Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluation of the North Dakota Oral Health Program. Topics include community water fluoridation, oral health services provided in federally qualified health centers, all North Dakota school-based dental sealant programs, SEALIND: all schools served by one North Dakota school-based dental sealant program, SEALIND: schools qualifying for oral health services based on need, and the integration of oral health care and primary care in a North Dakota family medical center.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluoride, North Dakota, Oral health, School health, School-age children, Service delivery, Service integration, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health status of children in third grade in Pennsylvania. Information is from the 2021–2022 Oral Health Basic Screening Survey of Third-Graders. Topics include the benefits of oral health, the survey method, screening procedures used for the survey, data, key terms, results, and future directions.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health screeenings, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Prevention, School health, School-age children, State programs, Surveys, state informaiton

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This report presents data tables and figures based on findings from the Alabama Smiles 2020–2022 oral health survey of kindergarten and third-grade children in Alabama. The report provides definitions of terms, an explanation of sampling and data analysis, and quick facts. Tables and figures include data about children with tooth decay experience and untreated decay, demographic characteristics of participating children, their oral health status, the percentage with dental sealants, the percentage needing early or urgent oral health care, the percentage with treated tooth decay, and trends over time.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief presents information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of kindergarten and third grade children in Alabama compared to the general U.S. population screened between 2011 and 2016 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, and oral health disparities. Data sources and methods are discussed, and definitions of terms are provided.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Oral health equity, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This guide presents activity-based oral health lessons and resources for kindergarten and first grade classroom teachers. The lessons are designed to be integrated into curricula. Each lesson includes a summary, a learning goal, guidelines for how to prepare the lesson, and ideas for how students can share what they learned with their family. Resources such as a video, storybook, and wall chart are included.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Learning activities, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School-age children

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This report analyzes school breakfast participation for the 2008-2009 school year. The report provides information about who is eligible for the federal School Breakfast Program, discusses findings of the study, discusses child nutrition reauthorization, and provides school meals legislation by state as well as other state-by-state information.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Costs, Eligibility, Federal programs, Legislation, Low income groups, Nutrition, School breakfast programs, School-age children, State programs

Annotation: This paper discusses the establishment of brain architecture early in life and the importance of taking advantage of early opportunities in the developmental building process. The paper presents the issue and discusses what science tells us and popular misrepresentations of science, the science-policy gap, and implications for policy and programs.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Brain, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Early intervention programs, High risk children, Prevention, Programs, Public policy, School readiness, School-age children, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about a meeting convened in Bethesda, Maryland, on September 9-10, 2004, in recognition of the need to develop a cooperative plan to enhance human genetics education in classrooms, disseminate information, and generate interest among students in careers in human genetics and related fields. The report discusses differing perspectives on human genetics and genetics community resources. A brief summary of the meeting discussion is included, along with a table outlining what geneticists can do for students in different grades.

Contact: American Society of Human Genetics, 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-7300 Secondary Telephone: (866) HUM-GENE Fax: (301) 634-7079 Web Site: http://www.ashg.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Elementary school, Geneticists, Genetics education, High school students, Middle school, School-age children

Annotation: This paper discusses the relationship between healthy development and the reliability of a young child's relationships with the important people in his or her life, both within and outside the family. The paper presents the issue and discusses what science tells us, unfounded assertions in the name of science, the science-policy gap, and implications for policy and programs.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Fathers, Mental health, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parental leave, Programs, Public policy, Relationships, School readiness, School-age children, Young children

Annotation: This study examined the influence of social context and acculturation on use of health services for preschool Mexican-American and Puerto Rican children in a major Midwestern city. Questions about health practices and service utilization were based on "Healthy People 2000" objectives for Hispanic children, including improving nutrition and reducing asthma morbidity; dental caries; high lead levels; and injuries/deaths from firearms, child abuse, motor vehicle crashes, and residential fires. The influence of health service availability, provider outreach, and mediating variables (e.g., knowledge of health services/practices, parental beliefs/attitudes, sense of control over their children's health) were examined. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2001-106924.

