Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report lists statistics by state for children participating in: federally subsidized programs, the National School Lunch program during FY 1996, the School Breakfast Program during FY 1996, and the WIC Food program during FY 1996. For each state there is also a page listing statistics in the form of "every 23 hours a baby died, every 7 days a youth committed suicide." These are for infant morbidity and mortality, violence, lack of prenatal care, child abuse, lack of health insurance, and teenage and unmarried mothers.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org $5.95 plus $3.00 shipping and handling for the first item ordered, and $1.00 for each additional item ordered.

• Most Recent Edition

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Federal programs, Health insurance, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Statistics, Violence, WIC Program

Annotation: This paper provides information on the concept of community eligibility in making it easier for low-income children in high-poverty schools to get free meals. It describes how community eligibility works, presents data on its impact, and lists resources on best practices for implementing the option.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child nutrition, Children, Community role, Eligibility determination, Hunger, Low income groups, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report presents findings about the challenges school districts face in implementing updated federal meal standards set by the US Department of Agriculture, when they expect to be able to meet the standards, and how they are finding solutions to challenges in meeting the standards.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: info@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal programs, School food services, School lunch programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the nutritional quality of school lunches. Topics include changing nutrition standards for school meals; key findings of the fourth School Nutrition Dietary Assessment study, which collected data from nationally representative samples of public schools and school districts in school year 2009-2010; new data on the food groups contributed by school lunches; and trends for sodium, cholesterol, and dietary fiber.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet
• Study Archives

Keywords: Nutrition, Research, School lunch programs, Standards, Statistical data, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This website provides information about the School Nutrition Dietary Assessment Study-IV, which examines the nutritional quality of meals and snacks offered to students in the National School Lunch Program and the School Breakfast Program. The website includes background about the study, a list of related publications, and a webinar with presentation slides.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Archive

Keywords: Low income groups, Nutrition, Public policy, Research, School breakfast programs, School health, School lunch programs

Annotation: This final rule updates the meal patterns and nutrition standards for the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs to align them with the Dietary Guidelines for Americans. This rule requires most schools to increase the availability of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and fat-free and low-fat fluid milk in school meals; reduce the levels of sodium, saturated fat and trans fat in meals; and meet the nutrition needs of school children within their calorie requirements. These improvements to the school meal programs are based on recommendations made by the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and are intended to enhance the diet and health of school children while helping to reduce the upward trend in childhood obesity.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• CFR Publication
• Regulation And Technical Assistance And Guidance Materials

Keywords: Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Obesity, Prevention services, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Standards

Annotation: This paper discusses food insecurity among children of immigrants, its consequences, and programs that are available to help. The paper explains why immigrant parents frequently fail to make use of such programs, even if they are eligible; why some programs are more successful than others at enrolling immigrant families; and the effect of the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Hunger, Immigrants, Low income groups, Outreach, Parents, Poverty, Programs, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Supplemental food programs, WIC program

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on revising its standards and requirements so that school meals are more healthful. The recommendations are based on a review and assessment of Dietary Reference Intakes (a system of nutrition recommendations from the Institute of Medicine) and the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans (jointly prepared by the USDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services). The eight recommendations in the report update the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) nutrition standards and meal requirements approved in 1995; shift the focus toward meeting recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines; emphasize the need for effective implementation; and identify key research topics. The recommendations encompass standards for menu planning and standards for meals as selected by the student (in contrast to those that are simply offered to students). Seventeen appendixes include sample menus, data tales, definitions, and comparisons between the existing guidelines and proposed revisions for school meal preparation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Podcast

Keywords: Child health promotion, Data, Dietary guidelines, Federal programs, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition programs, Program evaluation, School age children, School breakfast programs, School food services, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined the contributions of school meals to the food and nutrient intake of children in food-secure, marginally secure, and food-insecure households. The report includes a description of the data and methods, discusses characteristics of food-insecure and marginally secure students, compares dietary intakes by food security status, and discusses the percentage of school lunch foods consumed and food security and breakfast skipping.

Contact: National Agricultural Library, Abraham Lincoln Building, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5755 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-6856 Fax: (301) 504-6927 E-mail: lmooney@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Food consumption, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition, Research, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report examines the ways in which elementary school practices are not aligned with national recommendations concerning diet and physical activity. The findings are based on data obtained from administrators at nationally representative samples of public and private elementary schools that reflect policies and practices in schools during the 2006–07 and 2007–08 school years. Included are survey results related to the nutritional content of meals served through the National School Lunch Program; the availability of "competitive" foods — i.e., food or beverages sold through school stores, vending machines, and a la carte cafeteria lines — and to what extent public school students were offered daily and weekly physical education as recommended by the National Association of Sport and Physical Education.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dietary Guidelines, Evaluation, Guidelines, Physical activity, School age children, School food services, School lunch programs, School surveys

Annotation: This policy guide, directed to schools, quantitatively and qualitatively overviews the childhood obesity epidemic, provides rationale for obesity prevention programs to policy-makers at all government levels, suggests policies to promote physical education and activity in schools, recommends policies to promote nutrition and healthy eating, and submits additional policies to follow the implementation of the author's primary recommendations.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website, also available for $12 plus $4.50 shipping and handling..

