Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

National Education Association Health Information Network. 2013. Rx for understanding: Preventing prescription drug abuse–Educator's resource guide. Washington, DC: National Education Association Health Information Network, 104 pp.

Annotation: This standards-based, cross-curricular teaching resource is geared for students in grades 9-12. Contents include 10 lessons that lead students through an inquiry-based, technology inspired project enabling an opportunity to apply the key concepts learned about the misuse, abuse, and proper use of prescription drugs. The guide includes background information, lesson plans, a reproducible student journal, teaching resources, parent information, and national academic standards alignment charts (including National Health Education Standards and Common Core State Standards).

Contact: National Education Association Healthy Futures, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Suite 216, Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 822-7570 Fax: (202) 822-7775 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neahhealthyfutures.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Injury prevention, Prescription drugs, Safety, School health education, Secondary schools, Substance abuse prevention, Teaching

National Commission on Children and Disasters. 2010. 2010 report to the President and Congress. Washington, DC: National Commission on Children and Disasters, 185 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study that assessed the needs of infants, children, and adolescents in relation to preparation for, response to, and recovery from all hazards, including major disasters and emergencies. The report includes specific findings, conclusions, and recommendations relating to (1) child health, mental health, and trauma; (2) child care in all settings; (3) child welfare; (4) elementary and secondary education; (5) sheltering, temporary housing, and affordable housing; (6) transportation; (7) juvenile justice; (8) evacuation; and (9) relevant activities in emergency management. The report also provides specific recommendations on the need for planning and establishing a national resource center on children and disasters and discusses the coordination of resources and services, administrative actions, policies, regulations, and legislative changes.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child care, Child health, Costs, Disaster planning, Disasters, Elementary education, Emergencies, Housing, Infant health, Juvenile justice, Legislation, Mental health, Public policy, Research, Secondary education, Service coordination, Transportation, Trauma

University of Wisconsin-Madison, Comprehensive Cancer Center. 2003. 2002 Wisconsin school health education profile report. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, 42 pp. (Bulletin no. 03131)

Annotation: This report provides statewide data for Wisconsin on middle school and high school health education curriculum and policy, as reported by school principals and lead health teachers. Major topics covered are tobacco, physical education and activity, nutrition, HIV and AIDS, violence, and asthma.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Student Services, Prevention and Wellness Team, 125 South Webster Street, P.O. Box 7841, Madison, WI 53707-7841, Telephone: (800) 441-4563 Secondary Telephone: (608) 266-8960 Fax: (608) 267-9354 Web Site: http://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/index.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data, School health education, Secondary schools, Surveys, Wisconsin

Mahoney BS, Olsen LK, eds. 1993. Health education: Teacher resource handbook: A practical guide for K-12 education. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications, 435 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is designed for curriculum developers and teachers to provide them with information on the background of health curriculum, as well as current, comprehensive information on resources such as publications, standards, and special materials. It covers grades K–12. The handbook is divided into 15 chapters. Topics covered include curriculum design, state level curriculum guidelines, role of governmental health and education agencies, children's trade books, health assessment programs, funding, curriculum material producers, and textbook adoption.

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary schools, Program development, School health education, Secondary schools

Pope AM, Tarlov AR, eds. 1991. Disability in America: Toward a national agenda for prevention—Full report, summary and recommendations. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 376 pp., summ. (52 pp.).

Annotation: This book provides a follow-up to the Institute of Medicine's report "Injury in America" released in 1985. It describes a comprehensive approach to disability prevention. Included are developmental disability, disabilities caused by injury, chronic disease and aging, and secondary conditions arising from primary disabling conditions. It presents a five-prong strategy (organization and coordination within and between the public and private sectors, surveillance, research, access to medical care, and education) for reducing the incidence and prevalence of disability as well as its personal, social, and economic consequences. The summary provides an overview of the full report.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-04378-6 .

Keywords: Age, Consumer education, Costs, Disabilities, Emergency medical services, Epidemiology, External cause of injury codes, Head injuries, Integration, Mental disorders, Older adults, Physical disabilities, Planning, Policy statements, Population surveillance, Population surveillance, Prevention, Rehabilitation, Research, Secondary disabilities, Special health care needs, Spinal cord injuries, Training

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1985 (ca.). Human genetics: Educational materials for the classroom. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 14 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography provides a list of resources, types of organizations, teaching aids, curricula, and publications on human genetics and genetic disorders designed to help secondary school science teachers introduce human genetics education into their own curricula. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Directories, Educational materials, Genetics disorders, Genetics education, Resource materials, Secondary schools
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.