Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This training is designed to ensure that school-based dental sealant program staff have a thorough understanding of the history, operations, and underlying fundamentals of these programs. The training provides detailed guidelines for infection control in school-based programs; discusses tooth selection and assessment for dental sealants; reviews the dental-sealant-application process; and provides information about program operations. Post-tests are available with options for a completion certificate or for two continuing education credits for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in Ohio. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel, Training

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of the Illinois Children’s Healthcare Foundation Pipeline Project—a multi-year initiative funding two Illinois public dental schools, with the goals of increasing the number of dentists who provide oral health care to all children and who work in underserved communities. The report focuses on how well the project met its goals and also outlines implications for future efforts. Topics include findings, the program’s influence on students, students’ learning experience, extramural sites’ experience, implementation, and sustainability.

Contact: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 1200 Jorie Boulevard, Suite 301, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Telephone: (630) 571-2555 Secondary Telephone: (630) 571-2556 Web Site: http://www.ilchf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental schools, Illinois, Low income groups, Oral health, Personnel, State programs

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist parents and school staff in working together to support and improve the learning, development, and health of children and adolescents. Contents include fact sheets for school districts and school administrators, teachers and other school staff, and parents and families. A strategy guide for state and local education agencies on selecting and implementing parent engagement strategies specific to HIV/STD prevention and a facilitator's guide for staff development are also included.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Family support, Health behavior, Learning, Parents, Protective factors, School age children, School districts, School personnel, Schools, Social support, Students, Teachers

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet describes an online program that provides best practices and resources for creating a school wellness program with the ultimate goal of becoming certified as a healthy school. Contents include steps for energizing school staff, students, and families. Topics include gathering a team, assessing and tracking progress, creating a multi-year plan, finding challenges, building awareness, revising district policy, and receiving recognition.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Awards, Families, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, School age children, School districts, School health programs, School personnel, Schools, Students

Annotation: This online training course addresses the requirement for all school personnel to complete a training in the detection and reporting of child abuse or neglect and serves as a refresher for experienced educators as well. The training covers mandated reporting in the state of New Mexico, warning signs and indicators of child abuse and neglect, and directions on filing a report Scenarios shown as videos, interactive activities, and quizzes are included in the online course.

Contact: Southwest Region-National Child Protection Training Center, New Mexico State University, PO Box 30003, MSC3470, Las Cruces, NM 88003, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://swrtc.nmsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, New Mexico, Professional training, School personnel, State initiatives, Training materials

Annotation: This book, primarily for school administrators, also helps teachers, staff, counselors, and students find guidance in responding to a bias incident or hate crime. The guide is divided into three sections: before, during, and after a crisis occurs. Topics include assessing the school climate with an eye towards defusing tension, preventing escalation, and avoiding problems; key points to consider when responding to a bias or hate incident; and addressing long-term planning and capacity building for the future, including development of social and emotional skills.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Hate crime, Needs assessment, School counseling, School health services, School personnel, School violence

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist families of children with autism and members of the school community in understanding and supporting students with autism. It offers an introduction to physical, medical, and other challenges for children with autism or Asperger's Syndrome; information for the many types of school service personnel; educating students with autism; and supporting learning in the student with autism. Resources and appendices include web, print, and video resources.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Community role, Family support services, Resources for professionals, School health, School personnel, Special education, Students

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs

Annotation: This report synthesizes the scientific evidence and best practices on healthy eating and physical activity into one set of guidelines for schools serving students in kindergarten through 12th grade. Topics include coordination of school policies and practices; supportive environments; school nutrition services; physical education and physical activity programs; health education; health, mental health, and social services; family and community involvement; school employee wellness; and professional development for school staff members. Each of nine guidelines is accompanied training are also available from the website.

Contact: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Food consumption, Guidelines, Health policy, Health promotion, Physical activity, Physical education, School health education, School health services, School personnel, Schools

Annotation: This policy brief explores the support needs of military children facing transition, mobility, deployment, and trauma while attending public schools. Recommendations are discussed for addressing these challenges military children encounter in the school environment as well as impact aid, the Interstate Compact, Common Core Standards, sustaining data at state and national levels to identify military students and their respective needs, and funding School Liaison Officers.

Contact: University of Southern California School of Social Work, Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families, 1149 South Hill Street, Suite H-1114, Los Angeles, CA 90015, Telephone: (213) 821-3600 Fax: (213) 821-3601 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cir.usc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Family support services, Military, Psychosocial development, Public schools, School age children, School personnel, School role

Annotation: This book presents a program designed for use by school personnel to support students exposed to trauma. It consists of a series of ten lessons providing skill building techniques geared toward changing maladaptive thoughts, promoting positive behaviors, and increasing levels of peer and parent support for affected students. It contains a group leader training manual that defines program concepts, provides information on selecting student participants, scheduling lessons, assuring confidentiality, coordinating with clinical backup, managing difficult situations and issues, and conducting group meetings. A lesson plans and worksheets and materials sections supplies preparation material and plans as well as homework assignments, worksheets, letters to parents, forms, and other program materials.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org $40.00, plus shipping and handling; download available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior modification, Curricula, Educational materials, Manuals, Mental health programs, Middle schools, Program descriptions, School age children, School linked programs, School personnel, Trauma, Violence

Annotation: This manual is intended to inform administrators, child care providers, caregivers, parents and guardians, and school health staff about specific infectious disease problems they may encounter in the child care setting or in schools. The manual provides specific disease prevention and control guidelines that are consistent with the national standards put forth by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Public Health Association on 52 diseases that are of concern in child care settings and on 25 diseases that are of concern in schools. Section contents include guidelines for staff and children and the environment, misuse of antibiotics, disease reporting, exposure control and outbreak management, fact sheets, sample letter to healthcare providers or parents and guardians, immunizations, Minnesota laws related to childcare settings, a glossary, references, order forms, and fact sheets for school-aged children.

