Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a summary of resources that school nurses can consult as they consider when and whether to go back to school and, once back, whether to conduct oral health screenings. It provides background about tooth decay during childhood and about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the provision of oral health care. Also discussed are identification of children who need oral health care, communication, and infection-control measures.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus Diseases

Annotation: This infographic provides information to help school nurses ensure that children get the oral health care they need during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information about the problems that tooth decay in childhood cause and includes instructions on how to conduct verbal assessments and oral health screenings. Information about the personal protective equipment required to safely conduct oral health screenings is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus diseases

Annotation: This teaching strategy, which is geared toward school nurses, focuses on developing oral health competencies to educate parents and children about the importance of oral health and oral hygiene, fluoride, and having a dental home. It also provides information about how to recognize abnormalities in the mouth. The strategy includes an overview, learning objectives, learner pre-work, suggested learning activities, and suggested reading.

Contact: National League for Nursing, The Watergate, 2600 Virginia Avenue, NW, Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (800) 669-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nln.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Oral health, Oral hygiene, School health, School nurses, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the role of school nurses in improving student academic achievement and decreasing absenteeism by helping students with chronic health conditions manage their condition. Topics include providing direct care such as giving children medications, providing case management, and advocating for students and their families to help them get the resources and support they need.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Elementary schools, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Program coordination, Role, School age children, School nurses, Students

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 15, 2014, describes oral health issues among children and adolescents and how school nurses can identify and use evidence-based resources to promote oral health and improve access to oral health care. Topics include conducting risk assessments, planning and implementing prevention programs, and mobilizing community partners to leverage resources and advocate for oral health in school-age children and adolescents.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community action, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Program planning, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health programs, School nurses, Schools

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This videocast outlines school nurses' role in providing oral health leadership in school settings. Topics include providing oral health information and resources, establishing parent partnerships, providing preventive oral health care, and responding to dental emergencies.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Emergencies, Health care delivery, Leadership, Multimedia, Oral health, School health services, School nurses, Videos

Annotation: This fact sheet for school nurses discusses how to handle problems involving dental braces. Contents include a list of tools and supplies, an illustrated description of the components of braces, and a list of treatments. Problems and responses to them are listed in the order of the least severe to the most severe and include food caught between teeth; ligatures coming off; discomfort; mouth sores; irritation of lips or cheeks; protruding wire; loose brackets, wires, or bands; and swallowed components. A presentation and accompanying script are also available for educating school nurses about the needs of students in orthodontic treatment.

Contact: American Association of Orthodontists, 401 North Lindbergh Boulevard, St. Louis, MO 63141-7816, Telephone: (314) 993-1700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2841 Fax: (314) 997-1745 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.braces.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Emergencies, First aid, Injuries, Oral health, Orthodontics, School age children, School nurses, Training materials, Treatment

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs

Annotation: This tool is designed to help school nurses assess their knowledge of children’s oral health. Contents include multiple-choice questions on topics such as oral hygiene, screening, risk assessment, injuries, and nutrition. Once completed, the assessment may be downloaded with questions, answers, and explanations.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Health behavior, Oral health, School nurses, Self assessment

Annotation: This brief describes a partnership between a school district and a children's hospital to increase compliance with state law requiring all students in kindergarten and first grade entering public school for the first time to receive an oral health assessment. Contents include information about the district's contract with the hospital to provide the health team for its 10 elementary schools and preschool program, the standardized format and forms for data collection and reporting, and coordination and implementation of the oral-health-assessment plan (screening by volunteers and referral to the school nurse for follow-up care). Topics include the percentage of children identified with urgent, possible, and no oral concerns by school and compliance rates for select schools and the district as a whole.

Contact: Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego, 3020 Children's Way, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (858) 576-1700 Web Site: https://www.rchsd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: California, Contract services, Dental caries, Elementary schools, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Local initiatives, Model programs, Nurses, Oral health, Pediatric hospitals, Referrals, Risk assessment, School age children, School districts, School health services, Screening, Statistical data

Annotation: This website comprises a set of 15 learning modules focusing on emergency services for school nurses and emergency medical services (EMS) personnel. The modules are available free of charge to everyone, and EMS personnel and nurses may earn continuing education credits for completing them.

