Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (68 total).

Mandel CR, Hutchins VL. n.d.. Maternal and Child Health Block Grant legislative history, Vol. 1: 1981. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 250 pp.

Annotation: This notebook binder contains an assemblage of documents from 1981 on the consolidation of seven federal categorical programs into one maternal and child health services block grant. The documents include (1) a summary; (2) Public Law 97-35, Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Act; (3) an interpretation regarding the termination of certain grants; (4) final rules on the implementation of block grants; (5) House bill 3982; (6) Senate bill 79-492; (7) Senate report 1377; (8) conference report; (9-10) comparison of the House and Senate bills by the Association of State and Territorial MCH and Crippled Children Directors and by the American Academy of Pediatrics; (11) an additional conference report; (12) an excerpt from the Congressional Record; and (13) a work group memo regarding definitions to accompany the MCHS block grant act.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V

Hess,C. n.d.. State MCH Director Program Development: Legal Assistance Project [Final report]. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs , 42 pp.

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. 2020. MCH history: Title V @ 85--Beyond legislation, bold leaders, and bright legacies. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, multiple items.

Annotation: This web resource presents a collection of documents and other resources about the history of state programs that address Title V of the Social Security Act. It provides information on the legal framework and decade-by-decade milestones showing the federal response in supporting mothers, children, families, and communities; federal MCH leaders and their signature projects; and insights and resources then and now as seen through the lens of current population/conceptual domains that highlight the diversity and history of MCH initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

Wirth B, Van Landeghem K. 2017. Strengthening the Title V-Medicaid partnership: Strategies to support the development of robust interagency agreements between Title V and Medicaid. Portland, OR: National Academy for State Health Policy, 19 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines several strategies for Title V programs to consider when approaching the review of their interagency agreements with their state Medicaid programs. Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), this technical assistance document offers guidance on how Title V programs may strengthen the collaboration and coordination across these two state entities and create robust interagency agreements.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Partnerships, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State agencies

Richards J. 2015. State MCH-Medicaid coordination toolkit: Title V and Title XIX interagency agreements (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit supplements the publication State MCH-Medicaid Coordination: A Review of Title V and Title XIX Interagency Agreements (2nd ed.). It provides the pdf and Web versions of the publication, full-text versions of state interagency agreements (IAAs), a searchable database of key components of state IAAs, and links to additional resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Title V, Social Security Act, Title XIX, State MCH programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of State and Community Health. 2014-. Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant to States Program: Guidance and forms for the Title V application/annual report. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of State and Community Health, every 3 years.

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Health Law Program. 2013. Health reform and insurance coverage for pregnant women. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Health Law Program,

Annotation: This webcast provides information about public and private health insurance options for pregnant women under the Affordable Care Act and before the Affordable Care Act goes into effect. Medicaid, health insurance marketplaces, and Title V programs are discussed. Advocates in Maryland and Georgia describe efforts in these two states related to coverage options for pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Eligibility, Enrollment, Georgia, Health insurance, Health reform, Legislation, Maryland, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Uninsured persons

Tonniges T, Maddox L. 2012. Boys Town Transition Clinic for Youth in Foster Care: Final report and abstract. Boys Town, NE: Father Flanagan's Boys' Home, 28 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Boys Town Transition Clinic for Youth in Foster Care during the period March 1, 2007, through July 31, 2012. The clinic was developed to prepare adolescents for accessing health care and leading healthy lives following out-of-home placement. Topics include the purpose of the project and relationship to Title V maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, outcomes, publications and products, and dissemination and utilization of results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Final reports, Foster children, Grants, Programs, Social Security Act, Title V, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health. 2011. Maternal and Child Health Services Title V Block Grant: State narrative for West Virginia—Application for 2012, annual report for 2010. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, 158 pp.

