Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (36 total).

Smith KV, Dye C, Rotz D, Cook E, Rosinsky K, Scott M. 2016. Final impacts of the Gender Matters Program. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a large-scale demonstration project and evaluation of Gender Matters (Gen.M), a sexuality education curriculum that aims to reduce adolescent pregnancy and associated sexual risk behaviors, in part by challenging commonly held perceptions of gender roles and promoting healthy, equitable relationships. The study reports final impacts of the program on adolescent sexual risk behaviors and other longer-term outcomes measured 18 months after participants enrolled in the study.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Attitudes, Gender discrimination, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Relationships, Risk taking, Sex characteristics, Sexual health

Kearney MS, Levine PB. 2014. Media influences on social outcomes: The impact of MTV's 16 and pregnant on teen childbearing. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 43 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 19795)

Annotation: This paper explores the impact of a reality television series, MTV's 16 and Pregnant, on adolescent attitudes and outcomes. Contents include background information on the show's content and previous research on the impact of media exposure; a description of the data including Nielson ratings, Google trends, and Twitter activity; a descriptive analysis of adolescents' exposure to the show; and analyses of high frequency data on searches and tweets and data on adolescent births. Topics include changes in searches and tweets, geographic variation in viewership, and changes in adolescent birth rates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org $5.

Link

Keywords: , Abortion, Adolescent attitudes, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Contraception, Economic factors, Health behavior, Interactive media, Media, Outcome evaluation, Sexual behavior

Dworsky A, Napolitano L, Barisik E, Reddy S, Simon M. 2013. The Demoiselle-2-Femme (D2F) pregnancy prevention program evaluation: Findings from the first baseline survey. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the results of a baseline survey completed by 241 girls, primarily African American, in grade 9 through 11 who are participating in a federally funded evaluation of the Demoiselle-2-Femme signature after-school program in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose of the evaluation is to estimate the effects of program participation on a number of key behavioral outcomes, including sexual activity, unprotected sex, and adolescent pregnancy. The report presents background; describes the program; and discusses study design and methods; student characteristics; relationships with adults; attitudes, feelings, and knowledge about sexual behavior; sexual behavior and prior pregnancy; dating violence; tobacco, alcohol, and marijuana use; and educational expectations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption behavior, Blacks, Community programs, Dating, Educational attainment, Illinois, Interpersonal violence, Marijuana, Prevention, Relationships, Smoking, Substance abuse

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2013. The Circle of Life multimedia program. [Rockville. MD]: U.S. Office of Minority Health,

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases

Avellino L, Eisler A. 2013. Keep it simple: Linking teens to sexual health care. Balitmore, MD: Healthy Teen Network; Atlanta, GA: CAI Global ,

Annotation: This 45-minute module is designed to help male and female adolescents ages 15-19 connect with health professionals who can provide contraception care and reproductive health care. The module addresses the question of why adolescents do not typically access such services, including lack of knowledge about their right to care, available services, and the location of health professionals in the community who can meet their needs. The module includes a short motion graphic that can be shared online as a stand-alone product to facilitate increased access, improve awareness about contraceptive methods available to adolescents, and promote linkages to care. The graphic is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Wildsmith E, Barry M, Vaughn B, Manlove J. 2013. Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 10 pp. (Adolescent health highlight)

Annotation: This report presents key research findings about the trends in sexually transmitted disease (STD) rates among U.S. adolescents, discusses factors that heighten or reduce adolescents' risk of acquiring an STD, and provides information and resources on STD prevention and testing.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: Pub. no. 2013-07.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Data, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Trends

Huberman BK. 2012. Let's Talk Month planning guidebook. (Rev. ed.). Washington, D.C.: Advocates for Youth, 132 pp.

Annotation: This Let's Talk Month planning guidebook focuses on the importance of communication between adults and young people to help young people develop responsible behavior about sexuality. It includes information on planning and implementing Let's Talk Month; involving youth and youth-adult partnerships to promote parent-child communication; and working with media. It also includes sample forms and materials, work sheets and handouts for facilitators, and other resources.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Communication skills, Guidelines, Parent education programs, Sexuality education, Youth development

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2012. Teen pregnancy and social media: The health communicator's social media toolkit. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This website presents a social media tool to help promote adolescent pregnancy prevention efforts. The quick reference guide, which is intended as a companion piece to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC's) Social Media Toolkit for Health Communicators, highlights a number of social media tools with adolescent-pregnancy-prevention messages from CDC. The website provide badges and buttons that can be placed on websites; contact-syndication information; e-cards; text that can be pasted onto a Facebook page posted on Twitter; links to podcasts, public service announcements, and mobile web pages; and widgets.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Social media, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Health promotion, Prevention

Human Rights Campaign. 2012. Growing up LGBT in America: At home, at school, in the community. Washington, DC: Human Rights Campaign, 24 pp. (HRC youth survey report)

Annotation: This report, which provides information from a survey that measured key factors impacting the daily lives of over 10,000 lesbian, gay, bixexual, or transgender adolescents (ages 13-17) from every region of the United States, presents a picture of the difficulties that this population faces. The report includes a summary of the findings and presents information in the following categories: personal well-being, community, home and family, school and peers, and culture.

Contact: Human Rights Campaign, 1640 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W, Washington, DC 20036-4160, Telephone: (800) 777-4723 Secondary Telephone: (202) 216-1572 Fax: (202) 347-5323 Web Site: http://www.hrc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, Discrimination, Families, Homosexuality, Schools, Sexual identity, Surveys

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health. 2011. Preventing teen pregnancy in the U.S.. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 4 pp. (CDC vital signs)

Annotation: This fact sheet about preventing and reducing adolescent pregnancy in the United States provides an introduction to the issue; presents the latest findings on adolescent pregnancy prevention; discusses who is at the highest risk; provides information about adolescent birthrates by state; explains what the government is doing to address the problem, what parents can do, and what adolescents can do; and provides code that allows users to place Centers for Disease Control and Prevention buttons to web pages.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, High risk groups, Mass media, Parents, Prevention, Research

Huberman B, Paliaro S. 2011. May: Teen pregnancy prevention month—Planning guidebook. (Rev. ed.). Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 74 pp.

Annotation: This planning guidebook is geared toward helping communities organize activities during National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Month. The guidebook includes information on how to organize local campaigns and offers ideas for local events. Guidance on involving adolescents in the planning, running, and evaluation of National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Month is included, as well as tips for working with the media. Sample forms and materials as well as a list of related resources are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Mass media, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Resource materials

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Adolescent Health Program. 2010. Nebraska State Abstinence Education Grant Program: State plan FY 2010. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 32 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This state plan describes the activities of Nebraska's State Abstinence Education Grant Program for 2010. The document discusses the problem and need associated with Nebraska adolescents and presents an implementation plan. Topics discussed in relation to the implementation plan include existing programs and gaps in services, challenges and barriers, mechanisms for implementation, monitoring, coordination, service recipient involvement, referrals, objective performance and efficiency measures, programmatic assurances, and budget.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Budgets, Education, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Nebraska, Poverty, Program coordination, Referral, Service delivery, State grants, State programs

National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy with Pathways/Senderos Center. [2009]. Thinking about our future: Latino teens speak out about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward Latino adolescents, is intended to provide insights into Latino adolescents' own views about sex, pregnancy, and related issues. The pamphlet includes statistics about adolescent pregnancy and parenthood among Latinos, discusses reasons to avoid sex and pregnancy from the points of views of male Latino adolescents and female Latino adolescents, and provides three personal stories told by Latino adolescents.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Costs, Hispanic Americans, Personal narratives, Prevention

Lenhart A. 2009. Teens and sexting: How and why minor teens are sending sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images via text messaging. Washington, DC: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the use of cell phone text messaging by minor teens as a way to send sexually suggestive nude or nearly nude images to others (this is referred to as sexting). It is based on the findings of a telephone survey on teens' and parents' use of mobile phones and six focus groups conducted in three U.S. cities in October 2009 with teens between the ages of 12 and 18. Included in the report are statistics indicating how many teens send and receive such text images, and which characteristics make it more likely that teens will engage in this activity. The report also describes three basic scenarios for sexting and the attitudes that teens have toward this form of data exchange.

