Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy briefing paper addresses issues related to promoting children's social and emotional development in Texas. The paper explains why promoting children's social and emotional development is important and discusses current policy in Texas, what research says about best practices for enhancing social and emotional development, and better investment choices for Texas.

Contact: Texans Care for Children, 811 Trinity, Suite A, Austin, TX 78701, Telephone: (512) 473-2274 Fax: (512) 473-2173 E-mail: http://texanscareforchildren.org/EmailUs.asp Web Site: http://www.texanscareforchildren.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Child development, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Family support services, Financing, Intervention, Parenting skills, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School readiness, Screening, Social skills, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This report is intended to give local stakeholders the information and tools necessary to develop and use indicators for social-emotional development. The report includes (1) definitions of key concepts related to establishing indicators; (2) seven recommended indicators for social-emotional development; (3) a framework to determine local priorities and get started with indicator adoption, (4) resources for finding data at the community level for each indicator, and (5) how to interpret and use data collected for each of the suggested indicators. Examples of successful use of these indicators in states and local communities are provided.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Child health, Communities, Community programs, Depression, Emotional development, Mental disorders, Social indicators, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This document presents a statewide strategic plan developed by early childhood stakeholders in Colorado that aims to help young children successfully build social and emotional health, skills and wellness. The document provides information about Smart Start Colorado's Office of Professional Development and discusses the plan development process, the scope of issues and proposed solutions, and goals.

Contact: Smart Start Colorado, Office of Professional Development, 3607 Martin Luther King Boulevard, Denver, CO 80205, Telephone: (303) 355-5205 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.smartstartcolorado.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Professional education, Social problems, Social skills, State initiatives, Strategic plans, Young children

Annotation: This paper reports on a study that examined predictors of persistent childhood overweight and associated academic and socioemotional outcomes. The study used data on 8,000 children followed from kindergarten through third grade as part of the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study-Kindergarten Class. The paper includes a discussion of the data and methods, a summary of findings, and a discussion of the findings' significance.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: CCR-42.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Children, Emotional development, Obesity, Research, Social behavior, Social problems

Annotation: This final report provides information from a 3-year study of Palm Beach, Florida's Comprehensive Services Program -- a program designed to improve the school readiness of children from families with low incomes through the early identification and remediation of developmental delays and physical or social-emotional problems known to impede children's ability to succeed in school. The report, which includes an executive summary, presents interviews with comprehensive services partner organizations and field observations of comprehensive services teams and review of family action plans and discusses a survey of center directors and teachers, characteristics of children served, program activities, and outcomes for children entering kindergarten. A summary and conclusion are included. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes five appendices: (1) 2005-2006 training charts, (2) a center survey, (3) an interview protocol, (4) a family action plan, and (5) center director and teacher demographics.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Families, Final reports, Florida, School readiness, Social problems, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report examines the early experiences of five states that are participating in the ABCD (Assuring Better Child Health and Development) II Consortium, which was formed in January 2004 to provide these states with an opportunity to develop and test strategies for improving the care of young children at risk for or with social and emotional developmental problems, especially those in need of preventive or early intervention services. The report aims to provide helpful information to other states interested in working to ensure young children's healthy mental development. Report sections include the following: (1) key early accomplishments, (2) working with clinicians to integrate the tools into their practices, (3) improving referrals and access to follow-up services, (4) identifying and addressing policy barriers, (5) partnering to achieve project goals, (6) using quality improvement to make progress even in difficult economic times, and (7) summary of lessons learned. The report also includes an executive summary and one appendix: profile of state projects.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Emotional development, Health care services, Mental health, Prevention, Public policy, Referrals, Social problems, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This packet includes four tools on social and emotional development during infancy (birth through 12 months), early childhood (ages 1-4), middle childhood (ages 5-10), and adolescence (ages 11-21). The publications, intended for families and health professionals, provide information about what to expect and when to seek help for each developmental stage. Based on Bright Futures in Practice, the development tools offer a framework for health professionals and families to begin a conversation together about how best to support healthy social and emotional development in infants, children, and adolescents. The tools are part of a coordinated set of print and Web materials, including the Referral Tool for Providers and the electronic Community Services Locator. The tools encourage familes who have concerns about their child to ask questions and offer a number of tips for when, where, and how to seek help through local, state, or national resources. The tools are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Families, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Social problems, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide, which is geared for anyone concerned with the emotional and social welfare of infants and young children, focuses on specific difficulties that might affect an infant's or young child's natural developmental progression and on providing guidance on how to get support when needed. The guide is divided into 15 chapters, organized under four broad themes: the context for family life, specialized assessment and early intervention, understanding and responding to difficult family circumstances, and understanding and responding to young children in traumatic circumstances. Each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, general information and specific points to consider, and the listing of several recommended resources for more information. The guide includes three appendices: Vermont general resources, national organizations and Web sites, and About the Vermont Children's UPstream Services team.

