Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents the proceedings of the annual Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute held in April 1989, in Pittsburgh. Presentations covered issues and directions for case management, case management in specific situations (multiply diagnosed children, pediatric AIDS in Belle Glade, Florida, prenatal care, and primary care), quality assurance, management information systems, training in case management, and a community development approach to case management in Pittsburgh. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, Conference proceedings, Primary care, Social work

Annotation: This paper compares the philosophy, theory and practice of nursing and social work to find to what extent overlapping, similarities, and divergencies may exist between them. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Children and Youth Projects, Nurses, Program evaluation, Social workers

Annotation: This grant sponsored a symposium to improve adolescent approaches to health care through providing health professionals with new, innovative, and practical approaches to adolescent health care delivery. Issues addressed were: reaching the adolescent client; the application of physiological, cognitive, emotional, social, and behavioral theories to adolescent health care; and specific adolescent problems such as adolescent pregnancy and parenting, drug abuse, suicide, and body image; and sexuality in the disabled adolescent. Program emphasis was on the team and multi-disciplinary approach to effective adolescent health care delivery. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196731.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nurses Physicians Social Workers, Professional education

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This recorded webinar provides background information on the global maternal mortlaity crisis and highlights opportunities for birth workers to intervene and alleviate the crisis. Guest presenters from international maternal and child health organizations give an overview of their practice to support pregnant and birthing people, and prevent maternal deaths. Special guests: Andrew Herrera, MPH, MBA, Executive Director of Curamericas; Mario Rodriguez Valdez Ramirez, Executive Director of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Juany Valdez, Head Nurse of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Nick Pearson, Founder and Co-Executive Director of Jacranda Health; Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder of Ancient Song Doula Services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Doulas, International health, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, Pregnancy, Prevention, Social support

Annotation: This brief highlights oral health disparities within communities of color in California. Topics include oral health disparities and the impact of oral health inequities on communities of color, including oral health and children, oral health and employment, and oral health and chronic conditions. Also discussed are causes of oral health inequities, including lack of access to affordable care, absence of a culturally and linguistically competent work force, and social and environmental inequities. In addition, the brief provides policy recommendations (improving access to and quality of oral health care, ensuring that there is a culturally competent work force, and engaging in efforts to improve underlying socioeconomic inequities).

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Policy development, Social factors, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This course for promotores de salud (community health workers) comprises four units about understanding healthy choices, helping people make healthy choices, understanding community change, and helping people make community change. The course can by used by individuals or by groups of individuals. Contents include a video introduction; quizzes; stories; examples; and handouts that summarize each unit including key points, definitions, and questions to consider and discuss. Users can choose to answer the questions at the end of each unit and print a certificate of completion or receive a certificate by email. The units can be completed in sequence or in any order and in whole or in part. The course is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Community health workers, Decision making, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Social change, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This report describes progress on a national initiative to address persistent opportunity gaps faced by boys and young men of color. The report outlines the building blocks for success across key life stages and presents initial recommendations and areas of opportunity for each of the key milestones. The focus areas include entering school ready to learn, reading at grade level by third grade, graduating from high school ready for college and career, completing postsecondary education or training, entering the work force, reducing violence, and providing a second chance. Cross-cutting areas of opportunity that span all focus areas are also discussed.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Initiative Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent males, Barriers, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Graduation, Juvenile justice, Learning, Life course, Men, Minority groups, Reading, School to work transition, Social factors, Violence prevention, Work family issues, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This white paper presents expert panel recommendations for supporting community-based doula programs to improve maternal and child health in underserved birthing populations. Topics include why community-based doulas matter, history of the work, data, and case studies. Summary recommendations and next steps are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HealthConnect One, 1436 W. Randolph, Fourth Floor, Chicago, IL 60607, Telephone: (312) 243-4772 Fax: (312) 243-4792 Web Site: http://www.healthconnectone.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, MCH programs, Research, Social support

Annotation: This book outlines the 100-year history of the Children's Bureau and highlights the ways it has influenced modern-day child welfare practices. Topics include lessons learned, family driven and community-based systems of care, addressing poverty as a child welfare strategy, youth and family engagement, successful transition to adulthood for foster youth, child protection, child maltreatment, social work, tribal and urban Indian child welfare, work force, leadership development, and envisioning the future.

Contact: National Association of Social Workers, 750 First Street, N.E., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20002-4241, Telephone: (202) 408-8600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 742-4089 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.socialworkers.org $55.99, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-087101-446-7.

Keywords: American Indians, Federal agencies, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Children', Families, Foster care, History, Maltreated children, Poverty, Social work, Socioeconomic factors, Transitions, Work force, s Bureau

Annotation: This book focuses on the relationship between the Children’s Bureau and the social work community, a constant since the founding of the Bureau in 1912. It traces the interaction of the Children's Bureau with social work education and practice through scope, policy, and leadership changes, as well as collaboration between the Bureau and schools of social work to develop a dynamic training and technical assistance infrastructure throughout the United States.

