Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of key issues and tips for supporting siblings when a brother or sister is receiving residential interventions for behavioral and/or emotional challenges. Contents include background on why it is important to support siblings and strategies for families and other caregivers.

Contact: Building Bridges Initiative, U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildingbridges4youth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Family centered services, Family support programs, Mental health, Residential care, Siblings

Annotation: This book for parents discusses the causes of rivalry between brothers and sisters and what parents can do to help reduce sibling conflict. It discusses bad feelings, the perils of comparisons, equality, siblings in roles, what to do when kids fight, and making peace with the past.

Contact: Harper Collins, Avon Books, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-207-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 223-0690 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com/imprints/index.aspx?imprintid=517994 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Interpersonal relations, Siblings

Annotation: This book provides information for parents and other caregivers who have lost a child to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include a definition of SIDS, perspectives from experts, a brief review of research into a diagnostic test, a history of SIDS, and accounts by parents of their experiences. Additional topics include dealing with guilt and anger; grieving and bereavement; the grief of fathers, other siblings, and grandparents; the loss of an infant at the childcare provider's; advice for friends of parents who have lost an infant; planning a funeral and the role of the clergy; advice on grieving and moving forward; dealing with anniversaries and holidays; advice on peer contact and professional help; emergency medical responders and the authorities; and a subsequent baby and the question of home monitoring. Additional information is provided on guilt and risk reduction; dreams and premonitions; and more stories and poems from the experience of losing an infant. The appendices include national and international organizations that provide information, counseling, research data, and grants on SIDS and related topics as well as a bibliography and a suggested reading list. The 3rd edition is available in Spanish.

Contact: SIDS Educational Services, P.O. Box 2426, Hyattsville, MD 20784-0426, Telephone: (301) 322-2620 Fax: (301) 322-9822 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidssurvivalguide.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9641218-0-5.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child care, Clergy, Consumer education materials, Family support, Grandparents, Grief, Home monitoring, Infant death, Parent support services, Parents, Risk assessment, SIDS, Siblings, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This paper examines whether substance use of one child directly influences the behavior of a younger sibling. The authors point to previous studies that have found significant correlations in risky behavior between siblings and then describe their own research model that addresses the extent to which these correlations are due to causal effects. The paper includes a literature review; a description of the empirical analysis using data from the National Longitudinal Survey of Youth (NLSY); and a detailed analysis of sibling correlations in substance abuse. A description of the joint dynamic model used in the authors' research is provided, along with the results of the study which indicate that smoking, drinking, and mariguana use are affected by the example of older siblings, but most of the links between siblings arises from common influences. Multiple tables and appendices indicate risky behaviors across the ages and sibling correlations derived using a dynamic research model.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior development, Research, Risk factors, Siblings, Substance abuse

Annotation: This keepsake journal book is designed to help prepare a young child for the birth of a sibling. It has interviews, sticker activities, and pages for recording pre-birth information and firsts about the baby during its first year. It is designed for use with children ages 2-6 and can be used for older children as well.

Keywords: Activity books, Infants, Personal narratives, Siblings

Annotation: This booklet provides suggestions on how to talk to your child about the loss of a sibling due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or newborn death. It offers tips on appropriate language to choose when discussing the death; guidelines on how children conceptualize death during different stages of development (from age 2 through adolescence) and suggestions on what parents can do to help. Additional resources and recommended readings are also provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death , Child mental health, Grief, Infant death, Parent child relations, Siblings

Annotation: This bibliography includes journal articles, monographs, and dissertations concerning the siblings of persons with special health needs. This bibliography is not annotated and contains no subheadings.