Contact: Vermont Department of Mental Health, 108 Cherry Street-PO Box 70, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 652-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: 802- 652-2005 Web Site: http://mentalhealth.vermont.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Behavior problems, Child health, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Emotional development, Emotional instability, Families, Family support, High risk children, High risk infants, Infant health, Mental health services, Social adjustment, Social services, State programs, Vermont, Young children

Annotation: This paper summarizes results from an evaluation of Project ALERT, a widely used middle-school drug prevention program developed by the RAND Corporation. The paper also summarizes outcomes from related studies showing that adolescents who continue to drink and smoke face increased academic, social, and behavioral problems later in life. The paper includes the following sections: (1) despite some reductions in substance use, adolescents are still at risk, (2) Project ALERT: confronting substance use early, (3) building prevention programs on solid science, (4) early substance use carries risks for later in life, and (5) drug prevention in schools and public health. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol consumption behavior, Behavior problems, Middle schools, Smoking, Social problems, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of relatively common significant health problems in infancy and early childhood, including preterm birth and low birthweight, death, poor nutrition, social and emotional health problems, injuries, and hazards in the environment. Topics also include ensuring good health in pregnancy, a nutritious diet in infancy and early childhood, and access to comprehensive primary and preventive health care. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Child mortality, Child nutrition, Connecticut, Early childhood development, Emotional instability, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infant nutrition, Injuries, Low birthweight, Preterm birth, Social problems, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource guide discusses the use of empirically supported interventions for school mental health programs and provides a guide to specific programs in these areas: treatments for anxiety and depression, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder; oppositional defiant disorder, and conduct disorder; promotion of social and emotional competence; substance use, conduct problems, and other high-risk behaviors; and preventive interventions. The interventions are designed to be used in schools and other settings. Contact information is provided for each intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for School Mental Health, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry, 737 West Lombard Street, Fourth Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-0980 Fax: (410) 706-0984 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://csmh.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Anxiety, Attention deficit disorder, Child behavior, Child health, Depression, Interventions, Mental health programs, Mental health: School health programs, Prevention, Social problems, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This report, prepared for the U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Underage Drinking Laws program, provides information about the range of serious health and social problems and economic costs associated with underage drinking. Topics include the costs of alcohol use by youth, problems such as traffic crashes, interpersonal violence, unintentional drownings and burns, suicides, fetal alcohol syndrome, alcohol poisonings, alcohol dependence, and alcohol abuse treatment. The appendices contain definitions and values, and tables on 1998 state costs for alcohol-attributable youth traffic crashes, violence, and other problems. Endnotes, statistics, costs are also provided.

Contact: Underage Drining Enforcement Training Center, Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation, 11720 Beltsville Drive, Suite 900, Calverton, MD 20705-3102, Telephone: (877) 335-1287 Fax: (301) 755-2799 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.udetc.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol intoxication, Alcohol related injuries, Alcohol use, Costs, Impaired driving, Social problems, Violence, Young adults

Annotation: This book reports on a review of early childhood interventions which aimed to quantify the benefits of these programs to children, their parents, and society at large. The review defined early childhood interventions as attempts by government agencies or other organizations to improve child health and development, educational attainment, and economic well-being. It is restricted to programs targeted to overcome the cognitive, emotional, and resource limitations that may characterize the environments of disadvantaged children during the first several years of life. It describes early intervention programs and their benefits; compares costs, savings, and benefits; and discusses issues relevant to investment decisions.

