Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes results for 118 health-related behaviors plus obesity, overweight, and asthma by sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts from the 2015 national Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 25 state surveys, and 19 large urban school district surveys conducted among students in grades 9–12. Contents include a description of the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, survey methodology, and survey results for the prevalence of health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students compared with nonsexual minority students. Recommendations for reducing disparities in health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students are also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Comparative analysis, Health behavior, Health surveys, Individual characteristics, Minority groups, National surveys, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Risk factors, Risk taking, School districts, School surveys, Sex factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexual partners, State surveys, Statistical data, Urban population

Annotation: This report presents findings from a large-scale demonstration project and evaluation of Gender Matters (Gen.M), a sexuality education curriculum that aims to reduce adolescent pregnancy and associated sexual risk behaviors, in part by challenging commonly held perceptions of gender roles and promoting healthy, equitable relationships. The study reports final impacts of the program on adolescent sexual risk behaviors and other longer-term outcomes measured 18 months after participants enrolled in the study.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Attitudes, Gender discrimination, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Relationships, Risk taking, Sex characteristics, Sexual health

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This video for health professionals and staff offers perspectives from transgender and gender non-conforming youth about their experiences and what they want from the health care system.

Contact: University of Michigan Health System, Adolescent Health Initiative, 2025 Traverwood Drive, Suite A6, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2197, Telephone: (734) 998-2034 Fax: (734) 998-2213 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://umhs-adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Gender discrimination, Health services delivery, Personal narratives, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This toolkit provides two booklets to help parents talk to their children with intellectual or developmental disabilities about topics related to puberty, one addressing girls and one addressing boys. Topics include encouraging good hygiene and appropriate behavior and how to deal with physiological manifestations of puberty. The publications may be individualized to include an organization's name and its most frequent referrals. Appendices with social stories and visual supports are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, PMB 40, 230 Appleton Place, Nashville, TN 37203-5721, Telephone: (615) 322-8240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kc.vanderbilt.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Developmental disabilities, Psychosexual development, Puberty, Sex characteristics, Sexual development

Annotation: This resource presents data collection standards for measures used in national population health surveys sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, where respondents either self-report information or a knowledgeable person responds for all members of a household. The measures include race, ethnicity, sex, primary language and disability status, as required by Section 4302 of the Affordable Care Act. An explanation of the standards and a fact are also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Disabilities, Ethnic groups, Language, Race, Sex characteristics, Standards

Annotation: This brief presents background information on gender-based violence and explains how it is a prime barrier to reproductive health for women. The brief discusses the magnitude of the problem and outlines the reproductive health consequences of gender-based violence, including unintended pregnancy, immediate risks to the mother and unborn child, sexually transmitted infections (STIs), and chronic depression. Estimates on the monetary costs of gender-based violence to society are also provided.

Contact: Population Reference Bureau, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 520, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (800) 877-9881 Fax: (202) 328-3937 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.prb.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Reproductive health, Risk factors, Sex characteristics, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This policy brief examines why health services should address gender-based violence and highlights examples of health programs around the world that have responded to this problem. The brief explains why combating gender-based violence is so important; why health care professionals are central to the response; and what health services can do to assistant women survivors. Specific guidelines for policy makers, health care providers, health program managers, funding agencies, and institutions that train health care professionals are provided.

Contact: Population Reference Bureau, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 520, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (800) 877-9881 Fax: (202) 328-3937 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.prb.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Health services, International health, Invention, Program improvement, Sex characteristics, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes trends in life expectancy for newborns over their lifetime. Topics include the importance of tracking such data, trends in childhood mortality and lifetime expectancy, differences by gender and race, sources for international estimates, and national goals, Information is provided on definitions used in the fact sheet, data sources, reference notes; statistical data are represented in three figures and two tables.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Goals, Life expectancy, Longevity, Mortality, Racial factors, Sex characteristics, Statistical data

Annotation: This paper reports on the use of data from the National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) in analyses revealing a pattern in which male adolescents in the families of former welfare recipients (leavers) may be faring worse than their counterparts in the families of current recipients. The paper looks at how developmental risk compares for children in current recipient and leaver families by gender, age, race, and ethnicity; why adolescent boys in leaver families might fare worse than those in current recipient families; and further evidence on why adolescent boys in former recipient families seem at elevated risk. The paper includes a conclusion and discussion, references, and appendix tables.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Age factors, Child development, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, High risk adolescents, Low income groups, Males, Racial factors, Sex characteristics, Welfare programs

Annotation: This report provides an overview of some fundamental patterns in men's sexual and reproductive lives, from ages 15 to 49, and their implications for policy and programs. It is divided into topics by age groups, 15-19, 20-29, 30-49, and includes topics likely to be associated with these age groups such as initiating sexual relationships, settling down, and forming families. Additional chapter topics include sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and condom use; sexual reproductive health information and services for men; and a summary chapter. Statistics are provided in each chapter through the use of charts, tables, and graphs. The report includes extensive references and notes; an appendix listing socioeconomic and demographic characteristics of U.S. men and rates of STDs by various years and by state; and additional tables of statistics.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-939253-57-7.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age groups, Condoms, Family characteristics, Males, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Surveys

Contact: United Nations Publications, Two United Nations Plaza, Room DC2-853, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (800) 253-9646 Secondary Telephone: (212) 963-8302 Fax: (212) 963-3489 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://unp.un.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Age groups, Asian language materials, Data, Demography, Domestic violence, Economic factors, Education, Environmental health, Family characteristics, Family relations, Fertility, Housing, International data, Leadership, Non English language materials, Political systems, Risk factors, Sex role, Spanish language materials, Women, Women', Women', Work force, s health, s rights

Annotation: This special issue of the "Journal of Family Issues" is dedicated to the role of family relations within the context of cultural diversity based on racial and ethnic differences. It includes empirical and theoretical articles. Topics covered include family life and racial and ethnic diversity; social support systems for employed African Americans and Anglo-Americans; differences between rural and urban family structures for African Americans; the timing of marriages among Chinese and Japanese Americans; the patterns of care for elderly Mexican Americans; the roles of race, ethnicity, and gender in the perceptions of fairness; and the relationships between the assimilation model, family life, and race and ethnicity and how these relationships affect the care of minority welfare mothers.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $15.00; discounts available for bulk orders; prepayment required for orders under $25.00.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Blacks, Cultural diversity, Elder care, Employment, Ethnic factors, Family characteristics, Family life, Family relations, Family relations, Marriage, Mexican Americans, Moral values, Mothers, Racial factors, Rural population, Sex role, Social values, Urban population, Welfare services, Whites, Women