Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This public health use case package uses sample public health stories to demonstrate the use of social determinants of health data in chronic disease prevention. The document provides an overview and background of the different social determinants of health, including racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and physical environment factors.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Disparities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Policy development, Poverty, Program evaluation, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2022 version reports on more than 440 measures of quality and examines data in three sections: Portrait of American Healthcare; Special Emphasis Topics (maternal health, child and adolescent mental health, substance use disorders, oral health); Quality and Disparities Tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child health, Child mental health, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Maternal health, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This annual statistical summary provides information on the health, education, safety, and economic security of children in Utah. The introduction includes general demographic information about the state and presents a long-range view of what factors contribute to a family's well-being. Analytical essays are included for each category of data reviewed and the statistics are presented in tables by county with state totals. This publication continues "Key Facts," which was published between 1990 and 1994.

Contact: Voices for Utah Children, 747 East South Temple, Suite 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 364-1182 Secondary Telephone: (877) 445-2447 Fax: (801) 364-1186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utahchildren.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Health status, Socioeconomic factors, Utah

Annotation: This tool contains county-level information on child health, education, and socioeconomic status that can be searched, mapped, downloaded, and compared to national averages. Users can also map, filter, and display key characteristics of public school and school-based health center locations. A user manual and video tutorials are provided.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Education, Information systems, Integrated information systems, Maps, School based clinics, Schools, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This resource provides information about obesity among young children, adolescents, and adults in the United States. Contents include obesity rates and trends by age, household income, and race and ethnicity; policy analysis; state briefs; fast facts; and other resources. Topics include the relationship between weight and diabetes, hypertension, and physical inactivity; the health care costs of obesity; food insecurity, food deserts, and healthy weights; and socioeconomics and obesity.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Barriers, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Data sources, Financing, Health status, Low income groups, Nutrition, Obesity, Policy development, Schools, Socioeconomic factors, State programs, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This chartbook presents data from the National Survey of Children's Health. Contents include indicators of the health and well-being of children, including oral health status; a discussion of supportive and risk factors in the family environment; and a discussion of aspects of neighborhoods that may support or threaten families and children on the national level within high-risk subpopulations for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Supplemental data tables on child health status, health care, school and activities, a child's family, and a child's and family's neighborhood are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Families, Family characteristics, Family economics, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, National surveys, Neighborhoods, Protective factors, Risk factors, Rural population, Schools, Socioeconomic status, Statistical data

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations for the implementation and maintenance of school-based health centers in low-income communities to improve educational and health outcomes. Educational outcomes include: school performance, grade promotion, and high school completion. Health outcomes include: delivery of vaccinations and other recommended preventive services, asthma morbidity, emergency department and hospital admissions, contraceptive use among sexually active females, prenatal care and birth weight, and other health risk behaviors. The findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of 46 studies published through July 2014. This web resource also provides links to supporting documents and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Contraceptives, Health education, Health status, Health status disparities, Literature reviews, Mental health services, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School based clinics, School health programs, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) recommendations on center-based early childhood education programs to improve educational outcomes that are associated with long-term health as well as social- and health-related outcomes. Center-based early childhood education programs aim to improve the cognitive or social development of children ages three or four years. The CPSTF recommendations are based on evidence from a 2014 systematic review of 49 studies of center-based preschool programs for low-income children. The website provides a summary of results divided by education-related outcomes and social- and health-related outcomes. In addition, there are links to relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Early childhood education, Family support programs, Health status, Health status disparities, Literature reviews, Low income groups, Preschool children, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Young children

Annotation: This website provides information on the demographics of children and families in the United States, key factors that drive child outcomes, and issues of racial/ethnic socioeconomic equity in child health and wellbeing. Users can query, compare, and analyze data by race and ethnicity; compare data across states, metropolitan areas, counties, large cities, and large school districts; explore metropolitan area maps of the Child Opportunity Index; and obtain equity assessments of social policies affecting children. Fact sheets are also available.

Contact: Brandeis University, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, 415 South Street MS 035, Waltham, MA 02454-9110, Telephone: (781) 736-3820 Web Site: http://heller.brandeis.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Neighborhoods, Racial factors, Social policy, Socioeconomic status, Statistics

Annotation: This brief explains how economic and social conditions early in life shape children's health and development, affecting their health as adults; the evidence connecting early childhood programs with health; what works, apart from the need for services for parents; the business case for investing in early childhood programs; and examples of high-quality early childhood programs. A table highlighting several early childhood programs and the ways they affect health is included.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family characteristics, Health status, Life course, Model programs, Quality assurance, Socioeconomic status, Young children

Annotation: This database is a user-friendly tool that provides data on Latino children in the United States. As an update and expansion of NCLR’s 2010 publication America’s Future: Latino Child Well-Being in Numbers and Trends, the Data Explorer offers 27 national- and state-level indicators of Latino child well-being, including demographic, health, education, housing, income, and juvenile justice variables. The data are available by age group (0–2, 0–4, 0–8, 0–17) and include time trend and racial/ethnic comparisons.

Contact: National Council of La Raza, 1126 16th Street, NW. Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-1670 Fax: (202) 776-1792 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nclr.org Available from the website.

• Database Access
• About The Database

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children, Data, Demography, Hispanic Americans, Juvenile justice, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This paper presents research findings on the major risks to children’s development, the prevalence of those risks among disconnected families, and the potential consequences for children. It also describes potential interventions to help disconnected families by increasing and stabilizing family income, enhancing parenting skills, supporting children directly, and reaching out to disconnected mothers who are not citizens. Finally, directions for future research are provided.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Families, Life course, Low income groups, Mother child relations, Poverty, Risk factors, Single mothers, Socioeconomic status, Unemployment

Annotation: This report assesses health disparities in the United States across a wide range of diseases, behavioral risk factors, environmental exposures, social determinants, and health-care access issues. It raises awareness of differences among groups regarding selected health outcomes and health determinants and to prompt actions to reduce disparities. Topics include social determinants of health, environmental hazards, health care access and preventive services, behavioral risk factors, morbidity, mortality, and future directions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• 2013, Second Report
• 2011, First Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic disease, Disease prevention, Health status disparities, Injury prevention, Preventive health services, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened in November 2012 to discuss the sizable health inequities affecting Native American, Alaska Native, First Nation, and Pacific Islander populations and the potential role of culture in helping to reduce those inequities. This report summarizes the presentations and discussion of the workshop and includes case studies that examine programs aimed at diabetes prevention and management and cancer prevention and treatment programs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $36, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website, after registration. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29256-6.

• Link

Keywords: Minority health, Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cancer, Cultural factors, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health status disparities, Pacific Islanders, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This brief presents findings from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, 2005–2008, on the oral health status of children and adolescents (ages 5–19) and adults. Topics include untreated dental caries and dental restoration prevalence by age, race and ethnicity, and poverty level. The prevalence of dental sealants, complete tooth retention, and edentulism are also addressed.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental caries, Health status, Oral health, Prevalence, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This literature review (from 1983-2011) evaluates the effectiveness of quality improvement (QI) strategies in reducing disparities in health and health care. The review focused on 12 clinical conditions and assessed health disparities associated with race or ethnicity, socioeconomic status, insurance status, sexual orientation, health literacy/numeracy, and language barrier. Contents are divided into the following sections: background on QI and health disparities approaches, scope and key questions of focus for the review, methods used, a results overview, and discussion of main findings. References, tables, and appendices are also inlcuded.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pu.b No. 12-E009-EF.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care disparities, Health insurance, Health literacy, Health status disparities, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Minority health, Racial factors, Sexual identity, Socioeconomic status

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors