Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (174 total).

H.E.L.P., Inc. n.d.. Teen pregnancy: Children having children. Seattle, WA: Intermedia, 1 videotape (25 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape provides a prevention-education program dealing with adolescent pregnancy. Aimed at making adolescents realize the consequences of sexual activity, young people who have experienced adolescent pregnancy firsthand share their stories with the audience. Television personalities, public health professionals, as well as counselors, are used to impress upon adolescents the importance of considering the possible outcomes related to sexual activity. The program makes a strong plea for abstinence, but reinforces the need for contraception if one chooses to be sexually active.

Contact: Intermedia, Inc., 1818 Westlake Ave. N, Suite 408, Seattle, WA 98109, Telephone: (800) 553-8336 Secondary Telephone: (206) 284-2995 Fax: (800) 553-1655 E-mail: info@intermedia-inc.com Web Site: http://www.intermedia-inc.com/index.asp $195.00.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Personal narratives, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Videotapes

Campaign for Our Children. n.d.. Campaign for Our Children: [Abstinence education posters]. Milwaukee, WI: Campaign for Our Children, 3 posters (11 x 28 inches).

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Puritz A, Carmody MA. n.d.. Sexuality and children and youth with special health care needs: Information and education. Washington, DC: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, 3 pp. (Fact sheet)

D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs. n.d.. Sexuality information resource list. Washington, DC: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education. 2015–. School health sex education kit. Morristown, NJ: Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education, multiple items.

Annotation: This kit of 10 manuals provides lesson plans on sexuality topics for students in grades 3–12. Contents include the following titles: Changes, Changes, Changes: Great Methods for Puberty Education; Game On! The Ultimate Sexuality Education Gaming Guide; Great Mentoring: Positive Conversations with Young People about Sexual Decisions; Let's Erase Bullying; Making Sense of Abstinence; Positive Images: Teaching About Contraception and Sexual Health; Sex Ed 101; Sex Ed in the Digital Age; Teaching Safer Sex; and Unequal Partners: Teaching about Power, Consent, and Healthy Relationships.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education, 196 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960, Telephone: (973) 387-5161 E-mail: info@sexedstore.com Web Site: http://www.sexedcenter.org $499 (full set); manuals also available individually.

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary education, Elementary schools, High schools, Middle schools, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Teaching

NARAL Pro-Choice America. 2015. Who decides? The status of women's reproductive rights in the United States (24th ed.). Washington, DC: NARAL Pro-Choice America, 90 pp.

Annotation: This document provides findings on pro-choice policy, threats to reproductive choice, and the political landscape. It summarizes the status of anti-choice and pro-choice legislation, and provides profiles of each state. Additional information is available on the website www.whodecides.org.

Contact: NARAL, Pro-Choice America , 1156 15th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 973-3000 Fax: (202) 973-3096 Web Site: http://www.naral.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescents, Proposed legislation, Reproductive health, Sexuality education, State legislation, Women

Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States. 2015. State profiles fiscal year 2014: A portrait of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the states. New York, NY: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States,

Annotation: These resources for advocates, educators, policymakers, public health professionals, parents, youth, and community stakeholders comprise profiles of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the United States. Topics include federal funding by state, total federal spending on abstinence-only-until-marriage programs, sexuality and HIV/STD education policies by state, and descriptions of evidence-based and comprehensive approaches to pregnancy-, STD-, HIV/AIDS-prevention and sexuality education programs.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, HIV, Model programs, Prevention programs, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State MCH programs

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Teen pregnancy prevention: Resources for families (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief presents resources about health care for teens and websites for parents, caregivers, and teens about teen pregnancy prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Contraception, Electronic publications, Families, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Mississippi First, Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, Women's Foundation of Mississippi. 2014. Sexuality education in Mississippi: Progress in the magnolia state. New York, NY: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 38 pp.

Poirier JM, Fisher SK, Hunt RA, Bearse M. 2014. A guide for understanding, supporting, and affirming LGBTQI2-S children, youth, and families. Washington, DC: American Institutes for Research, 7 pp.

Annotation: This resource provides general information for service providers, educators, allies, and community members who seek to support the health and well-being of children and youth who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, and/or two-spirit (LGBTQI2-S) and their families.

Contact: Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-6827 Fax: (202) 403-5007 E-mail: tapartnership@air.org Web Site: http://www.tapartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Children, Cultural competence, Educational materials, Families, Homosexuality, Sexuality, Social support, Systems of care, Youth

Advocates for Youth, Answer, Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States. 2014. National teacher preparation standards for sexuality education. [no place]: Future of Sex Education, 7 pp.