Contact: Council on Social Work Education, 1701 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314-3457, Telephone: (703) 683-8080 Fax: (703) 683-8099 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cswe.org $46.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-087293-150-3.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Children', Families, Federal agencies, History, Social work, Work force, s Bureau

Annotation: This report provides state- and district-level data on each of the following eight components of the Coordinated School Health (CSH) model: health education, physical education, health services, mental health and social services, nutrition services, healthy and safe school environment, faculty and staff health promotion, and family and community involvement. Screenings, notifications, and referrals for oral health problems are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Community participation, Data sources, Family school relations, Health education, Health services, Mental health, Nutrition services, Physical education, Policy analysis, Prevalence, Prevention programs, Safety, School age children, School health, School health programs, Schools, Social services, Trends, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This book outlines what a child protection team at a children’s hospital should offer in terms of infrastructure, staffing, functions, and systems to be considered either basic, advanced, or a center of excellence. The book discusses each of these three tiers, explaining how they serve as a framework for hospital self assessment and are not intended as a ranking for competitive evaluation. The first section covers medical leadership, team administration, and social work; the second section covers clinical services, policies, prevention, advocacy, community collaboration, education, and research; and the third section covers funding, reimbursement, and risk management. The benefit to the community is covered in a special section.

Contact: Children's Hospital Association, 600 13th Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 753-5500 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child protective services, Child welfare, Maltreated children, Pediatric hospitals, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Social work

Annotation: This webcast includes three presentations: (1) Maternal and Child Health and Mental Health: Time for Action, (2) Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care, and (3) A Model for a Collaborative Social Work/Public Health Response to Traumatic and Catastrophic Events, Lessons Learned from Katrina. The first discusses mental health among women and children, especially those from low-income communities; the second discusses the Duvall County health department, in Jacksonville, Florida, and its efforts to integrate mental health services into primary care service; and the third discusses h traumatic and catastrophic events and how to collaboratively respond to them. The webcast includes PowerPoint presentations and audio files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Health services, Low income groups, Mental health, Multimedia, Primary care, Public health, Social work, Women', s health

Annotation: This book looks at the evidence-based movement in the early childhood field, including early childhood education, early childhood special education, early intervention, child care, infant and child mental health, developmental and clinical psychology, social work, and the medical and allied health professions, among other areas. The book is organized around three questions: (1) what is evidence-based practice, and how did it emerge?, (2) how will evidence-based practice affect the early childhood field?, and (3) what are some promising practices, strategies, and future directions for implementing evidence-based practice? The book also discusses research on the impact of evidence-based practice, the evidence-based practice movement and its effect on knowledge utilization, making the case for evidence-based policy, building and establishing the evidence base, and reflections and recommendations. Each chapter includes references. The book includes an index.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-95-4.

Keywords: Child health, Clinical psychology, Developmental psychology, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Evidence-based practice, Mental health, Public policy, Social work, Special education, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the way Social Security provides insurance protection for the families of working parents in cases of serious disability or death. The report explains what Social Security is, how the program affects children and families, what are the program's effects on child poverty, and what is at stake for children and families in the current social security debate. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Death, Disabilities, Families, Parents, Poverty, Public policy, Social Security, Working parents

Annotation: This action plan provides a national blueprint to enhance existing systems; expand services for children, adolescents, and adults with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their families; and coordinate services across systems. The document discusses (1) achieving family and professional partnerships, (2) early and continuous developmental and medical screening for autism, (3) access to all needed ASD health, mental health, education, and social services, (4) organization of community-based services for easy use, (5) youth transition to adult services, work, and independence, and (6) appropriate financing of care. For each of these topic areas, a goal, challenges, and recommendations are presented.

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Adolescent, Adults, Autism, Community based services, Education, Families, Financing, Health care systems, Health services, Mental health, Program coordination, School to work transition, Service coordination, Social services, Transition planning, Youth in transition program

Annotation: This module is part of the Maternal and Child Health Leadership Training Program, the purpose of which is to expand and strengthen the capacity of the School of Social Work at the University of North Carolina to provide leadership education for masters-level social work students and for public health social workers in the maternal and child health field. The module presents an overview of the history and philosophy of social work and public health, discusses the roles and functions of public health social workers, explains the different levels of prevention and provides examples of possible interventions for each level of prevention by public health social workers, and examines the role of public health social work. The module includes a list of additional resources and a list of suggested activities.

Contact: MCH Public Health - Social Work Leadership Training Program, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Social Work, Tate-Tumer-Kuralt Building, 301 Pittsboro Street, CB 3550, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3550, Telephone: (919) 962-6429 Fax: (919) 962-0890 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ssw.unc.edu/mch/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Intervention, MCH training programs, Maternal health, Prevention, Public health, Social work, Social workers

Annotation: This report describes a study of migrant and seasonal farm workers in Chester and Adams counties, Pennsylvania. Topics include how the study population is defined and characteristics of the study counties and Pennsylvania's migrant and seasonal farm workers. The study methodology is detailed and results are discussed including demographic characteristics, food choices and influences on food choices, dietary acculturation, food sufficiency practices, and nutrition education. Focus group and key informant interviews are summarized and discussion of barriers to achieving good nutrition, meeting health care needs, and participation in food assistance programs are highlighted. Additional discussion provides conclusions and policy considerations.

Contact: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 200 North Third Street, Suite 600, Harrisburg, PA 17101, Telephone: (717) 787-9555 Fax: (717) 772-3587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ruralpa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Farm workers, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Migrants, Nutrition, Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Social services