Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video library is designed for pediatricians wishing to integrate oral health care into well-child visits, as well as for parents. The library contains one video correlating with each well-child visit, from the 2-month visit to the age-5 visit.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, Telephone: (207) 805-4243 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mainecohn.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Maine, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State materials, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This tool was developed to assist states in their efforts to improve their capacity to integrate oral health care and primary care for pregnant women. The purpose of the tool is to help state oral health program staff assess systems-level capacity factors and prioritize needs. Staff can use the tool to consider factors that facilitate integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women and to look for opportunities to improve integration. A companion brief with more information on the tool’s development is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Pdf Version
• Word Version

Keywords: Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report discusses minimally invasive care (MIC), how state Medicaid agencies' support of MIC can contribute to improving oral health, and opportunities for these agencies to support the availability of MIC through payment strategies that encourage oral health professionals to use this approach to providing care. Topics include what MIC is, avenues toward supporting it, supporting an expanded oral health workforce, promoting opportunities for clinical integration, and identifying oral health Medicaid payment strategies. Spotlights describing programs that use MIC are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents key considerations for integrating oral health evaluation into prenatal care. Topics include completing an oral health evaluation, integrating oral health evaluation into the electronic medical record, integrating oral health evaluation into the prenatal care workflow, and strategies to increase primary care health professionals’ confidence in completing an oral health evaluation. The document also includes summaries of how prenatal clinics integrate oral health evaluation and links to examples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This policy statement focuses on integrating oral health care into primary care. It provides a summary of the issue, presents the problem of pervasively poor oral health among pregnant women and children from families with low incomes, and discusses opportunities to address this problem by integrating oral health care into primary care. Examples of a national initiative and statewide programs that are working to integrate oral health care into primary care are included, and the role of state and territorial oral health programs in this effort is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, an Ohio program conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children's oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report offers recommendations to support North Carolinians in accessing high-quality and affordable oral health care. The recommendations were developed by the North Carolina Institute of Medicine's Oral Health Transformation Task Force. Strategies for addressing each of the the 14 recommendations are also provided. Also discussed is executing a collaborative implementation plan for oral health transformation in North Carolina.

Contact: North Carolina Institute of Medicine, P.O. Box 4176, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7590, Telephone: (919) 445-6500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nciom.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Health promotion, North Carolina, Oral health, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report describes programmatic efforts of the Integrating Oral Health Care and Primary Care Learning Collaborative: A State and Local Partnership project to integrate oral health care and prenatal care with both a state and a local component. The report discusses project team selection, the state-level approach, the local-level approach, use of stipend funds and in-kind support, and integration of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies into prenatal care at the participating clinic site. The report’s executive summary is also available separately.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Clinics, Local programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Spotlights include a program overview; a description of the program’s inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation. The report also describes key elements for program success and challenges common across all programs that support or limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about why medical-dental integration (MDI), a model of care that emphasizes the connection between oral health and systemic health, is important. Topics include MDI efforts in Connecticut, emerging MDI-related trends outside Connecticut, barriers to MDI, and policy and program recommendations.

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Oral health, Public policy, Service integration, State information, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This checklist, which is intended for clinics participating in the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the MCH Safety Net's Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, is designed to help ensure that work done toward integrating oral health care is sustained after the project has ended. The checklist includes items demonstrating that oral health has been integrated into a practice. Examples from the checklist include submitting a written self-assessment, updated job descriptions, an onboarding process, a patient health history intake form, and appropriate policy documents.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses systemic barriers to oral health care and overall health care coordination and how these barriers can be mitigated. It provides an analysis of 715 pieces of literature and categorizes them into five primary segments: education exploratory, education implemented, health professional exploratory, health professional implemented, and informative. The report highlights ways that the literature reflects four main themes: awareness, workforce development and operations, information exchange, and payment. Recommendations for developing frameworks to address oral health care and overall health care coordination are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Oral health, Reimbursement, Research, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Safety Net and a profile of each of three projects: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information about the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on network activities.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Service delivery, Service integration

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of integrating oral health care into obstetrical and gynecological care to improve the oral health and mental health of women during and after pregnancy. The report explains why poor oral health and mental health may be a particular problem for women during and after pregnancy, and how oral health and mental health are linked. It also explains the part obstetrician-gynecologists can play in identifying oral health and mental health problems in their pregnant and postpartum patients. Statistical information from the 2021 State of Oral Health Equity survey is presented, along with a call to action.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Gynecology, Mental health, Obstetrical care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, Statistical data

Annotation: This guide, which is intended for prenatal and pediatric health professionals who provide care to pregnant women and children, discusses lessons learned from quality-improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care in prenatal and pediatric settings. It offers steps to take in integrating oral health care in these settings. Steps are divided into the following categories: planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress. Advice from existing projects that have integrated oral health care is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents information from a summit convened to advance health equity by catalyzing aligned, multistate action. The summit focused on three strategic areas: expanded oral health insurance coverage, workforce development, and integration of oral health care and overall health care. The report provides background information and an overview of the summit, as well as a description of sessions.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Conferences, Health equity, Health insurance, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This guide for prenatal and pediatric health professionals discusses lessons learned from quality-improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care into primary care settings. Topics include planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress. The guide was produced by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children