Annotation: These standards provide guidance to programs within institutions of higher education in order to better prepare undergraduate pre-service students to deliver sexuality education to children and adolescents in middle and high schools, focusing on programs that train health and physical education teachers. Contents include seven standards, along with a rationale, set of indicators, and examples. Topics include professional disposition, diversity and equity, content knowledge, legal and professional ethics, planning, implementation, and assessment.

Contact: Future of Sex Education, Web Site: http://www.futureofsexed.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Preservice training, Professional education, Sexuality education, Standards, Teachers

Pickett OK, DeFrancis Sun B. 2014. Sexuality education: Resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief describes websites about sexuality education for health professionals and families. The brief also provides links to bibliographies, knowledge paths, organizations lists, and other resource briefs on topics such as abstinence education; adolescent pregnancy and parents; adolescent pregnant prevention; adolescent prenatal care; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Resources for professionals, Sexuality education

Bridges E, Hauser D. 2014. Sexuality education: Building an evidence- and rights-based approach to healthy decision-making. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 6 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research on effective sex education, laws and policies that shape it, and how it can impact young people's lives.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Community participation, Health promotion, Research, School age children, School health education, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Youth

Fields J. 2014. EPSDT screening: Including sexuality education in health education. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 4 pp. (Health advocate)

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on opportunities for children and adolescents enrolled in Medicaid and some Children's Health Insurance Programs to receive periodic comprehensive screenings that include sexual health education. Contents include information about the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit for individuals under age 21, key components of the required medical screen including health education and anticipatory guidance, the need for sexual health education, and the challenges to ensuring its provision. Descriptions of key resources are included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, EPSDT, Federal programs, Health education, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Prevention services, Screening, Sexual health, Sexuality education

Guttmacher Institute. 2013. Sex and HIV education. New York, NY: Guttmacher Institute, 5 pp. (State policies in brief)

Annotation: This brief summarizes state-level sex and HIV education policies, as well as specific content requirements, based on a review of state laws, regulations, and other legally binding policies. Topics include whether such education is mandated, parental involvement, contraception, marriage, negative outcomes, skills for healthy sexuality, and abstinence. Charts list requirements in each state.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence education, Contraception, Schools, Sexuality education, State legislation

Arzola F, Diaz HL, Durante Y, Escobar D, Humphreys M, with Marrero, Jr. E, Zareth A, eds. 2013. Countering the silence: A faith leader's toolkit for preventing teen pregnancy. Philadelphia, PA: Esperanza; Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 59 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit includes data and research, as well as Bible studies and suggested activities and ideas on how faith leaders can openly discuss topics such as sex, dating, and relationships with teens and parents from a religious perspective. Available in both English and Spanish, the toolkit includes action steps for faith leaders, a video for youth leaders and senior pastors, assessment tools, and recommended sermon topics for pastors and youth leaders.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention services, Religion, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Dworsky A, Napolitano L, Barisik E, Reddy S, Simon M. 2013. The Demoiselle-2-Femme (D2F) pregnancy prevention program evaluation: Findings from the first baseline survey. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the results of a baseline survey completed by 241 girls, primarily African American, in grade 9 through 11 who are participating in a federally funded evaluation of the Demoiselle-2-Femme signature after-school program in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose of the evaluation is to estimate the effects of program participation on a number of key behavioral outcomes, including sexual activity, unprotected sex, and adolescent pregnancy. The report presents background; describes the program; and discusses study design and methods; student characteristics; relationships with adults; attitudes, feelings, and knowledge about sexual behavior; sexual behavior and prior pregnancy; dating violence; tobacco, alcohol, and marijuana use; and educational expectations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption behavior, Blacks, Community programs, Dating, Educational attainment, Illinois, Interpersonal violence, Marijuana, Prevention, Relationships, Smoking, Substance abuse

Shapiro R. 2013. Balancing fidelity and flexibility: Implementing the Gen.M Program in Texas—Final report. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation of the Gender Matters (Gen.M) sex education program implemented in Travis County, Texas to help reduce the rate of teen pregnancy. The report describes the program’s design, facilitators’ training and delivery of the program, and youth engagement and understanding of the material after the first year of implementation. It concludes with lessons learned that could improve future Gen M. program outcomes.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, State programs, Texas

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2013. The Circle of Life multimedia program. [Rockville. MD]: U.S. Office of Minority Health,

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases

Child Trends Data Bank. 2013. "Statutory rape:" Sex between young teens and older individuals-Indicators on children and youth. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on instances in which children and adolescents under age 15 engage in sexual relationships with someone at least 3 years older (statutory rape). Topics include importance; trends; differences by race and by Hispanic origin; by parental education; and by age at first sex; state, local, and international estimates; national goals; and related indicators. Statistical data are presented throughout the report. A definition of statutory rape is provided.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Age factors, Educational factors, High risk adolescents, Racial factors, Rape, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual intercourse, Statistical data, Trends

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.