Contact: University of New Mexico School of Medicine, EMS for Children Project, Department of Emergency Medicine, 2211 Lomas Blvd. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87106, Telephone: 505-925-7262 Fax: 505-925-7263 E-mail: Web Site: http://hsc.unm.edu/emermed/PED/emsc/emsc.shtml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services, Resource materials, School health, School nurses, Training materials

Annotation: This manual assists county school personnel in the planning and provision of high quality care for students with special health care needs. Contents include the following: required procedures in a variety of universal health precautions, activities ranging from handling of body fluids, emergency procedures, first aid, to oral hygiene and ambulating with assistance. Specialized health care procedures for digestive and endocrine needs; medication administration; as well as neurological, respiratory, and urinary procedures. Extensive appendices are provided citing West Virginia state codes and policies.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Education, Healthy Schools Program, Building 6, Room 309, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-8830 Fax: 304-558-3787 Web Site: http://wvde.state.wv.us/osshp/main Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health services delivery, School age children, School health services, School nurses, Standards

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the roles of school-based health centers (SBHCs) and of school nurses and about how the two can work together to achieve optimal student heath. Information is also offered on the cost-effectiveness of SBHCs, about the different responsibilities of SBHCs and school nurses, and about whether the model of schools having access to both school nurses and SBHCs should be part of health care reform.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Health care reform, School based clinics, School nurses, School age children, School health, Service coordination

Annotation: This document provides nurses working in school settings with a set of emergency care guidelines that they can use when delivering care to ill or injured students. The document discusses pediatric educational recommendations for health professionals, assessment, and triage. Detailed protocols for managing a wide variety or emergencies are presented. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children, Loyola University Medical Center, Building 110 Lower Level, 2160 South First Avenue, Maywood, IL 60153, Telephone: (708) 327-3672 Secondary Telephone: (708) 327-2556 Fax: (708) 327-2548 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http:/www.luhs.org/emsc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Child health, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Nursing education, School health services, School nurses, Training, Triage

Annotation: This manual provides information about vaccine-preventable diseases, ways to market immunizations, ways to provide immunizations in schools, and specific vaccines, including new ones. It is part of a toolkit for school and public health nurses who work with adolescents. Contents include the importance of adolescents receiving immunizations, collaborating with key health providers, partnering with other youth organizations, educating and motivating adolescents and their parents, strategies and tools, striving for compliance, vaccinating at the school site, and media attention. Additional information is provided on diseases and vaccinations for adolescents, resources for more information as well as continuing-education-unit self-study questions that nurses and certified health education specialists may complete and submit for credit. Companion materials on CD-ROM and DVD are available for purchase on the Web site.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Immunization, Manuals, Public health nurses, School health services, School nurses

Annotation: This manual provides an overview of the more commonly encountered chronic health conditions, illnesses and concerns that impact children, to assist school nurses in providing school health services in Kansas. Topics include allergies and anaphylaxis, asthma, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorders, blood disorders, depression, diabetes, eating disorders,hearing impairment, immunosuppressed disorders, mood and psychiatric conditions, seizure disorders,visual impairment, and transition of students. Links to state legislation and to national resources about each topic are given.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Family Health, Children and Families Section, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 220, Topeka, KS 66612, Telephone: (800) 332-6262 Secondary Telephone: (785) 291-3368 Fax: (785) 296-6553 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov/c-f/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, School health services, School nurses

Annotation: This fact sheet reports findings from a survey of Alabama public school nurses on (1) the nurses' continuing education needs, (2) the preferred modalities for receiving this education, (3) the prevalence of chronic conditions among students, and (4) the health care procedures performed at their schools. Statistical information is presented in pie charts throughout the fact sheet. A summary is included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Pediatric Pulmonary Center, Children's Hospital, 1600 Seventh Avenue, South, Birmingham, AL 35233, Telephone: (205) 939-9583 Web Site: https://www.uab.edu/medicine/peds/ppc Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: School nurses, Students, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Continuing education, School health services, Surveys

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives