Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health status of children in third grade in Pennsylvania. Information is from the 2021–2022 Oral Health Basic Screening Survey of Third-Graders. Topics include the benefits of oral health, the survey method, screening procedures used for the survey, data, key terms, results, and future directions.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health screeenings, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Prevention, School health, School-age children, State programs, Surveys, state informaiton

Annotation: This report provides information on the oral health of children in Rhode Island. Data and analysis are based on results fromf a 2021–2022 statewide oral health basic screening survey and from 2019–2020 and 2022–2022 statewide oral health surveys of children in kindergarten and third grade enrolled in Rhode Island’s public elementary schools, both conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health’s Oral Health Program. The report describes survey methods and presents results. Other topics include oral health outcomes (tooth decay, untreated decay, dental sealants among children in third grade, rampant decay, and early or urgent oral health care), the impact of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status on oral health, and a comparison of results to results from a 2013–2014 survey on children in third grade.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This survey is intended for use with parents or other caregivers whose child is a patient at a community health center (CHC) participating in the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The survey, which includes three versions (English, Spanish, and Arabic) comprises questions for parents or other caregivers to answer to help CHCs provide care for their child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Health care delivery, Non English language materials, Oral health, School age children, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report presents data tables and figures based on findings from the Alabama Smiles 2020–2022 oral health survey of kindergarten and third-grade children in Alabama. The report provides definitions of terms, an explanation of sampling and data analysis, and quick facts. Tables and figures include data about children with tooth decay experience and untreated decay, demographic characteristics of participating children, their oral health status, the percentage with dental sealants, the percentage needing early or urgent oral health care, the percentage with treated tooth decay, and trends over time.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief presents information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of kindergarten and third grade children in Alabama compared to the general U.S. population screened between 2011 and 2016 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, and oral health disparities. Data sources and methods are discussed, and definitions of terms are provided.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral health, Oral health equity, School-age children, State information, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This data brief provides information from the Oregon Smiles Survey. Topic include trends in the percentage of children in the state with treated, untreated, or rampant tooth decay between 2012 and 2017; the percentage of children needing oral health care; cavity rates among children, by region; and percentages of American Indian and Alaska native and black children with tooth decay.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Alaska natives, American Indians, Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Oregon, School age children, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health survey of third grade students attending public schools in Illinois. The goal of the survey was to obtain information about the children's oral health status, weight, and beverage-consumption behaviors. The report describes the survey methods and presents results. Performance on selected Healthy People 2020 objectives, including oral health, beverage consumption, and body mass index status, is also discussed.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Body weight, Illinois, Oral health, Oral health equity, School age children, State surveys, Statistic data

Annotation: This survey is intended for use with community health centers (CHCs) that are prospective candidates for participation in the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The survey is used to assess CHCs’ readiness to participate in the program. It poses questions about CHC leadership, oral health representation on the executive team, presence of clinical champions, location of the dental clinic, CHC culture, tracking of oral health measures, and other issues related to CHC readiness. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, School age children, Service integration, Surveys

Annotation: This set of nine knowledge assessment and scoring rubric surveys is intended for use by dental providers, medical providers, and patients at community health centers participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The surveys assess providers’ and patients’ knowledge about preventing tooth decay, for the purpose of informing training. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Dental caries, Needs assessment, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This services assessment survey is one of a set of seven assessments gauging aspects of the operations and services of community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The survey focuses on fluoride varnish, caries risk assessment, anticipatory guidance and patient/parent education, and referrals, The assessments are intended to inform efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care in the CHCs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Needs assessment, Oral health, School age children, Service integration, Surveys

Annotation: This survey is one of a set of seven assessments gauging aspects of the operations and services of community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The survey includes questions for CHC staff to help them prepare to integrate oral health care into primary care in their center. The assessments are intended to inform efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care in the CHCs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Needs assessment, Oral health, School age children, Service integration, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information from a statewide oral health survey of students in third grade attending Missouri’s public schools conducted to assess the oral health status of students in third grade in Missouri compared with their counterparts nationwide. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, oral health disparities, and data sources and methods.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Missouri, Oral health, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief provides information based on results from the 2018–2019 Basic Screening Survey of children in kindergarten in Texas, conducted by the Texas Department of State Health Service, Oral Health Program to collect oral health data in a way that is consistent with national standards. The report describes survey methods and presents results on oral health indicators (tooth decay, untreated decay, and dental visits during the past year), 2012–2018; presents a comparison of Texas survey results to national targets for 2020; and indicates whether targets were met. Overall findings are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Kindergarten, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This report presents information from the Idaho 2017 Smile Survey, which examined 3,687 students at 68 randomly selected schools in the state to determine prevalence of untreated tooth decay, treated tooth decay, and missing permanent teeth due to tooth decay; presence of dental sealants; and need for restorative dental care. The report introduces the issues and presents a map of Idaho public school districts and key findings. Topics include active tooth decay, tooth decay experience, restorative dental service needs, and dental service history. For each topic, information is provided in text, tables, and figures. Sample design, data collection, and data limitations are also discussed.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Idaho, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides information based on results from the 2017–2018 Basic Screening Survey of children in third grade in Texas, conducted by the Texas Department of State Health Service, Oral Health Program to collect oral health data in a way that is consistent with national standards. The report describes survey methods and presents information on oral health indicators (tooth decay, untreated decay, and dental sealants), 2012–2018; presents a comparison of Texas survey results to national targets for 2020; and indicates whether targets were met. Overall findings are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys, Texas