Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book presents information about the U.S. health disadvantage, that is, the fact that Americans live shorter lives and experience more illnesses and injuries than people in other high-income countries. The book explores possible explanations and provides recommendations for both government and nongovernment agencies to address the problem. Topics include shorter lives, poorer health, explaining the health disadvantage, framing the question, public health and medical care systems, individual behaviors, social factors, physical and social environmental factors, policies and social values, and a research agenda.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-26414-3.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Health, Health care systems, Income factors, Injuries, Injury prevention, International health, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, Research, Service delivery system, Social values

Annotation: This paper describes a review of different frameworks for understanding the social determinants of health and how it was summarized and synthesized into a single conceptual framework for action. The paper also identifies elements of policy directions for action implied by the proposed conceptual framework and analysis of policy approaches.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alienation, Community action, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health status, Life course, Models, Policy analysis, Policy development, Political systems, Public policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Theories

Annotation: The papers collected in this volume reveal the contribution of African American voices to understanding the relationship between justice and care. The first part of the text provides a psychological perspective on moral formation among African Americans during childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Part two provides practical, pedagogical perspectives drawn from the past, present, and ongoing challenges of African American educational practices, focusing on what African American voices have to say about promoting care, justice, and moral formation within schools. Appendices include information on chapter-correlated films that illustrate these values and a summary of ways in which each chapter contributes to the understanding of each of the justice-and-care primary dual values. References, information on the contributors, and an index are included.

Contact: Teacher's College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (800) 575-6566 Secondary Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Fax: (212) 678-4149 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8077-4449-2.

Keywords: Blacks, Criminal justice system, Education, Life skills, Moral development, Moral values, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Social discrimination, Social integration, Social values

Annotation: This pamphlet helps parents of young children use everyday interactions to teach their children the basic skills they need to cooperate, get along with others, and be enthusiastic learners. The brochure provide tips for helping children develop skills in four key areas: language and literacy, thinking, self-control, and self-confidence. Tips are divided by age ranges (0-12 months, 12-24 months, and 24-36 months). Information about television viewing and imparting values and beliefs is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $30.00 for packet of 20; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-87-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Infant development, Language, Learning, Learning activities, Literacy, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, School readiness, Self control, Self esteem, Social interaction, Television, Young children

Annotation: This report provides background on youth-led organizations and highlights five youth-led social justice efforts, describing the lessons they have learned and the tools they have developed. The organizations are: (1) Youth Organizations United (HIV education and reproductive health policy), (2) Lummi CEDAR Project (respecting traditional values, building intergenerational bridges, and supporting youth-led community organizing, (3) Kids As Self Advocates (educating about youth with disabilities), (4) About Face Youth Theater (empowering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth and their allies), and (5) National Conference for Community and Justice (fighting bias, bigotry, and racism).

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community organizations, Community programs, Education, HIV infection, Leadership, Moral values, Participation, Public policy, Racism, Reproductive health, Social change, Social values, Young adults

Annotation: This book addresses the current views and beliefs about adolescent pregnancy that influence social policy and political attitudes. The author presents the historical context of adolescent pregnancy and parenthood, and traces how attitudes about and approaches to dealing with these issues have changed. Quotes from the mothers involved illustrate the discussions of why adolescents get pregnant, how it affects the lives and future prospects of the adolescents and those of their babies, how sex education affects their behavior, and the impact of their socioeconomic status and upbringing on their goals and behavior.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-21702-0 .

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent employment, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Child welfare, Consent, Demography, Educational attainment, Family income, Marital status, Maternal age, Policy development, Pregnant adolescents, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social conditions, Social policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This videotape and the leader's discussion guide that accompany it suggests ways that parents, community organizations, civic groups, and educators can instill moral values and belief systems in the children and adolescents in their communities. The guide provides scripts that help emphasize various aspects of the video for presentations made for different groups as well as general suggestions for presentations. The assets themselves fall within broader groupings such as emotional support, standards for behavior, structuring the use of time, educational commitment, positive values, and social competencies.

Contact: Search Institute, The Banks Building, 615 First Avenue N.E., Suite 125, Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 376-8955 Secondary Telephone: (800) 888-7828 Contact Phone: (800) 888-7828 Fax: (612) 376-8956 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.search-institute.org/ $24.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Behavior, Children, Community role, Educational materials, Moral development, Parenting, Social values, Videotapes

Annotation: This teaching guide includes background information on the Community of Caring goals and objectives, provides a training manual which includes the rationale and methodology for teaching values, and outlines a plan for teaching of values in an elementary school. It includes an action plan, demonstrates how to teach values across the school curriculum, indicates how to develop a student forum, suggests ways to involve parents and the community, and advocates community service programs.

Contact: National Association of Secondary School Principals, 1904 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1537, Telephone: (703) 860-0200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 253-7746 Fax: (703) 476-5432 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.principals.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children, Curricula, School based programs, Social values

Annotation: This book was developed from work of the Carnegie Council on Adolescent Development, which has been the catalyst for new thinking about adolescence. It focuses on rethinking and rebuilding the social supports that adolescents need. Topics include adolescent rolelessness, the influence of school and community programs, parent-school involvement, school-to-work transition, mass media, curricula, and community organizations.

Contact: Teachers College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Contact Phone: (800 ) 488-2665 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Social factors, Social values

Annotation: This book outlines ways that people involved in youth ministries can integrate service and learning into their programs. It develops the idea of service learning and considers the impact of youth service programs. Steps for planning and implementing service-learning programs are provided, and suggestions are offered for evaluating the programs. The book also suggests 135 programs that can be started at the local level.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Community service, Moral development, Programs, Religious organizations, Services, Social values, Youth

Annotation: This book offers an approach to professional, business, and personal relationships based on the character building effects of seven principles and habits of behavior and thought. The underlying principles address theses topics: personal vision, personal leadership, personal management, interpersonal leadership, empathic communication, creative cooperation, of balanced self renewal. The habits are: be proactive, begin with the end in mind, put first things first, think win/win, seek first to understand, then to be understood, synergize, and sharpen the saw. Two appendices offer information on perception of others, and time management for a business day.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 223-2336 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ $24.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-671-66398-4.

Keywords: Character, Personality development, Problem solving, Social values, Teamwork, Time management

Annotation: The articles in this book are based on papers presented at seminars on "Children and Health Care: Moral and Social Issues" at East Carolina University School of Medicine in Greenville, North Carolina, in the fall of 1986. The first section examines children's needs for health care and the history of U.S. federal initiatives to provide for those needs. The second section explores children's own views of sickness and death. In the third section, the editors raise questions about what role children should have in health care choices, and what the limits of parental authority should be; they are adressed from moral as well as legal standpoints. The final section reflects on the role of the pediatrician indirectly caring for children.

Contact: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 101 Philip Drive, Norwell, MA 02061, Telephone: (617) 871-6600 Contact Phone: (781) 871-6600 Fax: 617-871-6528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wkap.nl Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1556080786.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child health, Conferences, Death, Decision making, Federal MCH programs, Health attitudes, Health policy, Health services, Moral values, Pediatricians, Role, Social factors

Annotation: This report discusses the 23 million American families with children under 13 years of age and how parents are coping with the problems of raising their children in a period of rapid social change. The focus of the study is the family unit: the parents and children. The study is designed to provide understanding, insight and statistically reliable information on aspects of parent-child relationships including discipline, health, money, nutrition, the roles of television and advertising, schools and education, the impact of working mothers, and the transmission of values from parent to child.

Keywords: Advertising, Child rearing, Children, Discipline, Education, Families, Health, Moral values, Nutrition, Parent child relations, Schools, Social values, Television, United States, Working mothers

Annotation: The eighteen forums of this Conference dealt with the topics of physical environment, social environment, personnel, religion, values and ideals, human rights, children and youth as individuals, and world concerns. Each of these recommendations from the forums' discussions is followed by a Roman numeral indicating the forum adopting it. Where more than one forum is indicated, it means that the forums noted adopted identical or similar recommendations. Where a forum vote is reported it means that the dissent represented at least 15 percent of those voting. In such cases the substance of the dissenting argument is presented as is the number of the forum in which the dissent occurred.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Environment, Personnel, Religion, Social values, United States, Youth

Annotation: This collection of papers was specially prepared for Conference participants to provide them with specific background information on each major theme of the Conference. These themes are the current scene including young adults, suburbia, city housing and mobility; beliefs and values including religious development, values and ideals; health, education, employment, and leisure services; special problems of minorities, civil rights, migrants, marriage and divorce, and multi problem families; children with developmental disabilities and behavior problems; and community action.

Keywords: Adults, Behavior problems, Children, Children with developmental disabilities, Cities, Civil rights, Community action, Conferences, Divorce, Dysfunctional families, Education, Employment, Health, Marriage, Migrants, Minority groups, Religion, Social values, Suburban population, United States, Youth

Annotation: This special issue of the "Journal of Family Issues" is dedicated to the role of family relations within the context of cultural diversity based on racial and ethnic differences. It includes empirical and theoretical articles. Topics covered include family life and racial and ethnic diversity; social support systems for employed African Americans and Anglo-Americans; differences between rural and urban family structures for African Americans; the timing of marriages among Chinese and Japanese Americans; the patterns of care for elderly Mexican Americans; the roles of race, ethnicity, and gender in the perceptions of fairness; and the relationships between the assimilation model, family life, and race and ethnicity and how these relationships affect the care of minority welfare mothers.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $15.00; discounts available for bulk orders; prepayment required for orders under $25.00.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Blacks, Cultural diversity, Elder care, Employment, Ethnic factors, Family characteristics, Family life, Family relations, Family relations, Marriage, Mexican Americans, Moral values, Mothers, Racial factors, Rural population, Sex role, Social values, Urban population, Welfare services, Whites, Women