Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

California Mental Health Services Authority and the National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention. 2014. Social media guidelines for mental health promotion and suicide prevention. Reston, VA: Entertainment Industries Council, TEAM Up, 6 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides tips for organizations and individuals communicating about mental health and suicide on social media to reduce stigma, increase help-seeking behavior, and help prevent suicide. Topics include social media strategy, content considerations on mental health and suicide prevention, language and images, building online engagement, privacy and safety concerns, addressing suicide-related posts by others, and additional resources.

Contact: Entertainment Industries Council, 1856 Old Reston Ave, Suite 215, Reston, VA 20190, Telephone: (703) 481-1414 Secondary Telephone: 800-783-3421 Fax: (703) 481-1418 E-mail: eiconline@eiconline.org Web Site: http://www.eiconline.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Confidentiality, Electronic communications, Media, Mental health, Social interaction, Social responsibility, Suicide prevention

National Consensus Process on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior. 2006. The National Consensus Process on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior: Interim report. [Atlanta, GA]: National Consensus Process on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, 50 pp.

Annotation: This interim report focuses on the National Consensus Process (NCP) on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, a process on sexual health in which leaders of major constituency organizations with interest in sexual health participated. The goal of the NCP is to improve sexual health and responsible sexual behaviors in America. The report includes a letter from the former U.S. Surgeon General; an executive summary; a call to action; background; and a statement of agreement covering the following topics: vision, goal, sexuality, sexual health, individual responsibility, community responsibility, outcomes, and normative differences. Also included is a discussion of NCP areas of agreement and non-agreement and supporting documents; areas for further discussion; participant observations; commentary; and NCP's future. The report includes eight appendices: (1) best practices; (2) research recommendations; (3) HIV, AIDS, STDs, and STIs; (4) education and discussion of sexual health and responsible sexual behavior for youth by parents or caregivers; (5) sexual abstinence; (6) responsible and irresponsible social behavior; (7) sexual orientation; (8) NCP ground rules and meeting dates and locations.

Contact: Morehouse School of Medicine, Center of Excellence for Sexual Health, National Center for Primary Care , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Suite 233, Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-5044 Secondary Telephone: (404) 756-8800 Fax: (404) 756-5709 E-mail: srachel@msm.edu Web Site: http://www.msm.edu/x769.xml Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Caregivers, HIV, Individual responsibility, Parents, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social responsibility

D.C. Children's Trust Fund. 2003. A parent's guide to child abuse and neglect laws in the District of Columbia. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: D.C. Children's Trust Fund, 25 pp.

Annotation: This manual discusses the rules and laws that govern parents' rights and responsibilities and that determine whether it is necessary for government agencies to intervene in households for the protection of the children who reside there. Topics include abuse, failure to protect, improper care and control, mental or physical incapacity of the parent, unwilling caretakers, imminent danger of abuse, medical neglect, abandonment, and substance abuse. Tips for parents on better ways to handle difficult situations are included. The manual is intended to inform parents and other caregivers about the rules that govern the actions of social service providers in the District of Columbia.

Contact: D. C. Children's Trust Fund, 1200 G Street, N. W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 434-8780 Fax: (202) 434-8781 E-mail: info@dcctf.org Web Site: http://www.dcctf.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protection agencies, Children, Consumer education materials, District of Columbia, Families, Legislation, Parent rights, Responsibility, Role, Social services

Lindsay JW. 1995. Teenage couples: Coping with reality—Dealing with money, in-laws, babies and other details of daily life. Buena Park, CA: Morning Glory Press, 190 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information adolescents who are living together need to make their lives easier; it covers day-to-day survival skills in matters such as cooking, cleaning, working, and relating to one another. It also covers topics related to planning, having, and caring for a baby. It is one of two publications developed for adolescent couples, whether married or unmarried. The other publication, "Teenage Couples: Caring, Commitment, and Change," focuses on interpersonal issues such as communication, fostering relationships, handling jealousy, and issues related to substance abuse and partner abuse. A third volume, "Teenage Couples: Expectations and Reality," presents the results of a 1994 survey on adolescent couples which considered the differences in the problems encountered by couples living singly and those living together.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: info@morningglorypress.com Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-87-3, paper; 1-885356-86-5, cloth.

