Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This mobile application provides information about drugs and breastfeeding. Topics include maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider. The application is available for iPhone/iPod Touch or Android devices.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program, Specialized Information Services, Two Democracy Plaza, Suite 510, 6707 Democracy Plaza, MSC 5467, Bethesda, MD 20892-5467, Telephone: (301) 496-1131 Fax: (301) 480-3537 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html Available from the website.

• IOS, Android, Web

Keywords: Adverse effects, Breastfeeding, Drug effects, Infant health, Lactation, Mobile applications, Software

Annotation: This CD-ROM contains the Maternal and Child Health Bureau Projects Database for a fiscal year. The database includes information about all projects funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, that were active in the fiscal year. The user's manual provides background information about the database and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau; technical information including minimum computer specifications, installation instructions, instructions on how to search the database, and how to sort, print, and export data; and appendices which include an acronym key and a list of the keywords used to index the database records. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Block grants, CD-ROMs, Databases, Federal grants, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Program descriptions, SPRANS, Software, Title V programs

Annotation: This CD-ROM contains the 1997 Maternal and Child Health Bureau Projects Database. The database includes information about all projects funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, that were active in FY 1997 (October 1996-1997). Seven hundred eighty-six projects are described. The user's manual provides background information about the database and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau; technical information including minimum computer specifications, installation instructions, instructions on how to search the database, and how to sort, print, and export data; and appendices which include an acronym key and a list of the keywords used to index the database records. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Block grants, CD-ROMs, Databases, Federal grants, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Program descriptions, SPRANS, Software, Title V programs

Annotation: This report describes the work of a project designed to bridge gaps between the Family Health Branch (FHB) and other systems of care. The purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes are described. Extensive appendices include the Center for Family Resource Planning and Development (CFRPD) fact sheets, an announcement for a workshop by CFRPD, a fact sheet for the Family Resource Coalition in Chicago, a draft proposal for increasing the involvement of customers and community partners of the FHB in the MCH block grant process, the FHB manager's customer involvement survey, information about a conference for transitioning students into the 21st century, and an article about family involvement and support by the coordinator of the Family Involvement and Support program of the CFRPD. The abstract, annotation, and key words for the project are contained on a diskette formatted for WordPerfect 6.1 which accompanies the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Culturally competent services, Family centered services, Georgia, Interagency cooperation, Reports, Software

Annotation: This operating manual explains the contents and operations of the National Household Education Survey (NHES):91/93/95 CD-ROM, including features, installation, and operating the various windows and menus. Accompanying appendices include survey methodology documentation, menu descriptions, and a sample session.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Contact Phone: (800) 424-1616 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NCES 96-890.

• Link

Keywords: Computers, Data analysis, Education, Manuals, National surveys, Software, Telephone surveys

Annotation: This directory lists and evaluates software programs that are designed to perform qualitative data analysis. It briefly discusses computer-assisted analysis, methods for choosing software, and indicates software types and functions. It then reviews specific software packages within the following categories: text retrievers, text base managers, code-and-retrieve programs, code-based theory-builders, and conceptual network builders. Each review lists the system, indicates costs, and provides access information in addition to giving an overview of the software and indicating how it operates. It includes a discussion of future trends, a glossary, a bibliography, and tables comparing features of the different programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95 plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5537-5.

Keywords: Computer software, Data analysis, Directories, Qualitative evaluation, Social sciences

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays describing various applications libraries have developed using the ProCite Personal Bibliographic System. It includes information on how the software has been used in collection management and other library activities.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-938734-90-3 .

Keywords: Databases, Information systems, Libraries, Software, Systems development

Annotation: This brochure promotes two series of educational software programs for children in grades 5 to 12. The computer programs are available in three licensing arrangements: single user, network, and site license; and they are written to operate on IBM or Macintosh computer systems. The drug abuse prevention series advocates no-use attitudes and values and suggests positive alternatives. The programs employ tutorials, self-tests, role plays, and games to teach life skills, peer refusal skills, setting goals, and communication and interpersonal skills. Titles in the Drug Abuse Prevention Series include: Drug Abuse Learning Environment, Street Drugs: Trip or Trap, Cocaine and Crack, Alcohol: Growing Up in a Drinking World, and Tobacco: Smoking and Chewing. The Health and Guidance Series includes titles such as Understanding AIDS, the Baby Game, Teens Are Nondivorceable, Communication Essentials, and Problems and Solutions: A Guide to Conflict Resolution.

Contact: Substance Abuse Education, 670 South Fourth Street, P.O. Box 13738, Edwardsville, KS 66113, Telephone: (800) 530-5607 Secondary Telephone: (913) 441-1868 Fax: (913) 441-2119 Brochure available at no charge; program disks start at $49.95.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Children, Communication skills, Computer software, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Life skills, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Substance abuse

Annotation: This bibliography contains information on computer software and services, and electronic data sources that may be useful to maternal and child health (MCH) agencies and organizations working on childhood injury prevention. The listing, though not exhaustive, identifies the types of programs and services available. Topics covered are data analysis programs, data import and retrieval programs, emergency medical services software, mapping software, library search programs, and data sources on diskette or CD-ROM. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Data, Federal MCH programs, Information sources, Injury prevention, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Resources for professionals, Software, State MCH programs

Annotation: This document provides technical information about software designed to manage data for a prenatal care program. The program is written in eight major parts: variable definitions; data input; acceptable data values; missing gestational age imputation; initiation of prenatal care index; received prenatal care services index; two factor summary index; and other statistical calculations. Also included as part of this paper is a narrative overview of the program and technical details and rationale. Seven tables support the analysis.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Databases, Indexes, Prenatal care, Software, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This publication reports on a series of meetings held with health care providers in the South to discuss their information needs, specifically around providing care to pregnant women, infants, and children, and the availability of medical information through the National Library of Medicine's Grateful Med software. It stresses the importance of recruitment and retention of physicians in rural areas and reducing the sense of isolation by making up-to-date medical information available from the National Library of Medicine. It discusses opportunities for linkages in specific states, especially with Area Health Education Centers (AHECs), and recommends an action plan for the National Library of Medicine.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Computers, Health professionals, Information dissemination, Information networks, Medicine, Rural health, Software

Annotation: This manual provides information on designing, implementing, and evaluating clinical information systems for small primary health care centers. It discusses manual and automated systems. The manual discusses determining information needs, basic patient information, monitoring health care center activity, identifying special patient characteristics, system components for tracking and recall, monitoring specific aspects of patient care, criteria for automating information systems, and information software. It provides examples of various cards and logs.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (301) 480-4098 Web Site: https://bphc.hrsa.gov/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Health care systems, Information systems, Patient care, Patient identification systems, Primary care facilities, Software

Annotation: This dissertation analyzes a need for a health systems research effort to create a new systems software application to straighten the information infrastructure at the primary health center level in order for them to deliver maternal and child care with the most up to date resources. Highly technical in nature, the dissertation discusses topics among the following: 1) the initial methodologies involved, 2) the background of health care programs, 3) issues in computer implementation, 4) the methods and means of development and design of a system, and 5) a general discussion on the results and benefits.

Contact: Linkoping University, Department of Medical Informatics, Department of Primary Health Care and General Practice, Faculty of Health Sciences, S-581 85, Linkoping, Sweden Telephone: 46 13-222000 Fax: 46 13-101902 Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 91-7870-635-1; ISSN 0345-0082.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Health systems, Immunization programs, Information systems, MCH services, Outcome and process assessment, Primary care, Research methodology, Software, Systems development