Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of the literature on housing instability as a social determinant of health. It provides background information on the federal Healthy People 2030 framework and describes how housing instability as a social determinant is organized according to the following five domains: Economic stability, education access and quality, health care access and quality, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community context. Data methods and sources, related objectives, links to evidence-based resources, and tools for action are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov

• Link

Keywords: Federal Initiatives , Health disparities, Housing, Literature reviews, Measures, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes the various socioeconomic factors and discriminatory practices that contribute to the disproportionate rate of housing evictions among black women. It discusses the health, economic, social, and financial consequences of home displacement and calls on states to respond to the eviction crisis by enacting policies that account for demographic disparities and decrease eviction filing, increase tenant protections and rights during the process, and keep families and individuals out of cycles of poverty and hardship.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Discrimination, Homelessness, Housing, Public policy, Racism, Socioeconomic factors, Women

Annotation: This report highlights the growing housing affordability crisis across the United States; describes housing difficulties experienced by North Carolina (NC) parents and their children; and presents policy recommendations based on its findings. Included is a description of themes that emerged during focus groups with NC professionals serving families and interviews with parents.

Contact: Duke-Margolis Health Policy Center, 1201 Pennsylvania Ave, NW, 5th Floor, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 621-2800 Web Site: https://healthpolicy.duke.edu/

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Families, Homelessness, Housing, Policy development, Socioeconomic factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This report presents a framework intended to guide the activities of individuals and organizations in Colorado in the pursuit of advancing oral health equity in the state. The report presents background on the framework and on the oral health status of Colorado residents. It discusses factors related to oral health inequities, efforts to improve oral health in Colorado, and development of the framework. The four framework goals are also presented, along with next steps.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in the District of Columbia (DC). It discusses characteristics of DC's diverse population and social determinants of health, It also describes the District's oral health landscape, including the safety net infrastructure, and where Federally Qualified Health Centers that provide oral health care and other types of health care are located. Also discussed are the oral health workforce, efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care, and challenges related to achieving equitable access to oral health care.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, District of Columbia, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health equity, Service integration, Socioeconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This public health use case package uses sample public health stories to demonstrate the use of social determinants of health data in chronic disease prevention. The document provides an overview and background of the different social determinants of health, including racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and physical environment factors.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Disparities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Policy development, Poverty, Program evaluation, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the oral disease burden and highlights challenges to and opportunities for accelerating progress toward universal coverage for oral health. It presents oral health profiles of countries based on data from the Global Burden of Disease project, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, and global World Health Organization surveys. It also emphasizes the global impact of oral disease on health and well-being and highlights inequalities.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Health equity, International health, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2022 version reports on more than 440 measures of quality and examines data in three sections: Portrait of American Healthcare; Special Emphasis Topics (maternal health, child and adolescent mental health, substance use disorders, oral health); Quality and Disparities Tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child health, Child mental health, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Maternal health, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report highlights the significantly higher rates of child welfare involvement among inadequately-housed families and children, often resulting in foster care placement. It describes how homelessness and housing instability impact children; outlines national efforts to address the housing crisis; and describes ways in which child protection agencies can work with system partners to keep families together whenever possible.

Contact: Casey Family Programs, 2001 Eighth Avenue, Suite 2700, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 282-7300 Fax: (202) 282-3555 E-mail: http://www.casey.org/ContactUs/EmailUs/[email protected]&officename=Casey%20Family%20%20Programs Web Site: http://www.casey.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Child protection agencies, Child welfare, Families, Foster care, Homelessness, Housing, Initiatives, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report presents results from the 2018–2019 California Third Grade Smile Survey. The report provides background on tooth decay in children in California and presents key findings related to tooth decay experience, untreated decay, and dental sealant prevalence; disparities in tooth decay and untreated tooth decay, and dental sealant prevalence by race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status; and regional variations in children's oral health across the state. Strategies for improving children's health as delineated in California's 2018–2028 oral health plan are discussed, along with methodology and limitations. Definitions of terms are included.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report provides national estimates for selected measures for oral health status during 2011–2016, examines changes since 1999–2004, and highlights disparities in oral health by certain sociodemographic characteristics. Measures include prevalence and severity of dental caries in primary and permanent teeth, prevalence of dental sealants on permanent teeth in children and adolescents (ages 6–19), and tooth retention and edentulism among adults (ages 20–64) and older adults (ages 65 or older).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Older adults, Oral health, Socioeconomic factors, Surveillance, Trends

Annotation: This annual statistical summary provides information on the health, education, safety, and economic security of children in Utah. The introduction includes general demographic information about the state and presents a long-range view of what factors contribute to a family's well-being. Analytical essays are included for each category of data reviewed and the statistics are presented in tables by county with state totals. This publication continues "Key Facts," which was published between 1990 and 1994.

Contact: Voices for Utah Children, 747 East South Temple, Suite 100, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 364-1182 Secondary Telephone: (877) 445-2447 Fax: (801) 364-1186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.utahchildren.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child safety, Children, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Health status, Socioeconomic factors, Utah

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force