Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This document outlines a plan to coordinate and advance the health-relevant behavioral and social sciences (BSS) in the service of the nation's health. Contents include scientific priorities reflecting key research challenges and the foundational processes to enhance and support these priorities. Topics include communicating BSS research findings, coordinating BSS research programs and integrating BSS research within the larger research enterprise, training the next generation of BSS researchers, and evaluating the impact of BSS research and addressing scientific policies that support this research.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research, Building 31, Room B1C19, 31 Center Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 402-1146 Fax: (301) 402-1150 Web Site: http://obssr.od.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 16-OD-8026.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Health behavior, Research, Social sciences, Strategic plans

Annotation: This resource summarizes the proceedings of an honorary symposium for Dr. Lois K. Cohen held on December 11, 2006, in Bethesda, Maryland, to convey the importance of behavioral and social sciences in oral health and directions for future research. Topics include (1) the imperative for social and behavioral sciences an integral part of health research; (2) social and behavioral research in oral health; (3) biobehavioral research in the oral health sciences; (4) research needs and opportunities; (5) studies focused on individual health; (6) family and community-based research; (7) communications research; (8) research capacity, design, and infrastructure; and (9) social, health policy, and global health research.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Behavioral sciences, Needs assessment, Oral health, Research, Social sciences

Annotation: This book explores the history of the founding and progress of the field of child development from the late 1800s up to World War II. Topics in part one of the book, encompassing 1893-1910, include the rise of social research, feminism, the child study movement, scientific child rearing, parent education, social welfare reform and reform-minded scientsts. Part two provides an overview of the creation of models from 1910-1921. Contents include the establishment of the Children's Bureau, research perspectives from juvenile delinquency to child guidance, and a case study of the methods used in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station to grow better crops, better pigs, and better children. The third section reviews breakthroughs during the period from 1922 to 1940. It discusses the "Children's Decade" of the 1920s, child development research and preventive politics, a case study of the Yale Clinic, activities of the Child Guidance Movement and its transformation to child psychiatry, and the continued activities of the Children's Bureau.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp $32.00 for paperback, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 9780300144352.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Biological sciences, Child development, Child health, Child health programs, Child rearing, Children, Children', Federal agencies, History, Mother child relations, Mothers, Parent education, Pediatrics, Social sciences, United States, s Bureau

Annotation: This bibliography is intended to help injury researchers and behavioral scientists work together to uncover new solutions to the injury problem and to serve as a starting point for students and teachers interested in conducting research related to behavioral science and injury control. The bibliography (1) documents the contributions of behavioral and social science research to unintentional injury prevention and control and (2) increases awareness about the impact and importance of behavioral science in the field of injury control. The bibliography is divided into two major sections. Section 1 lists references alphabetically by author and offers a one-page index of pertinent references by selected keywords. Section 2 is a list of references divided into broad subject headings. Topics include injuries to children and adults received from bicycles, drowning, falls, fires and burns, impaired driving, motor vehicles, motorcycles, on-the-job, playgrounds, poisoning, sports, and sun-related injuries. The bibliography can be downloaded from the Web site or ordered in CD-ROM.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Bibliographies, CD-ROMs, Injuries, Injury prevention, Research, Social sciences, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This monograph seeks to formulate a psychology of interdependency that will characterize the elements of personal and social organization to help readers understand and prepare for a rapidly advancing interdependent future, particularly in the wake of the terrorist actions on September 11, 2001. Section topics include the different ways groups and nations meet their basic needs; the group processes that will be required to cope with the newly defined unit of survival, "the global group"; the paradigm shift required for understanding human behaviors that will enable individuals to move from deterministic thinking to interdependent, dynamic approaches; and the policies that will be needed to enable families and communities to participate in global interdependency adaptively, rather than destructively.

Contact: Interdisciplinary Council on Developmental and Learning Disorders, 4938 Hampden Lane, Suite 800, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-2667 Web Site: http://www.icdl.com $19.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Collaboration, Group dynamics, International organizations, Social interaction

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Annotation: This book is a report of a two- and-a-half year project in which the Committee on Integrating the Science of Early Childhood Development, established by the Board on Children, Youth, and Families of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine, was given the task of updating and evaluating the current science of early childhood development. The committee reviewed a body of research covering the period from before birth to the first day of kindergarten. The report introduces the concepts of the study. It discusses the nature and tasks of early development and the context for early development. The report includes conclusions, recommendations, references and an index. The appendices include: A. Related reports from the National Academies; B. Defining and estimating causal effects; C. Technologies for studying the developing human brain; and D. Biographical sketches of committee members. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-06988-2.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Developmental psychology, Early childhood development, Genetics, Infants, Neural development, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the concepts and language of statistics for social science students. The book covers the following: statistics in social science research, introduction to hypothesis testing, comparing the means of paired data, comparing the means of two groups, introducing regression and correlation, comparing many means, comparing proportions, and advanced techniques. Most chapters have an assignment and suggestions for further reading. Appendices include the U.S. states data set, the normal (z) distribution, student's "t" distribution, the "F" distribution, and the "X" squared distribution.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $24.50 plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first item and $1.00 for each additional item. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-7918-5.