Contact: University of Connecticut, A. J. Pappanikou Center on Special Education and Rehabilitation, 263 Farmington Ave., MC 6222, Farmington, CT 06030, Telephone: 860-679-1500 Secondary Telephone: 866-626-1315 Fax: 860-679-1571 Web Site: http://www.uconnucedd.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children with special health care needs, Siblings

Annotation: This annotated bibliography covers material appropriate for the siblings of children with special health needs. Sections include general topics, autism, cerebral palsy, emotional disturbance, epilepsy, hearing impairments, learning disabilities, mental retardation, physical disabilities, and visual impairments. A list of bibliographies of children's material on the subject is also provided. The suggested grade level for potential readers of each item is noted.

Contact: University of Connecticut, A. J. Pappanikou Center on Special Education and Rehabilitation, 263 Farmington Ave., MC 6222, Farmington, CT 06030, Telephone: 860-679-1500 Secondary Telephone: 866-626-1315 Fax: 860-679-1571 Web Site: http://www.uconnucedd.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children with special health care needs, Materials for children, Siblings

Annotation: The primary objective of this research was to evaluate in subsequent siblings the effectiveness of neonatal measures of respiratory instability obtained during feeding and sleep, as well as measures of passive muscle tone, in identifying infants who are at risk for prolonged apnea (no respiratory activity for more than 18 seconds) or bradycardia (sudden drop in heart rate to below 80 bpm for 5 beats or more). Findings indicated a link between results obtained in the physiological studies and the subsequent development of prolonged apnea. The findings also added to the growing body of information which suggests that infants at risk for prolonged apnea and SIDS are abnormal at birth. The study found that physiological observations were contrary to the parental reports. This observation supported the hypothesis that physiological monitoring of feeding and sleep, and the assessment of muscle tone, under carefully controlled conditions may provide valid criteria for the early identification of subsequent siblings who would benefit from home monitoring. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-179984.

Keywords: Apnea, Arrythmia, Bradycardia, SIDS, Siblings

Annotation: This study investigated the nature, origins, and consequences of adult and adolescent views of the role of the parent (conceptions of parenting). Specifically, the study sought to: (1) Develop a causal model of the determinants of parental behavior, with parenting beliefs constituting a component of the model; and (2) develop and test hypotheses on how parenting beliefs are learned. This portion of the study examined the extent to which beliefs about parenting are transmitted across generations. The findings indicated that determinants of parenting practices include degree of satisfaction with the parent-child relationship and the type of parenting the mother and father received as children. The study also found evidence to support the contention that socialization of parenting beliefs differs by gender of the child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-180206.

Keywords: Adolescents, Parent-child interaction, Parenting attitudes, Parents, School-age children, Siblings

Annotation: This children's book tells the story of a little girl whose brother is born prematurely and stays in the hospital until he is bigger. The book, for children ages preschool to grade two, is illustrated with photographs.

Contact: Albert Whitman & Company, 6340 Oakton Street, Morton Grove, IL 60053, Telephone: (800) 255-7675 Secondary Telephone: (847) 581-0033 Fax: (847) 581-0039 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.awhitmanco.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children', Infant health, Premature infants, Siblings, s literature

Annotation: This is a chapter from a book that focuses on the special relationships and adjustment process that siblings experience when they have a brother or sister with a disability.

Contact: Haworth Press, Taylor and Francis, 7625 Empire Drive, Florence, KY 41042, Telephone: (800) 634-7064 Secondary Telephone: Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tandfonline.com/ $39.95.

Keywords: Adjustment, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family relations, Sibling rivalry, Siblings

Annotation: This book is the revised edition of Maternal-Infant Bonding, which was first published in 1976. It provides a theoretical basis for professionals who are learning to care for families and children, whether the children are healthy or have special needs. By examining the bonding process, the authors focus on the earliest relationship a baby develops with its parents and on the factors that may affect that process. In addition to the material covering the relationships between parents and healthy infants, the books includes chapters that consider how professionals can care for the parents of premature or sick infants, for parents of infants with congenital malformations, and for parents of infants who were stillborn or who die. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bonding, Family relations, Father child relations, Infants, Mother child relations, Newborn infants, Parents, Psychological factors, Siblings