Annotation: This report consists of West Virginia's Maternal and Child Health Services Title V block grant application for 2012 and annual report for 2010. The report includes a presentation of general requirements; a state overview; a discussion of priorities, performance, and program activities; a budget narrative; reporting forms; and performance and outcome measure detail sheets.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

Keywords: Annual reports, Applications, Block grants, Child health, Families, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Title V programs, West Virginia, Women', s health

Family Voices. [2010]. Title V 5-year needs assessment. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the requirement for each state to perform a needs assessment for preventive and primary care services for pregnant women, mothers, infants, children, and services for children with special health care needs. Topics also include what families can contribute to the assessment, background, content and process, analysis and findings, how states use the findings, and how families can learn about and use findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Children, Children with special health care needs, Families, Federal MCH programs, Health care services delivery, Infants, Needs assessment, Parent professional relations, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State surveys

Illinois Department of Human Services, University of Illinois at Chicago Division of Specialized Care for Children. [2010]. Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant FFY'11 needs assessment. [Springfield, IL]: Illinois Department of Human Services, 164 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Illinois state needs assessment for inclusion into the 2011 Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application. It frames priorities and performance measures from a health systems perspective in seeking to improve the health of women, children, and families in the state. Report sections include a description of the process for conducting the needs assessment, strengths and needs of the MCH population groups and desired outcomes, MCH program capacity, and Illinois MCH priorities. A summary is provided as well as extensive appendices detailing workgroup and expert panel membership, meeting agenda and notes, a community forum guide and report, MCH databook and summary document, analyses and performance measure scoring.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Illinois, Needs assessment, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State surveys

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2010. Celebrating the legacy, shaping the future: 75 years of state and federal partnership to improve maternal and child health. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 40 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the Title V maternal and child health (MCH) block grant, which is part of Title V of the Social Security Act. The booklet provides an overview of the block grant (including discussion of what state and territorial program do, what works in improving MCH, and family participation in state and territorial MCH programs); looks back at the history of the block grant; presents an MCH leadership timeline; and discusses challenges, opportunities, and shaping the future. [Funded i part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Anniversaries, Block grants, Child health, Families, History, Leadership, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, Women', s health

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2010. Title V Social Security Act: Honoring our past, celebrating our future—75 celebrate. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 DVD.

Annotation: This video recording was produced to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services block grant. It includes an introduction to Title V of the Social Security Act by Peter Van Dyck, Associate Administration of Maternal & Child Health, U.S. Department of Health, together with vignettes from providers and recipients of Title V programs such as Family Voices, Baltimore Healthy Start, and Bright Beginnings.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: MCH programs, Anniversaries, Block grants, Federal initiatives, History, MCH services, Social Security Act, Title V

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2010. Title V Social Security Act: Honoring our past, celebrating our future—75 celebrate. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 10 items.

Annotation: This packet of materials was prepared for the Maternal and Child Health Federal/State Partnership Meeting,October 20, 2010. It contains these documents: (1) Locating the Future in the Past: A History of Maternal and Child Health Programs in the U.S. by Jeffrey Brosco; (2) Rethinking MCH: The Life Course Model as an Organizing Framework--Concept Paper by MCHB;(3) Caring for Infants Then and Now: 1935 to the Present, by Kimberly Deavers and Laura Kavanagh; (4) Maternal Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Substantial Racial/Ethnic, Socioeconomic and Geographic Disparities Persist, by Gopal Singh; (5) Infant Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Over Seven Decades of Progress and Disparities, by Gopal Singh and Peter van Dyck; (6) Child Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Large Racial and Socioeconomic Disparities Have Persisted Over Time, by Gopal Singh; (7) Youth Mortalaity in the United States, 1935-2007: Large and Persistent Disparities in Injury and Violent Deaths, by Gopal Singh; (8) Childhood Obesity in the United States, 1976-2008: Trends and Current Racial/Ethnic, Socioeconomic and Georgraphic Disparities, by Gopal Kingh and Michael Kogan; (9) Newborn Screening Services: Then and Now, by Michele Lloyd-Puryear and Bradford Therrell Jr.; and (10) 75 Celebrate, by MCHB.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: MCH programs, Maternal mortality, Adolescent mortality, Anniversaries, Block grants, Child mortality, Children, Conference proceedings, History, Infant mortality, Infants, Life course, MCH services, Neonatal screening, Obesity, Social Security Act, Title V, Women

US Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2009. Title V MCH federal/state partnership meeting: Make Change Happen—Investing in Healthy Families Across the Lifespan [participant's notebook]. [Rockville, MD]: US Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 v.

