Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents the results of a 1989 survey of state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs and children with special health needs (CSHN) programs with respect to their roles in serving adolescents. The publication brings together the results of adolescent health initiatives from both MCH and CSHN perspectives in order to examine how these programs might be better coordinated and strengthened. The survey revealed that most Title V-supported programs routinely bill Medicaid (and, to a lesser extent, private insurance) for some services. Limited revenues are received from insurance due to inadequate billing capacity, the type of services offered by Title V programs, and low reimbursement from Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child health, Insurance, Maternal health, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Special health care needs, Title V

Annotation: This notebook binder contains an assemblage of documents from 1981 on the consolidation of seven federal categorical programs into one maternal and child health services block grant. The documents include (1) a summary; (2) Public Law 97-35, Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Act; (3) an interpretation regarding the termination of certain grants; (4) final rules on the implementation of block grants; (5) House bill 3982; (6) Senate bill 79-492; (7) Senate report 1377; (8) conference report; (9-10) comparison of the House and Senate bills by the Association of State and Territorial MCH and Crippled Children Directors and by the American Academy of Pediatrics; (11) an additional conference report; (12) an excerpt from the Congressional Record; and (13) a work group memo regarding definitions to accompany the MCHS block grant act.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: This web resource presents a collection of documents and other resources about the history of state programs that address Title V of the Social Security Act. It provides information on the legal framework and decade-by-decade milestones showing the federal response in supporting mothers, children, families, and communities; federal MCH leaders and their signature projects; and insights and resources then and now as seen through the lens of current population/conceptual domains that highlight the diversity and history of MCH initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

Annotation: This document outlines several strategies for Title V programs to consider when approaching the review of their interagency agreements with their state Medicaid programs. Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), this technical assistance document offers guidance on how Title V programs may strengthen the collaboration and coordination across these two state entities and create robust interagency agreements.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Partnerships, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: These applications/annual reports provide data on financial, program, and performance measures for state maternal and child health (MCH) programs. The reports also include a description of the status and activities of each program within the context of its data. Topics include the five-year needs assessment, state-selected priorities, linkage of state priorities to national and state performance and outcome measures, and five-year action plan. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• State Application/annual Report
• State Priorities

Keywords: Applications, Community action, Financing, Goals, Measures, Needs assessment, Program descriptions, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Social Security Act, State MCH programs, Statistical data, Title V

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to expand existing research about Social Security's indirect role in lifting children out of poverty by examining the effect on those living in extended households. It documents how the multi-generational impact of Social Security has grown and how it has provided an important and increasing income source across different racial and ethnic groups. Policy implications are included.

Contact: Center for Global Policy Solutions, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5111 Fax: (202) 265-5118 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://globalpolicysolutions.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Family income, Federal programs, Intergenerational programs, Policy development. , Poverty, Racial factors, Social Security, Trends

Annotation: This toolkit supplements the publication State MCH-Medicaid Coordination: A Review of Title V and Title XIX Interagency Agreements (2nd ed.). It provides the pdf and Web versions of the publication, full-text versions of state interagency agreements (IAAs), a searchable database of key components of state IAAs, and links to additional resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Title V, Social Security Act, Title XIX, State MCH programs

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of State and Community Health, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2204 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/programs/titlevgrants Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: Annual reports, Applications, Block grants, Guidelines, Health status, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents the Social Security Administration's (SSA's) strategic plan for several fiscal years. The report includes a message from the commissioner, the SSA's mission and values, the SSA's programs and responsibilities, agency organizations, and strategic goals and objectives.

Contact: U.S. Social Security Administration, 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 Secondary Telephone: (800) 325-0778 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov Available from the website.

• Recent Plans
• 2008-2013 Plan

Keywords: Federal agencies, Federal programs, Social Security Administration, Social security, Strategic plans

Annotation: This webcast provides information about public and private health insurance options for pregnant women under the Affordable Care Act and before the Affordable Care Act goes into effect. Medicaid, health insurance marketplaces, and Title V programs are discussed. Advocates in Maryland and Georgia describe efforts in these two states related to coverage options for pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Eligibility, Enrollment, Georgia, Health insurance, Health reform, Legislation, Maryland, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This booklet provides basic information about maternal and child health (MCH) services funded under Title V of the Social Security Act. The booklet, which is written in large print, presents brief facts about the program's background and history, the federal-state partnership, appropriations, requirements, MCH populations, family-centered care and family involvement, performance and outcome measures, the Title V Block Grant process, and the Title V Information System. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Booklet

