Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

National Education Association Health Information Network. 2013. Rx for understanding: Preventing prescription drug abuse–Educator's resource guide. Washington, DC: National Education Association Health Information Network, 104 pp.

Annotation: This standards-based, cross-curricular teaching resource is geared for students in grades 9-12. Contents include 10 lessons that lead students through an inquiry-based, technology inspired project enabling an opportunity to apply the key concepts learned about the misuse, abuse, and proper use of prescription drugs. The guide includes background information, lesson plans, a reproducible student journal, teaching resources, parent information, and national academic standards alignment charts (including National Health Education Standards and Common Core State Standards).

Contact: National Education Association Healthy Futures, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Suite 216, Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 822-7570 Fax: (202) 822-7775 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neahhealthyfutures.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Injury prevention, Prescription drugs, Safety, School health education, Secondary schools, Substance abuse prevention, Teaching

Youth Sports Safety Alliance. 2013. National action plan for sports safety. Carrollton, TX: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the benefits and potential risks to student athletes while playing sports and general recommended actions for schools, parents, and advocates to minimize or eliminate adverse outcomes among secondary school athletes. Topics include providing proper equipment, available health care professionals, and a safe environment. The document also provides specific recommended actions related to cardiac events, neurologic injuries, environmental / exertional conditions, and dietary / substance-induced conditions.

Contact: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 1620 Valwood Parkway, Suite 115, Carrollton, TX 75006, Telephone: (214) 637-6282 Secondary Telephone: (860) 437-5700 Fax: (214) 637-2206 Web Site: http://www.nata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Athletes, Community action, Health care delivery, Injury prevention, Parents, Physical activity, Policy development, Risk factors, Safety, Safety equipment, Secondary schools, Sports, Students

Buzby JC, Guthrie JF, Kantor LS. 2003. Evaluation of the USDA fruit and vegetable pilot program: Report to Congress. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Services, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an early review of the United States Department of Agriculture's Fruit and Vegetable Pilot Program, in which the program provided fresh and dried fruit and fresh vegetables free to children in 107 elementary and secondary schools. The report includes a summary, an overview of the program, a description of the evaluation plan, and evaluation findings. Three appendices include legislative language of the program, program schools, and program data. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report also contains a bibliography.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov $25.50; also available from the website. Document Number: EFAN 03-006.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Elementary schools, Evaluation, Fruit, Nutrition programs, Pilot projects, Secondary schools, Vegetables

University of Wisconsin-Madison, Comprehensive Cancer Center. 2003. 2002 Wisconsin school health education profile report. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, 42 pp. (Bulletin no. 03131)

Annotation: This report provides statewide data for Wisconsin on middle school and high school health education curriculum and policy, as reported by school principals and lead health teachers. Major topics covered are tobacco, physical education and activity, nutrition, HIV and AIDS, violence, and asthma.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Student Services, Prevention and Wellness Team, 125 South Webster Street, P.O. Box 7841, Madison, WI 53707-7841, Telephone: (800) 441-4563 Secondary Telephone: (608) 266-8960 Fax: (608) 267-9354 Web Site: http://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/index.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data, School health education, Secondary schools, Surveys, Wisconsin

Mahoney BS, Olsen LK, eds. 1993. Health education: Teacher resource handbook: A practical guide for K-12 education. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications, 435 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is designed for curriculum developers and teachers to provide them with information on the background of health curriculum, as well as current, comprehensive information on resources such as publications, standards, and special materials. It covers grades K–12. The handbook is divided into 15 chapters. Topics covered include curriculum design, state level curriculum guidelines, role of governmental health and education agencies, children's trade books, health assessment programs, funding, curriculum material producers, and textbook adoption.

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary schools, Program development, School health education, Secondary schools

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1985 (ca.). Human genetics: Educational materials for the classroom. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 14 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography provides a list of resources, types of organizations, teaching aids, curricula, and publications on human genetics and genetic disorders designed to help secondary school science teachers introduce human genetics education into their own curricula. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Directories, Educational materials, Genetics disorders, Genetics education, Resource materials, Secondary schools
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.