Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website describes INDEPTH (Intervention for Nicotine Dependence: Education, Prevention, Tobacco and Health), an alternative to student suspension or citation that helps schools and communities address the teenage vaping/tobacco use problem in a supportive way. Rather than focus solely on punitive measures, the INDEPTH interactive program teaches students about nicotine dependence and helps them establish healthy alternatives to tobacco use. The site explains how the program works, provides evidence of it's effectiveness, and describes how to start an INDEPTH program.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link
• Pilot Evaluation Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, School linked programs , Smoking Cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: This opinion provided recommendations to help pregnant women eliminate or reduce the use of tobacco and nicotine products that can be harmful to their unborn child. It describes the various methods of nicotine intake and discusses effective screening methods and evidence-based interventions that obstetricians-gynecologists can apply in their practice.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Nicotine, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco

Annotation: This publication provides sample language and ideas for evidence-based solutions and information on alternative measures that may be more effective than suspension and expulsion at addressing student tobacco use and nicotine addiction as part of a school’s Commercial Tobacco-Free Policy. It explains why nicotine is particularly harmful to adolescents; describes the predatory practices of the tobacco industry, and points to effective solutions to school policy violations focus on helping youth succeed. Tobacco use disparities and implicit bias in the administration of penalties are also addressed.

Contact: Public Health Law Center, Mitchell Hamline School of Law , University of Minnesota , 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Fax: (651) 290-7515 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, School based programs, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to assist oral health professionals in Georgia with helping their patients, especially pregnant women, quit smoking. It provides information about why smoking during pregnancy is harmful and how oral health professionals can contribute to helping women quit. The toolkit provides information about the 5As protocol (ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange) for helping patients quit smoking and offers detailed guidelines for how to implement the protocol with patients in a short timeframe. A table explaining how to use diagnostic codes to apply for reimbursement for tobacco-cessation counseling is included.

Contact: Georgia Tobacco Use Prevention Program, Georgia Department of Public Health, 2 Peachtree Street, NW, 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Georgia, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This video describes a statewide program to reduce smoking rates in Minnesota by making it easier for health professionals to refer their clients to tobacco-cessation counseling. Topics include why it is important for oral health professionals to address tobacco use with their clients.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Minnesota, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes a pilot project to reduce tobacco use and improve oral health by training oral health professionals on recommended guidelines for tobacco dependence treatment. Contents include information about the participating dental clinics, reimbursements for clients receiving tobacco dependence interventions, administrative support activities, project outcomes, and next steps. Training pretest, mid, and posttest surveys results; and final report numbers and comments are included.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Forms, Intervention, Michigan, Oral health, Pilot projects, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use, Training

Annotation: This toolkit provides information on how oral health professionals can develop a tobacco-cessation-intervention program and outlines key roles for each member of the oral health team. Contents include information about tobacco use and prevalence, risks of tobacco use, secondhand smoke, benefits of cessation, nicotine and the physiology of dependence, tobacco-cessation counseling, pharmacotherapy, insurance coverage and coding, the role of dentists and the dental team, barriers and solutions, and resources.

Contact: Indiana Dental Association, 1319 East Stop 10 Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Telephone: (317) 634-2610 Secondary Telephone: (800) 562-5646 Fax: (317) 634-2612 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indental.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Counseling, Dental care, Drug dependence, Health insurance, Indiana, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Program development, Reimbursement, Role, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist health professionals in help pregnant women quit smoking. Program components include a guide that outlines a self-evaluation process to help build women's smoking cessation success over a seven-day period, a DVD that provides testimonials from pregnant smokers and demonstrates behavioral skills to quit smoking, comprehensive counseling to help pregnant smokers quit or significantly reduce smoking during pregnancy, and counseling and encouragement to establish a non-smoking home. The website also provides information about a one-day workshop designed to train health professionals to promote, implement, and evaluate SCRIPT® as part of routine prenatal care.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Professional Development

Keywords: Health education, Model programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Training