Keywords: Access to Health, Care, Cultural Sensitivity, Hispanics, Hispanics–Mexican Americans, Hispanics–Puerto Ricans, MCH Research, Parents, Puerto Ricans, Research, School-age children

Annotation: The specific aims of this study were to: (1) Describe the life patterns of children of Puerto Rican origin living on the U.S. mainland, taking into consideration variations in socioeconomic status (SES), gender, and color; (2) describe Puerto Rican children's experiences with migration and the impact of migration on the interconnected contexts of their family, peer groups, school, neighborhood, and ethnic community, as well as the majority culture; and (3) examine the relationships between migration, social contexts, and Puerto Rican children's development, both cross-sectionally and longitudinally. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2000-106925.

Keywords: Data Collection, Hispanics–Puerto Ricans, MCH Research, Minority Groups, Parents, Puerto Ricans, Research, School-age children

Annotation: More than two decades of epidemiological and clinic-based studies indicate that children with disabilities and chronic illnesses and their mothers are at high risk for secondary mental health problems. Despite this extensive body of work, few community-based interventions have been developed to reduce the risk of poor mental health outcomes, and few have been evaluated comprehensively. The goal of this study was to implement and evaluate a 15-month parent-professional intervention designed to reduce the risk of poor mental health outcomes for children with chronic illnesses and their parents. This study aimed to (1) assess the intervention's success in reaching specific objectives, (2) assess the intervention's impact on participants' mental health, and (3) document which children and parents benefit most from the intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2001-101687.

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, MCH Research, Mental Health, Parent Support Services, Parents, Parents, Research, School-age children, Self Esteem

Annotation: This book provides parents and others with the skills to organize effectively and speak out on issues that affect children at home, at school, and in the broader community. Topics include (1) why taking action is important, (2) getting started, (3) reaching out and involving others, (4) forming action groups, (5) using action groups to take action, (6) sustaining momentum and celebrating success, and (7) real-life examples of advocates in action.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Communities, Education, Families, Safety, School-age children

Annotation: While causes of homelessness can be traced, much is unknown about the course of homelessness over time. By following a sample of homeless and housed families for 24 months and collecting additional data, the study team: (1) Examined the course of homelessness among families and the extent to which it is chronic or episodic; (2) compared factors that increase the risk of homelessness with those that prolong it; (3) examined mediating factors, especially social supports; (4) described the consequences of homelessness for women; and (5) examined the consequences of homelessness, other risk factors, and protective factors on the development, adaptation, and achievement of children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-158040.

Keywords: Adolescents (not pregnancy related), Families, Homeless Persons, Infants, MCH Research, Mental Health, Nonpregnant women (not otherwise identified as adolescents), Parents, Pregnant women (not otherwise defined as adolescents), Preschool children, Psychosocial Factors, Research, School-age children, Toddlers

Annotation: This project was designed to evaluate the long-term effects of home intervention on the health, growth, and development of low-income, inner-city children diagnosed with nonorganic failure to thrive (NOFTT). The longitudinal study built on an ongoing randomized clinical trial of home intervention. The study followed the intervention children and their matched controls through their preschool years until they reached first grade. Approximately 90 percent of the children were from African-American families and most of the families were headed by single mothers who had not completed high school. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2000-106933.

Keywords: Blacks, Failure to Thrive, Home Health Services, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Low Income Population, MCH Research, Preschool children, Research, School-age children, Urban Population

Annotation: Long-term dietary treatment of patients with phenylketonuria (PKU) is essential for optimal development and maintenance of intellectual ability. Children should be educated and adequately prepared to assume self-management of their treatment as they undergo physiological and psychosocial maturation. This study examined the effects of an experimental program that uses both an educational and a behavioral approach to accomplish dietary self-management by child and adolescent phenylketonuria patients. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB95-209516.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescents, Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Chronically Ill, MCH Research, Metabolic Disorders, Nutrition, Patient Education, Phenylketonuria, School Age Children, School-Age Children