Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure provides information for parents of children with hearing loss. The brochure discusses genetics and hearing loss; insurance and paying for genetic testing; what parents should do once hearing loss has been diagnosed; why it is important for children with hearing loss to be seen by a geneticist; how to prepare for the genetics appointment; and what happens at the appointment.

Contact: American College of Medical Genetics, 7220 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 718-9603 Fax: (301) 718-9604 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acmg.net Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Genes, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infants

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Annotation: This online resource includes shared care planning tool for families of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and a 5-item screening tool to identify CSHCN based on the definition provided by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau. A searchable library contains reports, data and research briefs, presentations, project summaries, and additional materials aimed at promoting lifelong health for children, youth, and families using family-centered measurement, data and tools.

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Data , Family centered care, Screening tests, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the number of children in Iowa who received a required oral health screening at school during the 2022–2023 school year. The report presents information, by county, on the following categories: number of children enrolled, with valid screening certificates, with treatment needs, provider types, and with valid exemption certificates (religious or financial hardship). A key with more information about each category is included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Iowa, Oral health, School age children, Screening tests, State information

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This August 4, 2022 recording features a comprehensive panel discussion on telehealth applications within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, showcasing diverse perspectives from across North America. Bill Campbell presents on Remote Infant Auditory Brainstem Response Assessment in Ontario, highlighting improved service access despite technological challenges, while Todd Houston discusses findings from a Journal of EHDI monograph emphasizing telehealth benefits and the need for specialized training. Arlene Stredler Brown shares Colorado research on telehealth equity considerations, revealing provider and family feedback indicating a need for enhanced training in family-centered early intervention approaches. Alex Meibos provides technical insights on audiology telehealth platforms, noting that many hearing aid manufacturers offer online solutions adaptable for early intervention. Pamela Dawson contributes telehealth resource information specific to the Northeast region, and Julie Purdy rounds out the presentation with California survey data on implementing Oticon hearing aid online platforms and affordable home otoscopy options using smartphone applications, collectively demonstrating how telehealth is transforming accessibility and delivery of pediatric audiology services nationwide.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Audiology, Deafness, Hearing tests, Hearing screening, Infant health, Children', s health, Program evaluation, Canada, Ohio, Colorado, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, California

Annotation: This May 31, 2022 recording features Candace Lindow-Davies, Outreach Director for Hands & Voices, detailing the organization's nationwide virtual family engagement initiatives within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, showcasing adaptations made during and after the pandemic. Lindow-Davies comprehensively outlines their multilingual resources, including English and Spanish literature, printable Family Activity Plans for home use, and various digital tools and applications designed to support families with children who are deaf or hard of hearing. The presentation highlights a robust calendar of live virtual opportunities specifically developed to cultivate parent leadership skills, alongside ongoing virtual support systems and events that maintain community connections while addressing the unique needs of these families through accessible, remote engagement strategies that evolved from pandemic-era necessity into sustainable programming models. The slides from the presentation are available for download.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Family support services, Disaster planning, Deafness, Hearing tests, Hearing screening

Annotation: This report provides a summary of resources that school nurses can consult as they consider when and whether to go back to school and, once back, whether to conduct oral health screenings. It provides background about tooth decay during childhood and about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the provision of oral health care. Also discussed are identification of children who need oral health care, communication, and infection-control measures.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus Diseases

Annotation: This infographic provides information to help school nurses ensure that children get the oral health care they need during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information about the problems that tooth decay in childhood cause and includes instructions on how to conduct verbal assessments and oral health screenings. Information about the personal protective equipment required to safely conduct oral health screenings is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus diseases

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This report presents findings on the evidence base for different types of genetic tests for patient management and provides recommendations to advance the development of an adequate evidence base for genetic tests to improve patient care and treatment. Contents include information about the uses of genetic testing; ethical, legal, and social implications; assessment of genetic tests; evidence; and recommendations for research and a framework for decision making related to the use of genetic tests in clinical care.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Disease management, Evaluation methods, Genetic screening, Models, Outcome and process assessment, Patient care, Policy development, Research, Screening tests

Annotation: This factsheet provides information on RAAPS, a short, standardized, and validated risk screening tool designed especially for the needs of adolescents. It provides an overview of the RAAPS (Rapid Assessment for Adolescent Preventive Services) tool, a screening tool for assessing adolescent risk factors. This document points out the advantages of using it for adolescents and professionals, and draws comparisons between it and other tools (such as the AMA's GAPS and the American Academy of Pediatric's Bright Futures). The tool was created by a team of academics from the University of Michigan along with teenagers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Health screening, Screening tests, Adolescent health, Risk assessment

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Evaluation, Language development, Language disorders, Research, Screening, Screening tests, Speech development, Speech disorders, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professional provides information about the role the medical home plays in ensuring that children receive timely eye examinations; vision screenings; and, when necessary, eye examinations and treatment for vision conditions. The fact sheet discusses common eye problems in preschool-age children, the importance of educating families about vision milestones, guidelines for vision screening, and benefits of early vision screening and eye examinations in the medical home. Links to resources for more information are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Eye diseases, Families, Medical home, Resource materials, Treatment, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This bochure describes the importance of newborn screening in the early detection of heritable and genetic conditions that may otherwise be hidden in infancy or early childhood. It outlines the history of newborn screening in the United States in the past 50 years, the importance of blood-spot samples from every newborn being screened by a laboratory, the public health success of newborn screening, the economic benefits of early detection of conditions, the success of pre-discharge hearing and heart screening, and the importance of evolving and improving newborn screening. The brochure contains tables describing the most common disorders screened for and partners in the screening process. It also provides several vignettes of people who were diagnosed with various conditions and were able to lead healthy lives because their conditions could be treated if diagnosed early.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blood tests, Genetic screening, Hearing tests, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Screening tests

Annotation: This brochure explains the importance of newborn screening for new parents. It discusses national and state testing practices so that parents will know early about potential life threatening illnesses or disabilities to their baby.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Screening tests