Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide provides information on New York University’s (NYU’s) College of Teaching Oral Systemic Health (TOSH) Experience, an interprofessional program that brings together students across health professions. The program is conducted with NYU dental students and nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, medical, and pharmacy students. Topics include the TOSH protocol, a TOSH flowchart, the time required to complete program activities, a script for a patient visit, a student assignment, student instructions, patient instructions, and sample forms.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Forms, Medical students, Nursing, Oral health, Pharmacy schools, Students

Annotation: This manual for school nurses and other school health personnel provides recommendations, resources, and guidelines for coordinated school health practice and programs throughout Rhode Island. Topics include the role of the school nurse and school administrator; state statutes, regulations, and requirements; health services including dental screenings; and healthful school environment including statewide bullying policy.

• All Model Guidelines
• Bullying

Keywords: Guidelines, Models, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Role, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, School safety

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This document describes a project to collect and report population-level data to support the health of school-aged children and the impact of school nursing. Topics include data points; the process of developing a uniform data set, and data use. Step Up & Be Counted! was a 3-year data initiative (2014-2016) that was a joint venture between NASN and the National Association of State School Nurse consultants. The National Uniform School Nurse Data Set was created with 15 data elements, and data was collected from 39 states, some with 1 school district reporting and other states with 100% of the schools reporting data into a national data portal. It has been succeeded by a new initiative called "National School Health Data Set: Every Student Counts!".

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Out of print.

Keywords: Data collection, Program descriptions, School age children, School based management, School health, School health services, School nursing, Students

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: These fact sheets present policy recommendations to improve the health care system in schools in California. The content draws from 2011-2012 state education data, interviews with school education experts, and a survey of school nurses. Topics include issues in identifying children with special health care needs at school, who is caring for them at school, and accessing available funds for school-based health services.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: California, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Health care systems, Nursing, Policy development, Program improvement, School age children, School health

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This document provides nurses working in school settings with a set of emergency care guidelines that they can use when delivering care to ill or injured students. The document discusses pediatric educational recommendations for health professionals, assessment, and triage. Detailed protocols for managing a wide variety or emergencies are presented. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children, Loyola University Medical Center, Building 110 Lower Level, 2160 South First Avenue, Maywood, IL 60153, Telephone: (708) 327-3672 Secondary Telephone: (708) 327-2556 Fax: (708) 327-2548 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http:/www.luhs.org/emsc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Child health, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Nursing education, School health services, School nurses, Training, Triage

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help parents of children with special health needs deal with their children's experiences in the hospital, at home, and at school. It was developed by a group of parents and staff of Project School Care, a program at Children's Hospital, Boston. Project School Care was established to foster educational opportunities for children with special health needs, particularly those assisted by medical technology. The booklet discusses the hospital experience, common questions after hospitalization, home care, home nursing, respite care, financing health care, equipment, education, vocational training and planning for adulthood, recreation and travel, and record keeping. Appendices include a list of resource organizations, suggested readings, and a glossary. The booklet was supported by grants from the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Charles A. Lindbergh Fund. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Education, Home care, Nursing, Parenting, Respite care, School health services, Vocational rehabilitation

Annotation: This collection of monographs are an outgrowth of a series of continuing education programs for state level public health nurse consultants in Department of Health and Human Services Regions I, II and III. Areas covered include the maternal and child health care delivery system, the nurse consultant's role, and specific issues related to prenatal care, reproductive ethics, ethics in the nursing curriculum, adolescent health, school-based clinics, and home care case management for the medically fragile child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC092.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Health services, Maternal health, Nurses, Nursing, Public health, School based clinics

Annotation: The intended audience of this program is nurse educators, academic administrators, practicing nurses, nursing administrators, and inservice educators. This project included a survey of nursing education programs to find which programs included maternal and infant nursing competencies, and then to develop strategies for incorporating these areas into other nursing education programs. This volume discusses competency statements for baccalaureate graduates in maternal-infant nursing, how maternity nursing is taught in the baccalaureate curriculum, and provides a checklist for the presence of maternal-infant core competencies in baccalaureate nursing. A related title, "The Maternal-Infant Core Competency Project: Proceedings of Regional Conferences," describes the project outcomes and contains the proceedings to three regional conferences. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Conferences, Infant health, Maternal health, Nursing education, Nursing schools, Professional education

Annotation: The intended audience of this program is nurse educators, academic administrators, practicing nurses, nursing administrators, and inservice educators. This project includes a survey of of nursing education programs to find which programs included maternal and infant nursing competencies, and then to develop strategies for incorporating these areas into nursing education programs. This volume summarizes the project outcomes and the three MICC regional conferences. A related volume, "The Maternal-Infant Core Competency Project Regional Conferences," provides background materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conferences, Infant health, Maternal health, Nursing education, Nursing schools, Professional education

Annotation: This evaluation guide provides a mechanism for school nurses to use when evaluating their services or those of other school nurses. It is based on the Standards of School Nursing Practice which is a model of desired school nursing competencies.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7918 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102, Telephone: (703) 506-7675 Contact Phone: (216) 678-1601 Fax: (703) 506-3266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org $4.95 members, $5.95 nonmembers; plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Evaluation, School nurses, School nursing, Standards

Annotation: This document provides standards of practice for school nursing. It is designed to stimulate the development of peer review, guarantee the documentation of the benefits and outcomes of school nursing practice, inspire research to validate practice, and generate research questions that lead to improvement of the health delivery system to students and families. The rationale is provided for each standard, and criteria are developed to measure each standard. This document was developed by the Task Force on Standards of School Nursing Practice.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7918 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102, Telephone: (703) 506-7675 Contact Phone: (216) 678-1601 Fax: (703) 506-3266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org $4.95 members, $5.95 nonmembers; plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: School health, School nurses, School nursing, Standards