Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Connecticut Department of Health's Office of Oral Health. It provides an overview of the office and discusses its vision, oral disease prevention, school-based dental sealant programs, community water fluoridation (CWF), oral health surveillance, and medical-dental integration in the state. Statistical information on the percentage of students in third grade with dental sealants, adult dental visits, and amount saved as a result of CWF and dental sealant placement is provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Connecticut, Costs, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs, School health services, State agencies, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2019–2020 about the health, including oral health, of children living in rural areas, as well as use of health care. Topics include receipt of preventive medical and oral health visits; adverse childhood experiences; and weight, physical activity, and food insecurity.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Rural population, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This plan was created with a vision of empowering all South Dakotans to embrace oral health as a critical component of overall health and well-being throughout life. The plan includes the following goals: improve oral health literacy and awareness of the importance of oral health; prevent oral diseases; increase the availability, accessibility, and use of oral health care; and coordinate state oral health efforts. For each goal, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: South Dakota Oral Health Coalition, South Dakota Dental Association, 804 N. Euclid Avenue, Suite 103, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 224-9133 Web Site: https://www.sddental.org/public-resources/oral-health-coalition Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, Service coordination, South Dakota, State materials

Annotation: This paper summarizes challenges related to health care during the COVID-19 pandemic and explores the consequences of these challenges. It frames the situation; discusses ways to restore the public’s trust in health care, including oral health care; and outlines calls to action for health professionals to improve the health of the nation and accelerate recovery from future pandemics.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

• Registration Required

Keywords: , Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides information on a likely surge in oral health treatment needs among adults owing to events that have occurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, including loss of dental insurance coverage, increased oral health problems resulting from loss of insurance, and delays in receiving oral health care owing to concerns about costs of care or exposure to the virus. Topics include impact on the larger health system, intensifying disparities, the spillover effect of chronic health conditions on oral health, and barriers to accessing preventive oral health care.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Uninsured persons, Virus diseases

Annotation: This interim report presents results from an evaluation of performance during the first 3 years (2017–2019) of Oregon’s 1115 Medicaid waiver to transform its Medicaid program, establishing 16 coordinated- care organizations to provide comprehensive care for its Medicaid population. The report assessed progress in four key areas: behavioral health integration, oral health integration, use of health-related services—a mechanism for addressing social determinants of health, and program enhancements for individuals who are dually enrolled in Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Oregon Health & Science University, Center for Health Systems Effectiveness, 3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Road, Portland, OR 97239-3098, Telephone: (503) 494-8311 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ohsu.edu/chse Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Health care utilization, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net projects. The goal of the initiative is to improve access to and utilization of comprehensive, high-quality oral health care in community health centers for pregnant women, infants and children from birth to age 40 months, and children ages 6–11 at high risk for oral disease. The report includes a profile of each of the three projects: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration; Rocky Mountain Network; and Transforming Oral Health for Families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, High risk groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

Annotation: This article describes a project to increase the use of oral health care for pregnant women and infants in Wisconsin by integrating oral health care into the state’s health-care-delivery system. The article also presents findings from a survey of dentists about their current practice, knowledge, and interest in continuing education related to oral health care during pregnancy. Topics include dentists’ opinions about the barriers that pregnant women face and strategies to increase their use of oral health services. Information about how findings will be implemented is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Continuing education, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, State surveys, Statewide planning, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This report describes the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) and how PRAMS data can be used for evaluating the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project in Connecticut. Topics include births and maternal oral health and health care in Connecticut. Other topics include PRAMS questions on maternal oral health, oral health care for mothers by health insurance status, and implications and alternatives for project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program evaluation, Risk assessment, State programs, State surveys

Annotation: This website provides resources from a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to improve health and control health care costs. Topics include high-burden health conditions and associated interventions that prevent chronic and infectious diseases by increasing coverage, access, use, and quality; and how to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models. Contents include a fact sheet and evidence summaries on reducing tobacco use, controlling high blood pressure, preventing health care-associated infections, controlling asthma, preventing unintended pregnancy, and controlling and preventing diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coalitions, Collaboration, Consumers, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Infectious diseases, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Third party payers

Annotation: This kit is designed to help parents meet the challenges of parenting and support the healthy development of their infant or young child. Contents include resources about child development, health and safety, quality child care, and school readiness. Information about the importance of oral health in young children, preventing and treating tooth decay, oral hygiene during pregnancy and infancy, and finding a dentist is included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child development, Child health, Child safety, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Infant health, Infants, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, State initiatives, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on children's use of dental services in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. It includes state-specific performance data for two measures: preventive dental services and dental treatment services. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality-monitoring and qaulity-improvement efforts related to oral health care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This manual documents how the Dental Quality Alliance develops performance measures for oral health care. Topics include the roles of the research and development advisory committee and chair, conflict-of-interest procedures, confidentiality, and copyright. The report describes the measure-development process and discusses measure identification, development, evaluation, dissemination, maintenance, and updates.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Disease prevention, Group processes, Health care utilization, Information dissemination, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Program development, Program evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of studies on the use of emergency departments for nontraumatic oral health conditions and oral health care. The report discusses variations in target populations, outcomes of interest, predictive factors, data sources, and research methods. Recommendations for future research are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Appendices

Keywords: Dental care, Emergency room data, Health care utilization, Hospital emergency services, Oral health, Research methodology, Utilization review

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes literature and data describing the oral health of Kentucky's population, including the oral health status of different population groups, oral health service delivery in safety net settings, and the supply and distribution of the oral health work force in the state. Other topics include the geographic and demographic characteristics of Kentucky’s population, the history of oral health in Kentucky, the impact of dental insurance on access to and use of oral health services in the state, and oral health professional shortage areas and safety net providers.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental insurance, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Health status, Kentucky, Oral health, Population surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This brief reviews implementation requirements governing access to reproductive health services in Medicaid managed care. Topics include network adequacy and access to services, travel time and distance standards, timely availability of services, direct access to providers, information requirements, and utilization controls. Recommendations for states are also included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care, Provider networks, Regulations, Reproductive health, Standards, Third party payers, Women', s health

Annotation: These resources for oral health professionals and others focus on the safety and use of dental sealants in children and adolescents. Topics include types of sealants, evidence, and common misperceptions. Contents include infographics about sealant safety and how sealants work that are designed to be downloaded and shared on social media networks. Additional resources for professionals, including educational handouts to share with clients, are also provided.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, Multimedia, Preventive health services, Safety