Annotation: This participant's notebook contains information from the Title V MCH federal/state partnership meeting: Make Change Happen—Investing in Healthy Families Across the Lifespan, which took place on October 25-27, 2009, in Washington, DC. Contents include the agenda; goals and objectives; a participant list, partnership committee list, and speaker list; session information; select maternal and child health publications; and information about resource centers. Sessions covered transition from pediatric to adult primary care for youth with special health care needs; depression in parents, parenting, and children; integrating health equity, social determinants, and the life course perspective; resilience of women living with health conditions, health reform and its impact on MCH programs and populations; care coordination and the medical home; MCH obesity; improving birth outcomes; and child and adolescent injury and death.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Conference proceedings, Costs, Depression, Families, Financing, Medical home, Obesity, Parenting skills, Prevention, Primary care, Primary care, Programs, Safety, Service coordination, Social Security Act, Title V, Social factors, Treatment, Unintentional injuries, Women', s health

[Thomas A]. 2009. Eastablishing public-private partnerships for maternal and child health. Washington, DC: Grantmakers in Health, 2 pp. (Issue focus)

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Services Block Grant, established under Title V of the Social Security Act, and about the importance and relevance of the block grant to private funders. The report recaps a dialogue between Grantmakers in Health and Rosalyn Bacon, senior director of the Office of Birth Outcomes in the Georgia Department of Human Resources and Terri Wright, program director for health at the W. K. Kellogg Foundation. The report presents these two individuals' perspectives on the connections that Title V creates between services and systems, opportunities for foundations, Title V's flexibility and its limitations, how philanthropic involvement strengthens Title V, and emerging MCH priorities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Children with special health care needs, Families, Financing, Health care systems, Health services, Low income groups, Public health, Public private partnerships, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2008. State MCH-Medicaid coordination: A review of Title V and Title XIX interagency agreements (2nd ed.). [Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration], 202 pp.

Annotation: This publication serves as a tool to provide technical assistance to State Title V and Medicaid agencies in achieving successful and required coordination between their programs. The document begins with a review of the Federal legislation regarding Title V/Title XIX interagency agreements (IAAs) and a summary of how states have incorporated this legislation and other components into their IAAs. It continues by presenting recommended components and methodologies in developing new IAAs and a model IAA as a template for states. Finally it highlights promising practices being carried out by states that have developed successful partnerships through their IAAs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Title V, Social Security Act, Title XIX, State MCH programs

van Dyck, PC. 2007. MCHB history, vision, mission, strategic plan, and MCHB partnership of investment. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau,

Annotation: This presentation was given at the new leaders meeting of the 2007 MCHB federal/state partnership meeting held Octover 14-17 in Alexandria, VA. It presents an overview of Title V philosophy, legislation, operations, and history. A 50-minute video, slides, and a text-only transcript are available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

Margolis LH, Mayer M, Farel A, Clark KA. [2006]. Measuring the performances of state CSHCN systems: [Final report]. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study analyzing the relationship between measures of state capacity and the well-being of children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Report contents include an introduction to the research; a review of the literature; a description of the study design and methods; an outline, discussion and interpretation of the findings; selected references; and a list of products developed during the study. Three statistical charts provide data on the distribution of state Title V CSHCN capacity measures, a summary of the models of the relationship between state capacities and Title V capacity, and adjusted odds ratios for the association between state capacity measures and children's use of services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Final reports, Health care utilization, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Statistical data

Ruderman M, Grason H. 2004. Early childhood system building tool. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center; Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families, and Communities, National Center for Infancy and Early Childhood Health Policy, 42 pp. (Building state early childhood comprehensive systems; no. 3)

Annotation: This tool provides a framework for the roles and contributions of public maternal and child health programs in local and state early childhood systems, as well as a template for describing the contributions of other system partners. The tool is framed around the five content areas identified by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau as central to state early childhood comprehensive systems (SECCS): medical home, mental health, early childhood care and education, family support, and parenting education. The tool is also structured along a natural continuum from child and family through community and state. The tool is divided into the following sections: (1) shared goals with examples of related outcome measures and (2) system partnerships, (3) generic strategies, (4) examples of Title V and public health activities. The tool includes a reference list and a list of resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Early childhood development, Families, Family support, Health care systems, Medical home, Mental health, Parenting skills, Service delivery systems, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Young children
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.