Keywords: Activities of daily living, Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Employment, Family income, Family relations, Individual responsibility, Materials for adolescents, Parenting, Relationships, Social behavior

American Psychological Association, Presidential Task Force on Violence and the Family. 1995. Issues and dilemmas in family violence. [Washington, DC]: American Psychological Association, 19 pp.

Annotation: This paper explores twelve issues relating to family violence; for each topic it provides a context and discusses the implications for mental health professionals. Some of the topics covered are: is treating family violence an intrusion into family privacy, is violence a learned behavior, and is spanking children abusive. Other topics include: how do emotions affect the professionals' approaches to family violence, why don't battered women take their children and leave, are mandatory reporting laws helpful, what does society want police to do in response to family violence, and what legal concerns should professionals have as they work with families?

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Contact Phone: (202) 336-5898 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: mis@apa.org Web Site: http://www.apa.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Battered women, Behavior disorders, Child abuse, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Mental health professionals, Physical abuse, Professional ethics, Sexual abuse, Social problems

Parsley BM. 1992. The choice is yours: A teenager's guide to self-discovery, relationships, values, and spiritual growth. New York, NY: Simon and Schuster, 141 pp.

Annotation: This book about personal growth is written for adolescents. Chapters focus on self-esteem, friendship, dating, self-discipline, relationships with parents, and spirituality. A list of recommended readings is included as an appendix.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Contact Phone: (212) 698-7230 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ $9.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-671-75046-1.

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication, Dating, Emotional development, Mental health, Problem solving, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Social responsibility, Spirituality

Mecca AM, Smelser NJ, Vasconcellos J. 1989. The social importance of self-esteem. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 346 pp.

Annotation: This book is a product of the State of California Task Force to Promote Self-Esteem and Personal and Social Responsibility. It investigates the significance of self-esteem and its impact on social problems such as alcohol and drug use; adolescent pregnancy; poor educational performance; crime; child abuse; and chronic welfare dependency, and offers summaries of research relating self-esteem and these specific social concerns. Guidelines suggesting future directions for research are proposed and some points on policy directions are elaborated.

Contact: University of California Press, 2120 Berkeley Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1012, Telephone: (510) 642-4247 Fax: (510) 643-7127 E-mail: askucp@ucpress.edu Web Site: http://www.ucpress.edu/ Available in libraries. Document Number: 0-520-06709-6.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Self esteem, Social problems, Social responsibility

Andrews LB. 1987. Medical genetics: A legal frontier. Chicago, IL: American Bar Foundation; Springfield, VA: distributed by National Technical Information Service, 284 pp.

Annotation: This book is intended to provide an analysis of laws related to medical genetics for people who work in the medical genetics field and related health care fields, including researchers, clinicians, paraprofessionals, and public health officials. It presents an overview of the laws affecting the following areas: medical genetics and legal responsibility, the social and policy framework, regulations of genetic research in humans, concerns in embryo and fetal research, provision of genetic services, genetic counseling, organ transplantation, confidentiality of genetic information, and mandatory screening, diagnosis, and treatment. Appendices contain the Nuremberg code of ethics in medical research and the National Institutes of Health's points to consider in the design and submission of human somatic-cell gene therapy protocols. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative personnel, Confidentiality, Genetic counseling, Genetics, Legal issues, Legal responsibility, Medical research, Paraprofessional personnel, Public health programs, Reports, Research personnel, Social policy

White House Conference on Children in a Democracy . 1939. Conference on Children in a Democracy: Papers and discussions at the initial session, held in Washington, DC, April 26, 1939. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 149 pp.

Annotation: The addresses and informal discussions from the initial session of the fourth White House Conference are working materials for members of the conference studying the purposes of our democracy with reference to children and youth and the extent to which these purposes find effective expression in our national life. The contents discuss responsibility of a democratic society for the care of children and youth, objectives of a democratic society in relation to children, economic foundations of family life and child welfare, development of children and youth in present American life, and the child and community services.

Contact: Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History, Cornell University, Albert R. Mann Library, 260 Tower Road, Ithaca, NY 14853, Telephone: (607) 255-5406 Fax: (607) 255-0318 E-mail: mann_ref@cornell.edu Web Site: http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Children, Conference, Economic factors, Social responsibility, United States, Youth

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.