Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online resource presents strategies to help connect families to children's mental health care; addresses gaps in the mental health workforce; and investigates how funding issues affect mental health care. It also addresses social determinants of health and how they affect mental health care; offers guidance on identifying children who need more support; and provides tools to help support healthy child development and the well-being of families.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child mental health, Health equity, Policy, Services for families

Annotation: This document defines the term "family leader" and describes the roles for family leaders in the Association for Maternal and Child Health Programs' activities. Topics include title, eligibility criteria, selection process, timeline, and duties.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Contact Phone: (202) 775-1472 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, Consultants, Employment, Families, Leadership, Mentors, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Teaching, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Volunteers, Work force

Annotation: This guide provides information, strategies, and resources to help communities support and strengthen families and promote the well-being of children and youth. It focuses on protective factors that build on family strengths and promote optimal child and youth development. Topics include implementing a protective factors approach, working with families using protective factors, and using protective factors as a framework for community partnerships. Contents include tools and strategies to assist service providers in integrating protective factors into community programs and systems. Tips sheets for parents and caregivers are provided.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Families, Program improvement, Protective factors, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Systems development, Youth

Annotation: This report discusses various roles, and activities within these roles, of families who are in paid positions as staff or consultants to state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs. Topics include roles for family engagement in the Title V Block Grant guidance; depth of engagement (family roles along a continuum); roles and activities by level of engagement (input, partnership, service provision, policy-level leadership); and family engagement in Title V needs assessment activities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, Consultants, Employment, Families, Leadership, Mentors, Needs assessment, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This tool for shelter staff members contains recommendations and information on how family shelter environments, programming, policies, and staff can support early childhood safety and development. The tool contains recommendations for making shelter facilities safe and developmentally appropriate for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in five areas: health and safety, wellness and development, work force standards and training, programming, and food and nutrition. The tool categorizes recommendations by the estimated amount of resources requires. Links to references referenced in the tool and an action plan form are also included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary and Interdepartmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9200 Fax: (202) 205-4891 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ecd/about Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child safety, Community action, Community health services, Early childhood development, Families, Family support programs, Homelessness, Infants, Nutrition, Policy development, Preschool children, Program development, Self evaluation, Shelters, Standards, Toddlers, Training, Work force

Annotation: These guidelines describe the children and youth task force model, which strives to bring together agencies, organizations, and professionals that serve children and adolescents during disasters into a single forum for shared strategic coordination to meet children's and adolescents' needs. The guidelines, which are geared toward emergency management, human services, and public health professionals, introduce the concept of the model; provides recommendations to states, tribes, territories, and local communities interested in launching their own task forces; and outlines how the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families can provide support.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Families, Family support services, Program coordination, Task forces

Annotation: This document contains presentation slides from a webinar presented to the National Head Start State Collaboration Office Network on November 1, 2010. The content focuses on the use of parent engagement and motivational interviewing to improve oral health among children in Head Start. Topics include an overview of Head Start’s oral health policy and sample tools and models from states.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Family centered services, Head Start, Interviews, Methods, Motivation, Oral health, Parent participation, Program improvement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief provides examples of initiatives and strategies implemented by state Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs to ensure strong family participation (FP) within their programs. The brief summarizes how Colorado, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, and Washington approach FP, including insights, successes, and challenges. Topics include the history of FP, partnerships, strategies to involve and compensate families, training and technical assistance, the value of the CYSHCN performance measure, FP in MCH, pressures on Title V MCH programs, barriers to FP, lessons learned, and future plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Community participation, Employment, Families, Measurement, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report constitutes a set of federal policy recommendations aimed at establishing or reforming programs and systems that influence whether young families may achieve health and success after a birth to adolescent parents. The report discusses young families' needs and gaps in resources and services according to the following seven life domains: (1) health and human services, (2) housing, (3) education, (4) work force and life skills development, (5) child welfare and development, (6) income security, and (7) knowledge development and transfer.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: , Adolescent development, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Education, Families, Family income, Health services delivery, Housing, Programs, Public policy, Services, Work force

Annotation: This guide contains information about the history of the U.S. emergency medical services (EMS) system, the Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Program and its Family Advisory Network. It addresses the importance of EMSC performance measures and how family representatives contribute to the success of each measure. The guide also provides tips on what is needed to help family representatives get started and stay involved in the planning and implementation of state EMSC activities, including maintaining an effective relationship with the state EMSC project manager, recruiting community partners, and educating legislators.