Contact: National Book Network, 4501 Forbes Blvd , Lanham , MD 20706, Telephone: (301) 459-3366 Fax: (301) 429-5746 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nbnbooks.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-2530-9.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Family support, High risk children, Low income groups, Minority groups, Social problems, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar about peer education for all age groups. The report is divided into sections on the theoretical background of peer education, national and local models, research findings on the advantages and limitations of peer education, and policy recommendations. Appendices include components of promising peer-led sexual health programs and national and local resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: District of Columbia, Intervention, Model programs, Peer education, Policy analysis, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, Social problems

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey of 780 city governments taken to ascertain how involved the city is in providing services to the children and families that live there and to determine what problems were perceived as most pressing. The authors describe the survey methodology, discuss the critical needs of the children and families as determined by the survey, and describe the local governments' efforts to provide services targeted toward those needs. A review of financing strategies, collaboration building, and the current and future role of cities to meet those needs is given.

Contact: National League of Cities, Publications Library, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W., Suite 550, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 626-3000 Fax: (202) 626-3043 E-mail: [email protected] $15.00, nonmembers; $10.00, members; plus $4.00 postage and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-886152-23-3.

Keywords: Children, Data, Families, Local government, Local services, Policy development, Public policy, Social problems, Surveys

Annotation: This book examines the stereotypical image of disadvantaged children which has been built upon the experiences of low-income and minority groups, and it offers an analysis of the social factors and problems which suggests these children are vulnerable rather than disadvantaged. The book goes on to examine conditions that affect success or failure, family relationships, the effect of gangs and cliques, the role of the community in providing alternatives, the special problems of children in ghettos, and reasons past efforts to support these children and their families have not worked. The book enumerates a number of efforts that have proven successful in serving vulnerable children and suggests public policies that could affect future services to them.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 322-1377 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-201-92080-8.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child welfare, Family relations, Family support, High risk groups, Low income groups, Minority groups, Policy development, Social problems

Annotation: This collection of essays focuses on the social problems facing young children and their families, on their care and education, and on effecting change to provide them the access to the services they need to ensure their development and education. One section of the book includes chapters on family values, violence, poverty, maternal substance abuse, and health and education problems due to environmental exposure; another section considers issues of diversity, complexities related to child care, problems encountered in providing natural supportive environments, and efforts to develop collaborative efforts. These essays are accompanied by personal narratives of parents of young children. A third section of the book advocates two models for the 21st century, one for children with special health needs and the other for developing a quality early childhood service delivery system.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-244-4.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Children, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Families, Policy development, Psychosocial development, Social change, Social policy, Social problems, Young children

Annotation: This publication considers the reach and scope of violence, its impact on children and adolescents, and its costs to the community; and it presents strategies to intervene and prevent the effects of violence on youth. It provides a background on the extent of the problem, causes of violence, and the role of community-based partnerships in preventing it. It reviews prevention strategies in general, and it reviews comprehensive approaches that have been developed in San Antonio, Minneapolis, Boston, Savannah, and Little Rock. It also includes resource lists of organizations and publications.

Contact: National Crime Prevention Council, 2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 500, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 466-6272 Fax: (202) 296-1356 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.ncpc.org $11.95 plus 10 percent shipping and handling; New York residents add 7 percent sales tax; DC residents add 6.75 percent sales tax. Document Number: Item M45.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Community based programs, Intervention, Program descriptions, Social problems, Violence, Violence prevention, Young adults

Annotation: This book examines the design and effectiveness of prevention activities in school-based programs for children and adolescents. It considers the basic features of such programs, the need to have primary and secondary programs to prevent behavioral and social problems, substance abuse, the relationship between health prevention activities and academic problems, the role of health education, current trends in the diffusion of knowledge from school-based prevention programs, and the current and future status of such programs.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-5632-0.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavior problems, Child health, Educational factors, Health education, Health promotion, Prevention programs, Risk factors, School based clinics, Social problems, Substance abuse

Annotation: This paper explores twelve issues relating to family violence; for each topic it provides a context and discusses the implications for mental health professionals. Some of the topics covered are: is treating family violence an intrusion into family privacy, is violence a learned behavior, and is spanking children abusive. Other topics include: how do emotions affect the professionals' approaches to family violence, why don't battered women take their children and leave, are mandatory reporting laws helpful, what does society want police to do in response to family violence, and what legal concerns should professionals have as they work with families?

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Contact Phone: (202) 336-5898 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apa.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Battered women, Behavior disorders, Child abuse, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Mental health professionals, Physical abuse, Professional ethics, Sexual abuse, Social problems