Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The Child Opportunity Index (COI) measures and maps the quality of resources and conditions that matter for children to develop in a healthy way in the neighborhoods where they live. It was developed in 2014 in collaboration with the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity at Ohio State University and version 2.0 was released in 2020.

Contact: DiversityDataKids.org, Institute for Child, Youth, and Family Policy, Brandeis Universiy Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Waltham, MA Web Site: http://diversitydatakids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Children, Neighborhoods, Social conditions, Statistics

Annotation: This report results from a series of three roundtables co-hosted by the Center for Open Data Enterprise (CODE) and the Office of the Chief Technology Officer at the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The report includes recommendations from CODE based on input of Roundtable participants and CODE's additional research; the overall recommendation focuses on HHS's development of a Social Determinants of Health (SDOH) strategy focusing on defining and standardizing SDOH data, creating a sustainable SDOH data infrastructure, and supporting local- and state-based decision-makers. The report covers the SDOH data landscape and user ecosystem, addressing SDOH data along the care continuum, and actionable opportunities. The accompanying briefing paper describes why SDOH matter, how SDOH data are collected, the types of SDOH data, how the government promotes and uses SDOH data, and risks and challenges when using SDOH data.

Contact: Center for Open Data Enterprise, 1110 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opendataenterprise.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data collection, Social conditions, Social factors, Social indicators

Annotation: This paper explores trauma at the population level and how it impacts efforts to prevent violence and improve other aspects of community health. The paper also presents a framework for addressing and preventing trauma at the community level. Topics include the community environment, the production of trauma from violence, community strategies to address community violence, elements of a resilient community, and promoting community resilience.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Culturally competent services, Economic factors, Emotional trauma, Geographic factors, Health promotion, Models, Prevention programs, Resilience, Social conditions, Social support, Sociocultural factors, Standards, Trauma, Trauma care, Violence prevention

Annotation: This brief explores state-based efforts to collect and use social determinants of health (SDOH) data including what data health plans and providers are required to collect. Topics include early state efforts to define SDOH and collect information; state efforts to select SDOH measures; using SDOH data at the patient and population level; challenges to collecting, sharing, and using SDOH information; and considerations for advancing SDOH measurement approaches.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Data collection, Data linkage, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Financing, Health behavior, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Reimbursement, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Service delivery systems, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, State programs

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for understanding how disparities in health outcomes are produced and how health equity can be achieved, particularly by addressing the determinants of health. The paper lays out the determinants of health (structural drivers; social-cultural, physical-built, and economic environment; and health care services) that must be improved to achieve health equity and describes the methods and criteria for identifying health equity metrics. Finally, the paper delineates a set of metrics that could reflect progress toward achieving health equity.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Behavior, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health disparities, Measures, Models, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This video examines adaptive leadership as a practical framework for leading consequential change in the midst of significant market and sociopolitical transformation. Topics include how local health officials and their staff are exploring innovative partnerships with other agencies in health care and beyond and identifying new ways of operating within and influencing the economic and social conditions of the health system.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Health care reform, Health systems agencies, Leadership, Local health agencies, Organizational change, Policy development, Political systems, Public private partnerships, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, Systems development, Transitions

Annotation: This book, which focuses on the experiences of Hispanic children in immigrant families, comprises contributions that are based on papers presented at the 16th Annual Penn State Symposium on Family Issues in October 2008. The book is divided into four parts: social context; structure and process and their implications for child and adolescent development; schooling and development; and access to health care and well-being.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org $32.50, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-87766-763-6.

Keywords: Education, Access to health care, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child development, Child health, Children, Families, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Social conditions

Annotation: This brief explores the concepts behind "school readiness" that attempt to endure the healthy development of children who, in turn, can take their place in communities and the workforce and give back to society. Topics include fostering early childhood development and overcoming language barriers. A chart offers discussion tips.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Language barriers, School readiness, Social conditions

Annotation: This book is a biography of Jane Addams (1880-1935) -- a public intellectual who focused on issues of concern to mothers and children, including public health, women's suffrage, child labor, and the importance of play in the lives of children and youth. It describes how Addams' background influenced her social service work; how she founded Hull House -- a social settlement house in Chicago for recent immigrants of European descent -- and how her philosophy and life's work had a lasting impact on American culture. The book includes a list of major accomplishments of Hull House.

Contact: Basic Books, Perseus Books Group, 387 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 340-8164 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/basic/home.jsp $17.82, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-0465-01913-7.

Keywords: Biographies, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Feminism, History, Immigrants, Mothers, Public health services, Social change, Social conditions

Annotation: This book, which is aimed at academics, people with disabilities, and those interested in forming social welfare policies, focuses on issues and debated framing disability studies and places the studies in a historical and cultural context. The book is divided into three sections, each representing an overarching theme: the shaping of disability studies as a field (Part 1), experiencing disability (Part 2), and disability in context (part 3). The parts are divided into chapters, each of which includes an overview, a conclusion, notes, and references. The book also includes an author index, a subject index, and an about the contributors section.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7619-2874-X.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cultural factors, Disabilities, Education, Health personnel, History, Human rights, Public health, Public policy, Research, Social conditions, Social support, Trends

Annotation: The purpose of this issue brief is to review recent federal efforts to both expand their efforts and redefine their role as producers of social indicator data, outline future directions for those efforts, and identify factors that may limit or promote progress. The paper reviews surveys and assessment at the state and local levels, estimates of the child population at the state and local levels, redesigning national surveys to yield state estimates, new flexible survey mechanisms, and outreach and technical assistance efforts.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, Contact Phone: (202) 833-7200 E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Data, Demography, Federal programs, National surveys, Social conditions, State programs

Annotation: This data book presents statistical indicators of children's well-being in the fifty largest cities in the United States. The indicators are: percent of low birth-weight babies, infant mortality rate, percent of births to mothers who received late or no prenatal care, percent of births to females under age 18, percent of high school dropouts, percent of youths aged 16-19 who are unemployed, percent of children under age 15 who lived in households on public assistance, percent of children in poverty, percent of children in single parent families, and percent of children living in distressed neighborhoods. The book is intended for an audience of policy makers, and the general public. Appendices give information of definitions of terms, data sources, and a list of contacts for state Kids Count projects.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/MajorInitiatives/KIDSCOUNT.aspx Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child health, Social conditions, Statistics, Urban population

Annotation: This book addresses the current views and beliefs about adolescent pregnancy that influence social policy and political attitudes. The author presents the historical context of adolescent pregnancy and parenthood, and traces how attitudes about and approaches to dealing with these issues have changed. Quotes from the mothers involved illustrate the discussions of why adolescents get pregnant, how it affects the lives and future prospects of the adolescents and those of their babies, how sex education affects their behavior, and the impact of their socioeconomic status and upbringing on their goals and behavior.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-21702-0 .

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent employment, Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Child welfare, Consent, Demography, Educational attainment, Family income, Marital status, Maternal age, Policy development, Pregnant adolescents, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social conditions, Social policy, Social values, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This report looks at the health status and social status of women and children in developed and developing countries. Several areas of health are examined. These include child mortality under age 5; malnutrition; measles immunization; primary education; birth rates; family size; maternal mortality; and family planning. Data from all countries is provided where available. Countries are ranked against each other by region with the industrialized nations being their own category. Each section contains a narrative summarizing the situation for a certain health problem or social condition. The final section examines industrialized nations as a group. A table shows which countries have signed or ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child and have finalized the National Program of Action for reaching year 2000 goals.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Contact Phone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org Available from the website.

• 2000 Edition

Keywords: Child health, Developed countries, Developing countries, International health, Social conditions, Statistics, Women', s health

Annotation: This book examines the links between the persistent poverty among blacks and the continued, deliberate segregation they are subjected to in the inner cities of the United States. It considers the development of the ghetto and the factors that perpetuate it, reviews the continuing causes of segregation, describes the creation of underclass communities and an underclass society, and summarizes the failure of public policies designed to remedy the situation. Statistical tables provide data such as: indices of segregation, black isolation in inner cities, black and white suburbanization, income levels, discrimination in the housing market, and the effect of segregation on the concentration of poverty, among others. The future of the ghetto is considered and recommendations for dismantling it are also provided.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu $14.95 plus $4.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-01821-4.

Keywords: Blacks, Poverty, Public policy, Racial factors, Social conditions, Social problems, Statistics, Urban population

Annotation: This book tells the story of two young brothers who live in the inner city of Chicago. It follows them over a two-year period as they struggle with school, attempt to resist the lure of the gangs, and mourn the death of friends.

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Families, Illinois, Social conditions, Urban population

Annotation: This book considers the changes in the populations' attitudes towards racial issues in the United States since the 1940s. The book provides a historical background for interpreting racial attitudes, notes problems relating to studying changes in attitudes, and reviews the questions utilized in the survey taken for this book. It then analyzes the trends in the responses from the white and black populations surveyed, and provides theoretical interpretations of the trends for the white respondents. The methodology of the study is reviewed in two appendices.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu $14.00 plus $4.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-74573-6.

Keywords: Blacks, Racial factors, Social conditions, Social problems, Statistics, Surveys, Whites

Annotation: This book probes basic assumptions about children and families, the role of the family as the cradle of citizenship, and the relationship between the family and society. The author provides a diagnosis of the problems of American families and prescribes a national family policy.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Families, Social conditions, United States

Annotation: This report reflects the efforts of the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare to assemble relevant information that would lead to the development of the social statistics and indicators to supplement those previously prepared by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Council of Economic Advisers. It is intended as a preliminary step toward the evolution of a regular system of social reporting for the United States. The topics addressed are health and illness; social mobility; physical environment; income and poverty; public order and safety, learning, science, art; and participation and alienation.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Disease, Health, Poverty, Safety, Social conditions, Statistics, Surveys, United States

Annotation: This book is an overview and analysis of research having to do with child rearing and family life patterns in the United States. While the major focus is on the patterns of the very poor, an allied and comparative focus is on child-rearing and family life patterns that are revealed by studies to be associated with optimal child development and family stability. The two sets of patterns are reviewed, compared, and analyzed under five major headings: mental health, educational achievement, social acceptability, moral character, and family stability. The review and analysis are followed by a discussion of implications for treatment strategies for the very poor and of implications for both basic and applied research.

Keywords: Child care, Child rearing, Families, Low income groups, Poverty, Social conditions