Keywords: Block grants, Families, Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Boys Town Transition Clinic for Youth in Foster Care during the period March 1, 2007, through July 31, 2012. The clinic was developed to prepare adolescents for accessing health care and leading healthy lives following out-of-home placement. Topics include the purpose of the project and relationship to Title V maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, outcomes, publications and products, and dissemination and utilization of results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Final reports, Foster children, Grants, Programs, Social Security Act, Title V, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This report consists of West Virginia's Maternal and Child Health Services Title V block grant application for 2012 and annual report for 2010. The report includes a presentation of general requirements; a state overview; a discussion of priorities, performance, and program activities; a budget narrative; reporting forms; and performance and outcome measure detail sheets.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Annual reports, Applications, Block grants, Child health, Families, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Title V programs, West Virginia, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the requirement for each state to perform a needs assessment for preventive and primary care services for pregnant women, mothers, infants, children, and services for children with special health care needs. Topics also include what families can contribute to the assessment, background, content and process, analysis and findings, how states use the findings, and how families can learn about and use findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Block grants, Children, Children with special health care needs, Families, Federal MCH programs, Health care services delivery, Infants, Needs assessment, Parent professional relations, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State surveys

Annotation: This report describes the Illinois state needs assessment for inclusion into the 2011 Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application. It frames priorities and performance measures from a health systems perspective in seeking to improve the health of women, children, and families in the state. Report sections include a description of the process for conducting the needs assessment, strengths and needs of the MCH population groups and desired outcomes, MCH program capacity, and Illinois MCH priorities. A summary is provided as well as extensive appendices detailing workgroup and expert panel membership, meeting agenda and notes, a community forum guide and report, MCH databook and summary document, analyses and performance measure scoring.

Contact: Illinois Department of Human Services, 100 S. Grand Avenue, E., Springfield, IL 62762, Telephone: (800) 843-6154 Secondary Telephone: (800) 804-3833 Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.il.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Illinois, Needs assessment, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, State surveys

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on how social security benefits children. It describes the survivor's benefit; disability benefits for children; and benefits for retired caregivers with dependent children. It also explains why policy makers should work to reinstate the social security child benefits for college students that were eliminated in 1983. A table displays the types of social security benefits for children, including eligibility requirements and average monthly benefits.

Contact: Generations United, 1331 H Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-3979 Fax: (202) 289-3952 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gu.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Social Security Act, Supplemental security income

Annotation: This booklet discusses the Title V maternal and child health (MCH) block grant, which is part of Title V of the Social Security Act. The booklet provides an overview of the block grant (including discussion of what state and territorial program do, what works in improving MCH, and family participation in state and territorial MCH programs); looks back at the history of the block grant; presents an MCH leadership timeline; and discusses challenges, opportunities, and shaping the future. [Funded i part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anniversaries, Block grants, Child health, Families, History, Leadership, MCH programs, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This video recording was produced to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services block grant. It includes an introduction to Title V of the Social Security Act by Peter Van Dyck, Associate Administration of Maternal & Child Health, U.S. Department of Health, together with vignettes from providers and recipients of Title V programs such as Family Voices, Baltimore Healthy Start, and Bright Beginnings.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: MCH programs, Anniversaries, Block grants, Federal initiatives, History, MCH services, Social Security Act, Title V

Annotation: This packet of materials was prepared for the Maternal and Child Health Federal/State Partnership Meeting,October 20, 2010. It contains these documents: (1) Locating the Future in the Past: A History of Maternal and Child Health Programs in the U.S. by Jeffrey Brosco; (2) Rethinking MCH: The Life Course Model as an Organizing Framework--Concept Paper by MCHB;(3) Caring for Infants Then and Now: 1935 to the Present, by Kimberly Deavers and Laura Kavanagh; (4) Maternal Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Substantial Racial/Ethnic, Socioeconomic and Geographic Disparities Persist, by Gopal Singh; (5) Infant Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Over Seven Decades of Progress and Disparities, by Gopal Singh and Peter van Dyck; (6) Child Mortality in the United States, 1935-2007: Large Racial and Socioeconomic Disparities Have Persisted Over Time, by Gopal Singh; (7) Youth Mortalaity in the United States, 1935-2007: Large and Persistent Disparities in Injury and Violent Deaths, by Gopal Singh; (8) Childhood Obesity in the United States, 1976-2008: Trends and Current Racial/Ethnic, Socioeconomic and Georgraphic Disparities, by Gopal Kingh and Michael Kogan; (9) Newborn Screening Services: Then and Now, by Michele Lloyd-Puryear and Bradford Therrell Jr.; and (10) 75 Celebrate, by MCHB.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: MCH programs, Maternal mortality, Adolescent mortality, Anniversaries, Block grants, Child mortality, Children, Conference proceedings, History, Infant mortality, Infants, Life course, MCH services, Neonatal screening, Obesity, Social Security Act, Title V, Women