the health of children in the Southwest, as well as the health care available to them. The paper provides definitions of CHWs, promotores, and parent mentors and discusses a conceptual framework for providing an understanding of how they can improve children's health and health care; evidence of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness; existing programs; and implications for policy, practice, and research.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child health, Community health workers, Community heath services, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health services, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Low income groups, Low income groups, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Southwestern United States, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report investigates how Action for Healthy Kids teams are working to help diverse communities communicate with one another and appreciate cultural differences for the ultimate purpose of helping schools help students in the areas of nutrition and physical fitness. The report profiles the progress of Action for Healthy Kids teams in Utah, New York and New Jersey, South Carolina, and Idaho.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Blacks, Child health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Families, Hispanic Americans, Idaho:, Low income groups, New Jersey, New York, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Poverty, Prevention, Rural population, Schools, South Carolina, Utah

Annotation: This two-volume set reports on health conditions throughout the Americas generally, and specifically in the 46 countries and territories within the Americas, and it describes and analyzes the progress, constraints, and challenges of member states in their efforts to improve the health of the peoples of the region. Volume one covers the region as a whole and discusses health in the context of development, health conditions and trends, sustainable development and environmental health, public policies and health systems and services, health and international cooperation, and prospects for regional health. Volume two provides maps of each country and territory, and discusses the general context and health determinants, the health of different population groups, health conditions and problems, and the response of the health sector. It also includes a section on the United States-Mexico border area. Charts and figures provide statistical data throughout each volume. A lis of acronyms used is at the end of each volume. This publication is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Fax: (202) 974-3663 Web Site: http://new.paho.org $95.00, plus shipping and handling; CD ROM also available for $75.00, plus shipping and handling.

• Volume 1
• Volume 2

Keywords: Central America, Health surveys, National surveys, North America, Population surveillance, South America, Spanish language materials, Statistical data

Annotation: This report, presented in Panama City, Panama, on June 3, 2007, by the ministers and secretaries of Health of the Americas, lists health priorities that Pan-American governments propose to tackle over the next decade. The report includes a statement of intent, principles and values, a situation analysis and description of health trends in the Americas, and areas of action. Endnotes and references are included. The document is available in English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Fax: (202) 974-3663 Web Site: http://new.paho.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Central America, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Health planning, International health, International programs, Latin America, Non English language materials, Racial factors, South America, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of the evaluation of the Northern Plains Healthy Start program during its demonstration phase. This program covers nineteen American Indian tribal organizations in four states (North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa). Chapter two of the report provides an overview of the Northern Plains Indian communities, and the issues and concerns that led to developing the program. Chapter three provides an overview of the program as designed and implemented. Chapter four presents data on client characteristics and service use from the Minimum Data Set (MDS) client data system and the postpartum survey. Chapter five presents trends in infant mortality and other birth outcomes for the Northern Plains and its two comparison areas. The final chapter presents conclusions and lessons learned from the Northern Plains Healthy Start experience.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Contact Phone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: American Indians, Evaluation, Healthy Start, Indian Health Service, Infant mortality, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Prevention programs, South Dakota

Annotation: The papers presented in this reprint from the Journal of Adolescent Health Care were commissioned for an invitational conference entitled Social Change and Social Development in Adolescence: A Focus on the Americas, hosted by the Pan American Health Organization, the Society for Adolescent Medicine, and the Society for Research on Adolescence. The papers explore a wide range of issues related to adolescent health and development and include the following titles: Adolescent social development: a global perspective; An epidemiological view of adolescent health in Latin America; Discovery and invention in the history of adolescence; A conceptional framework for understanding "problems" in adolescence and youth; Risk factors and youth: The role of family and community; Resilience: some conceptual considerations; Social changes among youth: the United States experience; and Youth at the threshold of the 21st century: the demographic situation. The conference was cosponsored by the World Health Organization with support from the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Carnegie Corporation, and the Kellogg Foundation.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, North America, Risk factors, Social factors, South America, Youth

Annotation: It is the intent of this unit to aid the reader in understanding how certain values, customs, and rituals influence clients' attitudes, behaviors, and beliefs regarding health care. Within this unit are characterized five general cultural groups found in the United States: American Indians, Black Americans, Hispanics, Asian Americans and Southeast Asians. For each culture, the history for the group in the U.S. is reviewed, followed by the importance of the family within the culture and what persons constitute family.

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Breastfeeding, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Pregnancy, Southeast Asians

Keywords: American Indians, Appalachia, Conference proceedings, Evaluation, Health services delivery, MCH programs, Midwest, Planning, Rocky Mountain Region, Rural health, South Dakota, Southern United States

Annotation: This book discusses the status of infant mortality around the world; Inter-American investigation of mortality in childhood; patterns of mortality in infancy and early childhood; methods of efforts to reduce infant mortality in World Health Organization Southeast Asia region; infant mortality; methodologic advances in the study of infant mortality; and infant mortality in Sweden.

Keywords: Central America, Child mortality, Infant mortality, North America, South America, Southeast Asia, Sweden, World Health Organization

Annotation: This report discusses the health of American Indians in the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare Region VIII, which consists of Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming. These Indians live in 23 reservations and in cities and towns in the region. The report discusses identifying American Indians, levels of problems relating to health, health services for Indians, health problems of reservation and off-reservation Indians, and suggested solutions for Indian health problems. The report ends with a list of references.

Keywords: American Indians, Colorado, Health facilities, Health policy, Indian Health Service, Montana, North Dakota, Nutrition, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming