Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Annotation: This white paper presents expert panel recommendations for supporting community-based doula programs to improve maternal and child health in underserved birthing populations. Topics include why community-based doulas matter, history of the work, data, and case studies. Summary recommendations and next steps are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HealthConnect One, 227 W. Monroe Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 243-4772 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthconnectone.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, MCH programs, Research, Social support

Annotation: This report provides state- and district-level data on each of the following eight components of the Coordinated School Health (CSH) model: health education, physical education, health services, mental health and social services, nutrition services, healthy and safe school environment, faculty and staff health promotion, and family and community involvement. Screenings, notifications, and referrals for oral health problems are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Community participation, Data sources, Family school relations, Health education, Health services, Mental health, Nutrition services, Physical education, Policy analysis, Prevalence, Prevention programs, Safety, School age children, School health, School health programs, Schools, Social services, Trends, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This book outlines what a child protection team at a children’s hospital should offer in terms of infrastructure, staffing, functions, and systems to be considered either basic, advanced, or a center of excellence. The book discusses each of these three tiers, explaining how they serve as a framework for hospital self assessment and are not intended as a ranking for competitive evaluation. The first section covers medical leadership, team administration, and social work; the second section covers clinical services, policies, prevention, advocacy, community collaboration, education, and research; and the third section covers funding, reimbursement, and risk management. The benefit to the community is covered in a special section.

Contact: Children's Hospital Association, 600 13th Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 753-5500 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child protective services, Child welfare, Maltreated children, Pediatric hospitals, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Social work

Annotation: This webcast includes three presentations: (1) Maternal and Child Health and Mental Health: Time for Action, (2) Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care, and (3) A Model for a Collaborative Social Work/Public Health Response to Traumatic and Catastrophic Events, Lessons Learned from Katrina. The first discusses mental health among women and children, especially those from low-income communities; the second discusses the Duvall County health department, in Jacksonville, Florida, and its efforts to integrate mental health services into primary care service; and the third discusses h traumatic and catastrophic events and how to collaboratively respond to them. The webcast includes PowerPoint presentations and audio files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Health services, Low income groups, Mental health, Multimedia, Primary care, Public health, Social work, Women', s health

Annotation: This action plan provides a national blueprint to enhance existing systems; expand services for children, adolescents, and adults with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and their families; and coordinate services across systems. The document discusses (1) achieving family and professional partnerships, (2) early and continuous developmental and medical screening for autism, (3) access to all needed ASD health, mental health, education, and social services, (4) organization of community-based services for easy use, (5) youth transition to adult services, work, and independence, and (6) appropriate financing of care. For each of these topic areas, a goal, challenges, and recommendations are presented.

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Adolescent, Adults, Autism, Community based services, Education, Families, Financing, Health care systems, Health services, Mental health, Program coordination, School to work transition, Service coordination, Social services, Transition planning, Youth in transition program

Annotation: This report describes a study of migrant and seasonal farm workers in Chester and Adams counties, Pennsylvania. Topics include how the study population is defined and characteristics of the study counties and Pennsylvania's migrant and seasonal farm workers. The study methodology is detailed and results are discussed including demographic characteristics, food choices and influences on food choices, dietary acculturation, food sufficiency practices, and nutrition education. Focus group and key informant interviews are summarized and discussion of barriers to achieving good nutrition, meeting health care needs, and participation in food assistance programs are highlighted. Additional discussion provides conclusions and policy considerations.

Contact: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 200 North Third Street, Suite 600, Harrisburg, PA 17101, Telephone: (717) 787-9555 Fax: (717) 772-3587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ruralpa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Farm workers, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Migrants, Nutrition, Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Social services

Annotation: This report examines subsidy policies and practices that can shape the experiences of child care providers serving subsidized children and highlighting the variation in those policies across sites. Data was gathered and analyzed from subsidy agency administrators, key child care caseworkers, parents, and providers in 17 sites across 12 states in 1999 as part of the Urban Institute's Assessing the New Federalism case study project. Topics include pay amounts, from whom the payments are received, how timely and reliable the payments are, and other factors that shape interactions with the subsidy system. Appendices include the study methodology, provider focus group participants, and a study of payments in three scenarios. Notes and references conclude the report.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child care workers, Financial support, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Social policy, Working parents

Annotation: This manual is one in a series of manuals that provide guidance on child protection for multidisciplinary professionals and community members. This manual examines the roles that teachers, school counselors, school social workers, school nurses, special education professionals, administrators, and other school personnel have in helping maltreated children. Topics include (1) identifying reasons why educators are concerned about child abuse and neglect; (2) recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; (3) what schools can offer to provide support after the report; and (4) programs and individual actions to prevent child abuse and neglect. The manual includes six appendices that contain a glossary, resource lists, an educators' checklist for recognizing possible child maltreatment, a sample list of contacts for reporting suspected cases of child abuse and neglect, and a sample report of suspected child abuse and neglect.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Communities, Counselors, Health care, Intervention, Mental health, Role, School nurses, School personnel, Social workers, Special education, Teachers

Annotation: This set of training modules focuses on ethnicity and maternal and child health care, defined broadly as services for infants, children, adolescents and their families. Each of the first three modules focuses on a developmental stage, specifically, infancy (healthy birth outcomes), childhood (genetic diseases), and adolescence (AIDS prevention) and how ethnicity pertains to the health problems discussed. The second group of modules focuses on preparing social work students for practice in a changing world (outcomes measurement and ethics). The modules are intended for use within existing course structures and content offered by social work education programs. The modules contain a list of objectives, suggested readings and assignments, organizational resources, handouts, an ethnographic interview, a glossary of terms, and an evaluation form for instructors to use in evaluating the module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, MCH training, Maternal health, Social work, Training materials

Annotation: This paper outlines what is known about providing consistent and comprehensive support to vulnerable youth through education, foster care, social services, juvenile justice, welfare, and workforce preparation as they transition to adult life. Topics include describing the vulnerable youth population, racial and socio-economic factors, the importance of the role of education, aligning systems to ensure education and career development, innovations at the policy level, changing perceptions, and building public will. Section topics include the following: (1) vulnerable futures, (2) the imperatives: development, transition, transformation, (3) promising strategies, and (4) recommendations for the work ahead. References conclude the paper.

Contact: Forum for Youth Investment, 7064 Eastern Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20012, Telephone: (202) 207-3333 Fax: (202) 207-3329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.forumfyi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Foster care, Foster children, High risk adolescents, Incarcerated youth, Out of school youth, Political processes, School to work transition, Social work, Transitions, Vulnerability, Workplace, Youth in transition programs, Youth services

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Contact Phone: (808) 536-7702 Ext. 2224 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: This conference aimed to provide continuing education to social workers and social work students. It focused on perspectives into MCH social work practice. The main topics were preventing violence in the community, innovative approaches to the changes in financing and delivery of care, becoming a supervisor, family preservation, and psychosocial challenges in serving women and children infected with HIV. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ094.

• Link

Keywords: Child welfare, Family preservation, HIV infected patients, Health care reform, MCH programs, Management, Public health, Social services, Social work, Social workers, Violence prevention

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: [email protected] Out of print.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Annotation: The fourth volume of the Cultural Competence Series deals with the substance abuse content in social work training, with an emphasis on prevention and preventive services. Intended for the preparation of social workers, as well as for the continuing education of practitioners, this volume expands exposure to substance abuse prevention categories and addresses the issue of cultural diversity and cultural competency. This book is divided into six parts, each one dealing with the substance abuse problem and prevention strategies in a specific community: American Indians, Hispanics/Latinos, African Americans, Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and gay and lesbian persons.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Community health services, Culturally competent services, Drugs, Prevention programs, Social work

Annotation: This document presents selected papers from the annual Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute, on the following topics: community organizing, student service centers in Arkansas, program planning for a school-based violence prevention program, school-based health centers, prenatal parent education and early child health services, and building hospital-school-community partnership. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, School health services, Social work

Annotation: These proceedings contain the texts of presentations made at the 1993 Annual Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute held in Pittsburgh on April 25-28, 1993. The Institute focused on the challenge social workers face within the changing public health environment in the 1990s and how they can participate in the reform of the public health agencies whether at the local, state, or national level. The volume contains the key note address which emphasized the role of prevention, assurance, and advocacy within social work; summaries of two skill building workshops on community health assessment and cultural diversity; and two summary papers that focused on continuing education opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH053.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Leadership, National health care reform, Professional education, Public health services, Social work, Social workers, State health care reform

Annotation: These proceedings include papers based on presentations at the 1990 Public Health Social Work Institute which focused on family health. The papers address social and health issues that affect family health in the 1990s and examine the role of social workers in identifying, preventing and alleviating them. The proceedings include 18 papers by different authors that are grouped in the following broad categories: primary care and MCH programs, perinatal health and dependency, child health, adolescent health, and family health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH062.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Family health, Family life, Family relations, Maternal health, Public health programs, Public health services, Social workers

Annotation: These proceedings present papers submitted to the 1989 Public Health Social Work Institute, a continuing education program for social workers in maternal and child health services. Within the framework of the 1989 institute's theme, Children at Risk, participants and speakers discussed issues such as prevention, policy legislation and advocacy, use of data in needs assessment, program models, and ethical decisionmaking. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF019.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Drug affected infants, Injury prevention, Professional ethics, Public health programs, Public health services, Social workers