Annotation: This chart describes Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions and implementation activities that aim to reduce asthma triggers in home and community environments, including a grant program to help state improve early childhood home visitation services for families in at-risk communities; development of a uniform national prevention, health promotion, public health, and integrative health care strategy; an educational outreach campaign to raise public awareness about and encourage use of prevention services; and Medicaid covering of smoking-cessation services for pregnant women without cost-sharing. The chart describes potential areas for asthma stakeholder engagement; policy research and development; and advocacy at the national, state, and local levels.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Asthma, Child health, Cost sharing, Families, Grants, Health care, Health promotion, High risk groups, Home visiting, Initiatives, Legislation, Medicaid, Outreach, Pregnant women, Prevention, Programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Public policy, Research, Smoking cessation, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on ways that health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people can be improved. The report introduces the issue and discusses how the Affordable Care Act may help improve access to health care for LGBT people, supporting cultural competence initiatives and policy, and reducing tobacco use (which is more common among LGBT people than among non-LGBT people).

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cigarette smoking, Cultural competence, Health care reform, Homosexuality, Initiatives, Legislation, Sexuality, Smoking cessation programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit for dental office staff focuses on integrating the U.S. Public Health Service recommended clinical practice guideline for treating tobacco use and dependence into standard office procedures. Contents include resources for implementing a brief intervention to help individuals who use tobacco quit. Topics include perceived barriers to tobacco treatment; tobacco dependence treatment roles for dental hygienists, dental assistants, and receptionists; medication resource materials for clinicians; consumer-education materials; and clinician reference materials.

Contact: University of Wisconsin, Center for Tobacco Research & Intervention, 1930 Monroe, Suite 200, Madison, WI 53711, Telephone: (608) 262-8673 Fax: (608) 265-3102 Web Site: http://www.ctri.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug addiction, Guidelines, Intervention, Model programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report outlines best and promising practices for tobacco use prevention and control for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community using the World Health Organization’s best practices model, MPOWER (Monitor, Protect, Offer, Warn, Enforce, and Raise), which outlines the key steps for effective tobacco control programs and additional letters -- E for Evaluate (and disseminate) and D for Diversify -- to address all of the key challenges that LGBT and overlapping disparity populations face. The target audience for the report includes policy makers, grant makers, grant applicants, and tobacco control program administrations.

Contact: Network for LGBT Health Equity, The Fenway Institute, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 927-6451 E-mail: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com/contact/ Web Site: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention, Program improvement, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource is designed to help individuals quit smoking and stay quit. Components include text messages, e-mails, and access to a personal web portal. The mobile text messaging service provides personalized tips delivered to a phone; motivation, encouragement, and support; and interactive text games and trackers.

• Link

Keywords: Mobile applications, Self help programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This document comprises an educational program that provides the background and tools necessary for clinicians to implement an effective behavioral intervention to help their patient quit smoking. Topics covered include continuing medical education (CME) information; an introduction to the program, evidence-based guidelines, a quick-reference guide, steps to implementation, and postpartum relapse. CME credits are available for those who complete the program.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Self-instructional Guide And Tool Kit
• Flip Book Format

Keywords: Behavior, Educational programs, Infant health, Intervention, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This webinar, which was sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics and held on July 27, 2011, provides information on best practices in adolescent tobacco-use prevention and cessation in clinical and community settings. In addition, presenters provide background about the issue, identify emerging products, and discuss how they affect adolescents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Archived Webinar

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Community programs, Counseling, Marketing, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of smoking cessation and answers the following questions: (1) What is tobacco cessation; (2) why is quitting tobacco use so difficult? (3) how effective are cessation services? (4) how do tobacco cessation services compare to other services? (5) what are the benefits of quitting? and (6) are tobacco cessation insurance benefits and services cost effective? The fact sheet compares individual interventions such as counseling and pharmacotherapy with population-based interventions such as clean air laws and excise tax increases. Included are links to additional tobacco-cessation fact sheets.

• PDF

Keywords: Intervention, Model programs, Prevention services, Smoking cessation, State initiatives, Tobacco use