Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dental hygienists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dentists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what health professionals can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to integrate oral health and overall health across systems in the state. It discusses school-based health centers and the impact that tooth decay in children and adolescents can have on school readiness, absenteeism, career readiness, and mental health and well-being. Also discussed are two policy opportunities: adopting K–12 education standards and including oral health in school-based drug-prevention-education and mental-health-promotion curricula.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Curricula, Mental health, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, School health, School readiness, Statewide planning

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a systematic review of home visiting research to determine which home visiting program models have sufficient evidence to meet U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) criteria for an "evidence-based early childhood home visiting service delivery model." The brief also summarizes the evidence of effectiveness for the 20 program models that met DHHS criteria. Topics include favorable and sustained program impacts on primary and secondary outcome measures and whether or not the model has been replicated.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Parenting, Research, School readiness, Sustainability, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet examines how health affects school readiness. Topics include oral health and learning and how having a healthy family supports healthy child development. The fact sheet also explores how comprehensive services ensure that children are ready for school and how coordinated systems support health services. It is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child mental health, Child safety, Family support services, Head Start, Infant health, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: This report offers recommendations to strengthen the safety net for children. It describes health barriers to learning, including oral pain and untreated dental caries, and the evidence base for the impact of these barriers on academic success. For each barrier, the report describes the prevalence; the extent of unmet need for services to identify, manage, and treat the barrier; the impact of the barrier on learning; and key points.

Contact: Children's Health Fund, 215 West 125th Street, Suite 301 , New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 535-9400 Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Disease management, Learning, Literature reviews, Needs assessment, Prevalence, School readiness, Service integration

Annotation: This report addresses the assets that dual language learners (DLLs) and English learners (ELs) bring to their education and the factors that support or may impede their educational success. The report also provides recommendations for policy, practice, and research and data collection focused on addressing the challenges in caring for and educating DLLs/ELs from birth to grade 12. Topics include the policy context, demography of the EL population, capacities and influences on language development, promising and effective practices and programs, the development of English language proficiency, DLLs/Els with disabilities, and building the workforce to educate ELs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-45537-4.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child care, Children, Data collection, Education, Home visiting, Infants, Language development, Learning, Policy development, Research, School readiness, Work force

Annotation: This document describes a framework to support school readiness for all children. The framework comprises elements that foster children's learning and development, including teacher-child interactions that are emotionally and instructionally supportive and a well-organized classroom that maximizes learning opportunities; evidence-based curriculum and teaching strategies linked with ongoing assessment of child progress; and highly individualized teaching and learning practices that are required for some skills or for some children to access, participate, and thrive in the preschool classroom.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning, Telephone: (844) 261-3752 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/teaching Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child development, Curriculum development, Emotional development, Learning, Quality assurance, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Teaching, Young children

Annotation: This resource defines school readiness and provides frameworks for understanding school readiness, and outlines goals and core strategies to promote school readiness in Head Start programs. Additional contents include frequently asked questions applicable to agencies serving preschoolers and/or infants and toddlers and those serving infants and toddlers only. Information about ways programs can establish goals for school readiness and take steps to achieve them are also available.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Community programs, Emotional development, Families, Head Start, Infant health, Infants, Language development, Learning, Parent participation, Psychosocial development, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This report presents survey results on the prevalence and severity of tooth decay in students in kindergarten in public schools in Arizona. Contents include information about tooth decay and the impact of poor oral health on children, families, and society, with an emphasis on the relationship between oral health and academic achievement. Survey results are presented by domain, including prevalence of decay experience, untreated decay, pain and infection, annual dental visits, and insurance coverage. Comparisons to previous statewide surveys, benchmarks and national data, and regional and county highlights are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Web Site: http://azftf.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Benchmarking, Dental caries, Health insurance, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Risk factors, School readiness, State surveys, Statewide planning, Young children

Annotation: This chart for policymakers, educators, and advocates presents a framework for evaluating how well states, districts, and schools address areas critical to student success. The chart is designed similarly to a logic model allowing states and districts to visualize the resources, policies, and practices fundamental to achieving student success. Contents include seven criteria representing general areas deemed critical to the success of public schools and students (school readiness, standards and curriculum, conditions of teaching and learning, work force quality, accountability and assessments, family and community engagement, and school funding). Subcriteria (outcomes integral to closing opportunity and achievement gaps and preparing students with skills) are followed by the indicators that determine the extent to which states, districts, and schools address the criteria. Indicators are grouped by resources, policies and practices, and outputs.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Suite 216, Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• E-book

Keywords: Accountability, Advocacy, Assessment, Curricula, Evaluation, Financing, Learning, Models, Policy development, Public education, Public schools, Quality assurance, Research, School districts, School readiness, Standards, Students, Teaching, Work force

Annotation: This brief examines empirical results from evaluations of early childhood education programs, including state pre-K programs. Topics include public support for pre-K; unanswered questions; and efforts to stimulate public discussion of the evidence for pre-K programs and the cumulative experiences that support long-term educational success, synthesize what is known about long-term outcomes of large-scale pre-K programs, and propose an agenda of longitudinal research on the major questions that bear on the future of pre-K education. The brief is a companion piece to Starting Early: Education from Prekindergarten to Third Grade.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Early childhood education, Outcome and process assessment, Policy analysis, Policy development, Program evaluation, Public policy, Research, School readiness, State programs

Annotation: This flip chart is designed for social services providers who work with women during the prenatal period and parents of infants and children with special health care needs. Topics include taking care of the infant’s or child’s mouth, finding a dentist and planning a trip to the dentist, toothbrushing, tooth decay, intellectual and physical disabilities, cleft lip and cleft palate, autism spectrum disorder, Down syndrome, and g-tube and tracheostomy. Links to short videos and parent handouts are available.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This form is designed to help school nurses collect health data and communicate health standards and health status for children before they start school. The record includes two parts, one to be completed by parents and one to be completed by a health professional. The form provides a consistent format for primary care health professionals and program administrators who must complete the form and gather data on children's health and a consistent set of expectations for early child care professionals.

Contact: Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education, 25 Industrial Park Road, Middletown, CT 06457, Telephone: (860) 807-2108 Fax: (860) 807-2127 Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Student-Supports/Student-Supports-Home-Page/Bureau-of-Health-Nutrition-Family-Services-and-Adult-Education Available from the website.

• .pdf
• .doc

Keywords: Assessment, Data collection, Forms, Health status, Health supervision, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This guide for Head Start health managers provides information about the role of Head Start in fostering a culture of health and wellness for children, families, and staff. Topics include partnering with parents to determine the oral health status of children and pregnant women, developing policies and procedures around oral health, working with oral health professionals, and putting together an oral-health-education plan. Timelines, resources, and strategies are included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Head Start, Health services delivery, Management, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Standards, Young children

Annotation: This document provides information about the costs and benefits of high quality home visiting programs for families with children from birth to age 5 in Virginia. Topics include the impact of home visiting on student performance, family health, and community economic well-being.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Family health, Financing, Home visiting, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, School readiness, State MCH programs, Virginia, Young children