Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research representative of the depth and breadth of publications addressing child and youth online safety. Contents include an analysis of key findings, knowledge gaps, and policy recommendations. Topics include cyberbullying, sexual solicitation and unwanted exposure to sexual content, the role of privacy, parent and community involvement, and intergenerational gaps in attitudes toward internet safety issues.

Contact: Brookings Institution, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Fax: (202) 797-6004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Communication, Confidentiality, Internet, Interpersonal relations, Measures, Online systems, Policy development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Research, Risk factors, Safety, Sexual harassment, Trust

Annotation: This report focuses on dating adolescents and abuse and harassment via digital media (i.e., online or via text messaging). The report provides background and discusses where and how abuse occurs; and what educators, parents, advocates, and adolescents should know. The link between abuse via digital means and other types of abuse is discussed, as well as strategies for prevention and intervention.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Dating, Intervention, Physical abuse, Prevention, Relationships, Sexual abuse, Sexual harassment

Annotation: This guide for school leaders provides information about how to create a tolerant environment at school that is inclusive of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. The guide discusses building an inclusive school climate and preventing and addressing problems (such as bullying and harassment).

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Bullying, Homosexuality, Inclusion, Inclusive schools, Prevention, Schools, Sexual harassment, Sexuality, Tolerance

Annotation: This website describes a documentary film geared toward middle school and high school students, administrators, teachers, and counselors that chronicles one student's ordeal at the hands of anti-gay bullies and offers a message of hope for those fighting harassment. The film is intended to help create a safer school environment for all students, help students understand the toll bullying takes on victims, and encourage students to stand up for classmates who are being harassed. The film, which is 40 minutes in length, includes closed captioning and Spanish subtitles. Also included is a viewer's guide with lesson plans and activities that can be used in staff development. Additional related resources are available on the website.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• Video
• Viewer's Guide

Keywords: Bullying, Consumer education materials, High schools, Homosexuality, Middle schools, Safety, Sexual harassment, Spanish language materials, Staff development, Tolerance

Annotation: This report summarizes a biennial survey of middle and high school principals and lead health education teachers to assess school health policies and practices in states, large urban school districts, and territories. Topics include school health education requirements and content, physical education and physical activity, practices related to bullying and sexual harassment, school health policies related to tobacco-use prevention and nutrition, school-based health services, family engagement and community involvement, and school health coordination. Maps, questionnaires, and data files are also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Community participation, Family school relations, Health policy, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program coordination, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety, Service coordination, Sexual harassment, Statistics, Surveys, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This website is geared toward helping adolescents in foster care who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or questioning (LGBTQ) navigate the child welfare system. The site provides information about harassment, discrimination, and violence; homelessness and running away; health and sexuality; and state-specific resources. A 24-hour hotline is included. The site also adresses common questions, presents stories about LGBTQ adolescents, discusses life after foster care, and provides other related information.

Contact: American Bar Association, Center on Children and the Law, 740 15th Street, N.W., , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 662-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 285-2221 Fax: (202) 662-1755 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.abanet.org/child Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child welfare agencies, Children', Discrimination, Foster care, Homelessness, Homosexuality, Runaways, Sexual harassment, Violence, s rights

Annotation: This paper discusses the distinctions between bullying and harassment and the priorities and responsibilities of school districts. Topics include the unintended consequences of ignoring the gendered dimensions of bullying and harassment in K-12 schools and strategies for collaborating with school personnel and students.

Contact: National Online Resource Center on Violence Against Women, National Resource Center on Domestic Violence, 3605 Vartan Way, Suite 101, Harrisburg, PA 17110, Telephone: (800) 537-2238 Secondary Telephone: (800) 553.2508 Fax: (717) 545-9456 Web Site: http://www.vawnet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Gender discrimination, Legal responsibility, Policy analysis, Schools, Sexual harassment, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report describes the National School Climate Survey conducted by the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network. The survey asked lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth about biased language in their schools; feelings of comfort and safety in school; and experiences of verbal, physical, and sexual harassment based on sexual orientation, gender, gender expression, race/ethnicity, disability, and religion. The report, which includes an executive summary, also contains a description of the study's methodology, results, and a conclusion. Extensive statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, 90 Broad Street, Second Floor, New York, NY 10004, Telephone: (212) 727-0135 Fax: (212) 727-0254 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glsen.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Ethnic factors, Gender discrimination, Homosexuality, Language, Racial factors, Religion, Safety, Schools, Sexual harassment, Surveys

Annotation: This paper discusses harassment and bullying based on sexual orientation in California schools and documents that schools can take concrete steps to reduce harassment and improve student health and safety. The paper analyzes data from the California Healthy Kids Survey (a broad-based state survey) and an independent companion survey conducted by the California Safe Schools Coalition measuring the effectiveness of school anti-harassment practices. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses the major findings from the surveys and offers conclusions and recommendations. Four appendices include the methodology and questions for future research, information about related research, text of the 2003 Preventing School Harassment Survey with frequencies, and text of the question on bias-related harassment from the 2001-2002 California Healthy Kids Survey. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the paper. The paper also includes a copy of the Safe Place to Learn fact sheet.

Contact: California Safe Schools Coalition, Hamm's Building, 1550 Bryant Street, Suite 800, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 626-1680 Fax: (415) 626-1683 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casafeschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, California, Child health, Children, Data, Safety, Schools, Sexual harassment, Sexual identity, Students, Surveys

Annotation: This report details a survey conducted to determine the extent of sexual harassment in U.S. schools, and presents an analysis of the study's results. Surveys were completed by over 1, 500 students from 8th to 11th grade. 81 percent responded that they had experienced some form of sexual harassment. The report describes different types of harassment and the characteristics of those who initiate it. Findings are presented in both chart and text formats. The survey was conducted by a division of Louis Harris and Associates.

Contact: American Association of University Women, 1111 Sixtheenth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-7700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 326-AAUW Fax: 202-872-1425 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aauw.org $11.95.

Keywords: Adolescents, Sexual harassment, Statistics, Students, Surveys

Annotation: This curriculum was designed for use in junior high/middle schools and senior high schools—grades 7 through 12. It provides a supervised opportunity for students to examine their own attitudes and behaviors regarding gender roles and sexual harassment. The curriculum outlines what to do to sensitize students, faculty, and staff to sexual harassment; design a sexual harassment policy; develop formal and informal grievance procedures; and create a healthy, respectful learning and working environment. It includes reproducible forms and handouts.

Contact: Free Spirit Publishing, 217 Fifth Avenue North, Suite 200, Minneapolis, MN 55401, Telephone: (800) 735-7323 Secondary Telephone: (612) 338-2068 Fax: (866) 419-5199 Web Site: http://www.freespirit.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Curricula, Health education, Sexual harassment, Students

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles as they discuss sexual harassment. The introduction describes the purpose of the guide, defines sexual harassment, and provides suggestions on using the guide. The guide contains two sections, one on sharing attitudes, experiences, and perceptions and the other on the problems relationship to society as a whole. It includes background information, lists additional resources, and provides ground rules for useful discussions.

Contact: Everyday Democracy, 111 Founders Plaza, Suite 1403, East Hartford, CT 06108, Telephone: (860) 928-2616 Fax: (860) 928-3713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everyday-democracy.org $1.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Sexual harassment