Contact: Pew Internet and American Life Project, 1615 L Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-4500 Fax: 202-419-4505 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewinternet.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Statistics, Technology, Telephone surveys

Olsho L, Cohen J, Walker DK, Johnson A, Locke G. 2009. National survey of adolescents and their parents: Attitudes and opinions about sex and abstinence—Final report. Cambridge, MA: Abt Associates, 195 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the methodology and findings from a study conducted to examine current attitudes of parents and adolescents about sex and abstinence. The study was guided by the following research questions: (1) What are adolescent and parent attitudes concerning sex and abstinence? (2) How are attitudes of parents and their adolescents similar to or different from each other? (3) Adjusting for all other variables, what factors are independently associated with adolescents' attitudes toward sex and abstinence? The report also provides background and a brief review of existing literature and discusses implications of the findings.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: https://acf.gov/cb Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Parents, Racial factors, Research

Sabatiuk L, Flores R. 2009. Toward a common future: Latino teens and adults speak out about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 32 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward Latino adolescents; presents perspectives on adolescent pregnancy and sexual activity in the voices of Latino adolescent males and females. Statistics about adolescent pregnancy and parenting are also provided.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Hispanic Americans, Prevention

Guilamo-Ramos V, Bouris,A. 2008. Parent-adolescent communication about sex in Latino families: A guide for practitioners. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 24 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information for practitioners seeking to strengthen Latino parents' ability to talk about sex with their pre-adolescent children. The guide provides guidance in four areas: (1) the content of communication, (2) the context of communication, (3) the timing of parental discussions, and (4) the frequency of parental discussions. The guide also reviews potential barriers to discussion, such as religion and acculturation, that practitioners may encounter when working with Latino families. Finally the guide discusses the importance of strong parent-adolescent relationships and of parental monitoring and supervision.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Child behavior, Communications, Parent child relations, Parenting attitudes, Parenting skills, Parents, Prevention

Marsiglio W, Ries AV, Sonenstein FL, Troccoli K, Whitehead M. 2006. It's a guy thing: Boys, young men, and teen pregnancy prevention. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 162 pp. (Putting what works to work)

Annotation: This report includes three papers that address, from different perspectives, how boys and young men factor into adolescent pregnancy trends. The first paper reviews research on the attitudes and behaviors of adolescent boys and young men regarding sex, contraception, pregnancy, and related issues. The second paper reviews evaluation research on the effectiveness of school-based, co-educational programs in reducing risky sexual behavior among adolescent boys. The third paper offers a qualitative look at the challenges in engaging adolescent boys and young men in adolescent pregnancy prevention and some strategies for addressing these challenges. The report also includes a summary of all three papers.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-060-5.

Full Report

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents males, Contraception, High risk adolescents, Prevention, Schools, Trends

Whitehead BD, Pearson M. 2006. Making a love connection: Teen relationships, pregnancy, and marriage. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines steps toward the goal of developing strategies that provide adolescents with a positive vision and expectations for their lives and thus help prevent adolescent pregnancy. The steps outlined in the report include (1) teach adolescents about healthy relationships and healthy marriage; (2) teach adolescents about how to promote the achievement of their dreams and desires for their future family and work lives; (3) provide a knowledge base, practical skills, and social support to help adolescents successfully navigate the transition from adolescence to adulthood; and (4) engage parents as first teachers. The report is divided into the following main sections: (1) facing the cultural challenge (which deals with the differences in the world of adolescents today vs. the one in which their parents grew up); (2) confronting the knowledge deficit about relationships; (3) losing the connection between sex, marriage, and parenthood; and (4) what we need to do. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Families, Goals, Marriage, Parents, Prevention, Relationships

Ratner J, Huberman B. 2006. The librarian's guide to sex education resources: Audiovisual, print, and Web-based materials for youth, parents, and youth-serving professionals. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 88 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides lists of resources that librarians can use to provide their patrons with sexual health information. The tips are intended to help librarians create a supportive environment, offer a wide range of the best sexual health resources, raise community awareness, and provide programming related to sexuality issues. The guide is divided both by type of media and by intended audience. The resources are divided into five sections according to type of media: video, audio, computer based, print, and Web based. Within these sections, resources are divided by appropriate audience (adolescents, parents, and adolescent-serving professionals). Each entry in the guide includes a detailed description of the resource, ordering information, and other information.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Health, Parents, Resource materials, Sexuality