Contact: Hennepin County Health, Housing & Social Services, Epidemiology & Environmental Health, Hopkins Wells Fargo Buildng, 1011 S First Street, Suite 215, Hopkins, MN 55343, Telephone: (612) 348-2741 E-mail: Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Child health, Communicable diseases, Disease transmission, Minnesota, Parents, Prevention, School age children, School health, School personnel, Standards, Young children

Annotation: The study described in this report assesses the adequacy of the dental public health infrastructure in the United States. The report covers a number of topics, including the dental workforce, administrative presence within health departments, financial resources to implement programs, and legal authority. The report provides baseline data for new initiatives to address these topics, with an emphasis on state-level infrastructure. Report sections include government, education, workforce, regulatory issues, and discussion. Recommendations and conclusions are included.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental schools, Health care financing, Oral health, Personnel, Professional education, Public health dentistry, Public health infrastructure, State surveys, Trends

Annotation: This website presents a compendium of guidelines to help school administrators and others determine the breadth of school health, mental health, and safety issues and set priorities for action. It draws from published guidelines on specific components of school health and safety programs, as well as on overall coordination of these programs. Topics include health and safety infrastructure, programs and personnel, family and community involvement, health and safety education, physical education and activities, health and mental health services, nutrition and food services, physical environment and transportation, social environment, and staff health and safety.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coordination, Environmental influences, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Participation, Physical activity, School health programs, School personnel, Transportation

Annotation: This book provides an overview of the past, present, and future of public health education, assessing its readiness to provide the training and education needed to prepare for 21st-century challenges. Eight areas of importance to public health education are examined: informatics, genomics, communication, cultural competence, community-based participatory research, global health, policy and law, and public health ethics. Recommendations address the content of public health education, qualifications for faculty, availability of supervised practice, opportunities for cross-disciplinary research and education, cooperation with government agencies, and government funding for education. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the book. Eight appendices include: a school of public health catalogue abstract, a school of public health survey instrument, the Association of Schools of Public Health survey answers, a paper on the education of public health professionals by Elizabeth Fee, a listing of occupational classifications, a collection of competency sets, an outline of public meetings held in 2001 and 2002, and committee member biographies. References and an index are provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08542-X.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Cultural sensitivity, Ethics, Government financing, Professional education, Professional personnel, Public health agencies, Public health education, Public health infrastructure, Public health schools, Public policy, Questionnaires, Surveys

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives

Annotation: This is one of a series of three publications designed for use by community leaders, policymakers, and health officials in their efforts to make their communities healthier. It is part of the Steps to a HealthierUS initiative. This volume is a how-to guide for learning effective strategies to reduce the burden of diabetes, obesity, cancer, heart disease, and stroke that also discusses lifestyle choices associated with these diseases, including nutrition and physical activity to combat obesity, tobacco, and school health. The volume consists of examples of programs from numerous states; each example describes the public health problem that it addresses, evidence that prevention works for that problem, a description of the program, and notes about the implications of the program.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Communities, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Federal initiatives, Health personnel, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Prevention programs, School health, Strokes, Tobacco use

Annotation: This is one of a series of three publications designed for use by community leaders, policymakers, and health officials in their efforts to make their communities healthier. It is part of the Steps to a HealthierUS initiative. For each topic related to reducing the burden of disease (diabetes, cancer, and heart diseases and stroke) and addressing lifestyle choices (healthy eating and physical activity, tobacco control, and school health programs), the volume discusses the problem, progress to date, prevention opportunities, basic infrastructure for addressing the problem, program examples, challenges ahead, technical resources, and references. Statistics are presented in tables and figures throughout.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Order from the website for a charge.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Communities, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Health personnel, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Prevention programs, School health, Strokes, Tobacco use

Annotation: This manual is one in a series of manuals that provide guidance on child protection for multidisciplinary professionals and community members. This manual examines the roles that teachers, school counselors, school social workers, school nurses, special education professionals, administrators, and other school personnel have in helping maltreated children. Topics include (1) identifying reasons why educators are concerned about child abuse and neglect; (2) recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; (3) what schools can offer to provide support after the report; and (4) programs and individual actions to prevent child abuse and neglect. The manual includes six appendices that contain a glossary, resource lists, an educators' checklist for recognizing possible child maltreatment, a sample list of contacts for reporting suspected cases of child abuse and neglect, and a sample report of suspected child abuse and neglect.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Communities, Counselors, Health care, Intervention, Mental health, Role, School nurses, School personnel, Social workers, Special education, Teachers