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Child health, Emergency medical services for children, Families, Legislation, Pediatric care

Annotation: This brief discusses state policy options for improving the well-being of children within the welfare system as well as the broader population of low-income children. The brief also explores additional funding sources for child well-being initiatives, including Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, the Social Services Block grant, WIA (Work Investment Act) youth funds, child and maternal health grants, and other resources. The brief offers descriptions of programs in specific states, additional online resources on tracking child outcomes, conclusions and endnotes.

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Initiatives, Low income groups, Maternal health, Public policy, Social services, State programs, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Welfare programs, Welfare reform

Annotation: This document describes the implementation of a community needs assessment as part of an initiative to develop a community-based program to promote oral health and reduce oral diseases. Contents include an overview, implementation timeline, framework for action, data collection, key findings, recommendation, and evaluation. Topics include education, knowledge and values that impact oral health; barriers to accessing prevention and care services; and community resources for prevention and care services. Advisory committee meeting summaries and the survey form are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Communities, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Forms, Health status, Needs assessment, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Risk factors

Annotation: Sexually abused children often have poor mental health. In north central North Carolina, access to appropriate mental health services fails for more than half of the children identified as sexually abused. This 5-year project sought to improve access to appropriate mental health services as well as the mental health and behavioral status of these children and their caretakers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Sexual Abuse, Families, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Mental Health Services

Annotation: This manual, which is part of the workshop entitled "Office Preparedness for Pediatric Emergencies, " is intended to educate pediatric primary care providers so they are prepared to provide emergency medical services for children (EMSC) in their offices if the need arises. The first chapter explains how office staff including receptionists can identify an emergency. The second chapter discusses contacting regular EMSC services. The third chapter has some mock codes to run in the office. The fourth chapter is protocols for office emergencies. The fifth chapter discusses teaching families to handle emergencies at home until help arrives. The last sections of the manual have an office equipment list, an office medications list, a mock code log form, emergency drug doses, and a mock code evaluation form. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Codes, Drug dosages, Emergency medical services for children, Families, Life support care, Manuals, Medicine, North Carolina, Physicians', Planning, Primary care facilities, Protocols, offices

Annotation: The Little Sisters of the Assumption Family Health Service, Inc. (LSAFHS), built on existing home-based services to improve the health and well-being of antenatal and postpartum women, infants and toddlers, and their families. Critical program components included expanding antenatal and postpartum services; providing in-home assessments, early stimulation, and participation in New York City's Early Intervention Program; and creating an integrated database. LSAFHS serves families in East Harlem—an inner-city neighborhood in Manhattan—who suffer a disproportionate share of the city's social and health problems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-151474.

Keywords: Case Management, Community Integrated Service System program, Data Collection, Databases, Early Intervention, Health Promotion, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families

Annotation: The Healthy Beginnings project was designed to expand the services currently available in the Babies First! program by adding volunteers and paraprofessionals. This staff administered the Parents As Teachers program, in addition to conducting intensive visits to provide health education, case management, parenting support, education, and advocacy under the direction of the public health nurse. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144701.

Keywords: Community Integrated Service System program, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Low Income Population, Paraprofessional Education, Paraprofessional Personnel, Parenting Skills, Preventive Health Care, Public Health Nurses, Training

Annotation: This project sought to meet the developmental needs of pregnant and parenting adolescents, and promote successful health outcomes for their infants. The project combined education and support components of LifeSpan—an established program for pregnant and parenting adolescents—with case management services, including home visiting by trained paraprofessionals. LifeSpan served as an early entry point into medical and social service supports for pregnant adolescents. Comprehensive services ensured that mothers and infants received a continuum of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144719.

Keywords: Adolescent Parents, Case Management, Child Abuse Prevention, Child Neglect, Community Integrated Service System program, Health Education, Health Promotion, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Mother Infant Interaction, Pregnant Adolescents

Annotation: This project targeted first-time mothers in the City of Alexandria who were eligible for medicaid and who had personal or transient risk factors that may predispose them to abusing or neglecting their children. This 3-year project: (1) Ensured adequate prenatal care as prescribed by the clients' medical provider or by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; (2) ensured well-child care and advance optimal child development; (3) improved new mothers' knowledge of child care needs and child behavior; (4) enhanced parent-child interaction, bonding, and parenting skills; and (5) prevented child abuse and neglect among enrollees. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144743.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Case Management, Child Abuse Prevention, Child Neglect, Community Integrated Service System program, Hispanics, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Language Barriers, Minority Groups, Paraprofessional Personnel, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Education, Parenting Skills, Prenatal Care, Prenatal Care, Screening, Well Child Care