Keywords: Social sciences, Statistics, Textbooks

Annotation: This directory lists and evaluates software programs that are designed to perform qualitative data analysis. It briefly discusses computer-assisted analysis, methods for choosing software, and indicates software types and functions. It then reviews specific software packages within the following categories: text retrievers, text base managers, code-and-retrieve programs, code-based theory-builders, and conceptual network builders. Each review lists the system, indicates costs, and provides access information in addition to giving an overview of the software and indicating how it operates. It includes a discussion of future trends, a glossary, a bibliography, and tables comparing features of the different programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $29.95 plus $2.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5537-5.

Keywords: Computer software, Data analysis, Directories, Qualitative evaluation, Social sciences

Annotation: This book reports on common problems in designing and evaluating randomized clinical trials also known as randomized experimentation in research projects. These problems affect the implementation of the research projects and frequently call the interpretation of the results into question. The book contains nine chapters written by different authors.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-789-9992-x.

Keywords: Experimental research, Social sciences

Annotation: This book contains two essays by different authors discussing research projects that use nonexperimental methods in the social or behavioral sciences. The authors indicate how interpreting the results of nonexperimental research can be made more reliable and show how those methods can be applied to research in program evaluation.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55542-740-5.

Keywords: Program evaluation, Research methodology, Social sciences

Annotation: This dictionary gives nontechnical definitions of statistical and methodological terms used in the social sciences and related fields. It includes some nonstatistical terms, such as Boolean algebra, cybernetics, ethology, and computer terminology, that may occur in statistical articles.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $22.95, paper; $49.95, cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5277-5, paper; 0-8039-5276-7, cloth.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Social sciences, Statistics

Annotation: This book describes various techniques that are used to design and implement accurate samples when conducting research in the social sciences. The introduction defines sampling and discusses issues related to its validity and applicability. Topics covered include a review of various sampling methodologies, practical sample design including examples, sampling frames, sampling techniques, sample size, and postsampling choices.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $16.95 plus shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-2959-5.

Keywords: Research design, Research methodology, Social sciences, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This book was sponsored by the Medical Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association. Its purpose was to clarify the uses of social science research, to provide illustrations of how the social sciences have influenced our thinking about health care issues, and to underscore areas of research for the future. It is divided into five major subheadings: Social contexts of health care and health policy; Major medical problems and monitoring health outcome; Health and illness over the life cycle; Prevention and caring; and Organization and delivery of health services.

Contact: Rutgers University Press, Administrative Office, 100 Joyce Kilmer Avenue, Piscataway, NJ 08854-8099, Telephone: 732-445-7762 Fax: 732-445-7039 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://rutgerspress.rutgers.edu/index.html Available in libraries.

Keywords: Health care systems, Health policy, Policy analysis, Public health programs, Public health services, Social sciences

Annotation: This book addresses some issues relating to genetics and medicine in the perspectives of the social and behavioral sciences. It provides viewpoints, especially bearing on impact of new genetic disease control methods and research data, as prototype, reporting psychological research conducted in connection with the California Tay-Sachs Disease Prevention Program. In this context, the authors consider how a specified population perceives genetic diseas and its consequences, levels of genetics knowledge, and attitudes toward the diagnosis, treatment, cure, and prevention of genetic illness. Additionally, the authors examine what these people think ought to be done in terms of genetic testing and screening, and what they are prepared to do, by way of specific intervention such as an abortion, in instances when a genetic disorder is diagnosed in utero. Finally, the authors consider the hypothesis of stigma by studying the attitudes and feelings of couples in which one member has been identified as a carrier of Tay-Sachs disease. The book includes two appendices: (1) questionnaire items and (2) follow-up interview items. References, an author index, and a subject index are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-1055-X.

Keywords: Abortion, Behavior sciences, Diagnosis, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Prevention, Research, Social sciences, Tay Sachs disease, Treatment

Annotation: This report is based on three conferences on research and development issues sponsored by the Research and Development Center of the Jewish Board of Guardians and funded under Grant MH 15860 from the National Institute of Mental Health. The report is intended to acquaint the administrator and practitioner in the human services with the nature of the joint effort of the agency and the social scientist to develop program through social science based research. This is not a technical description of research itself but a discussion of the kinds of problems which arise in the planning and conducting of action research, and an effort to identify the reasons such difficulties arise and ways in which they might be avoided. The report describes the value of research for program development, traditional orientations, negotiation and planning for research, kinds of research, initiating and conducting research, and utilization of findings.

Keywords: Collaboration, Conferences, Human services, Jewish Board of Guardians, National Institute of Mental Health, Program development, Reports, Research, Social sciences

Annotation: This website provides information on methods for developing and implementing high-quality behavioral and social science research (BSSR) through interactive learning. Contents include major concepts in BSSR design and planning; methodologies for describing how and why something happens, and for answering questions about efficacy and effectiveness; and emerging challenges in BSSR. Tables, figures, exercises, and examples are provided. A discussion forum is also available.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Communication skills, Interactive media, Research design, Research methodology, Social sciences, Training materials