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Eating disorders, Health education, Nutrition education, Obesity, Public policy, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Schools, Weight management

Annotation: This report investigates three aspects of student participation in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) using data on students certified for free and reduced-price meals during the 2005–2006 school year. The report examines the factors that influence students' participation decisions, the relationship between school meal certification status and participation, and the extent to which parent reports of their children's participation accurately represent actual school meal participation.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Federal programs, Food preferences, Low income groups, National surveys, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report provides information about (1) what is known about the states and districts that have instituted programs, known as ERP programs, to eliminate the reduced-price fee for school meals (instead providing free meals to students eligible for the reduced fee); (2) the experiences of states and districts that have implemented such programs, with respect to participation and costs; and (3) the factors that may help or hinder the establishment or continuation of ERP programs. The report presents findings in brief, background, detailed findings, and the objectives, scope, and methodology.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Costs, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition, School age children, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, State programs

Annotation: This report provides background information on the National School Lunch Program, including historical trends and participant characteristics. It also addresses steps being taken to meet challenges facing administrators of the program, including trade-offs between nutritional quality of the foods served, costs, and participation, as well as between program access and program integrity.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child nutrition, Costs, Federal programs, Participation, School food services, School lunch programs, Trends

Annotation: This paper uses data on over 13,500 early-elementary-school children to assess the relationship between School Breakfast Program and National School Lunch Program participation and child weight. The paper provides background information (on the school nutrition programs themselves as well as on the previous literature), presents a theoretical framework for thinking about school nutrition programs, describes the empirical methodology and data, and presents results.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Body weight, Child health, Low income groups, Nutrition, Obesity, Research, School age children, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report presents perspectives gathered by interview of school administrators, parents, educators, nutrition and health professionals, wellness advocates, federal and local government agencies, community groups, school board members, students, and others on the progress towards implementing healthy eating and physical activity programs in schools and the deficits that remain after five years of work by Action for Healthy Kids and like-minded groups at the national, state, and grassroots levels. In addition to perceptions of healthy eating and physical activity programs, the report assesses the growth of public awareness about school wellness, stakeholder roles and activities, and resources. The report identifies gaps to be addressed in future initiatives.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: info@actionforhealthykids.org Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Disease prevention, Exercise, Family school relations, Health education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical education, Programs, School health education, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report provides information on federal food and nutrition programs throughout the United States. Statistics are provided for the United States as a whole and for each state in the following areas: percentage of food-insecure households, demographics, and participation in the following programs: School Breakfast Program, National School Lunch Program, Summer Nutrition Program, Food Stamp Program, WIC, Child and Adult Care Food Program, The Emergency Food Assistance Program, and the Commodity Supplemental Food Program. Additional statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the report. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ $12; also available from the website.

• 2007
• 2005

Keywords: Child nutrition programs, Commodity Supplemental Food Program, Federal programs, Food, Food Stamp Program, Hunger, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Poverty, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This book offers reviews and recommendations about appropriate nutrition standards and guidance for the sale, content, and consumption of foods and beverages at school, with attention given to foods and beverages offered in competition with federally reimbursable meals and snacks. Topics include nutrition-related health concerns, dietary intakes, eating behaviors in children and adolescents, the school environment, and food and beverages sold outside the school meal program. Additional topics include federal, state, local, and industry initiatives; recommended standards and actions for competitive foods in schools and next steps. References are provided as well as appendices including acronyms and a glossary; energy requirements; nutrition standards for competitive foods sold in elementary, middle, or high school set by states; additional guidelines, open sessions at a workshop on nutrition standards for schools, and biographical sketches of members of the authoring committee. An index concludes the book.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-10383-1.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Child behavior, Elementary schools, High schools, Junior high schools, Nutrition assessment, School food services, School lunch programs, Standards

Annotation: This report provides new estimates of National School Lunch Program participant characteristics using two national surveys, the 2001 Panel of the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) and the 1990-2002 National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES). The report, which includes a summary, is divided into the following main sections: (1) participant characteristics from SIPP and NHANES, (2) participants by payment type compared across SIPP, NHANES, and Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) data, (3) distribution of payment types within demographic subgroups, and (4) distribution of demographic subgroups within payment types. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. Rerences are included. The report includes one appendix: comparing SIPP and NHANES with FNS administrative data and the 1992 School Nutrition Dietary Assessment 1.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Summary

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, School lunch programs, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This issue brief provides an update on California's Express Enrollment (EE) Program -- an effort to enroll uninsured children into health insurance through other public program gateways, specifically, school lunch programs. The brief, which includes an executive summary, reviews the pilot program implemented within school districts and counties, describing activities to date and the program's overall effectiveness. The brief also applies lessons learned from EE to current and future state efforts to use public programs to enroll uninsured children into health coverage. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 1351 Third Street Promenade, Suite 206, Santa Monica, CA 90401-1321, Telephone: (310) 260-1220 Fax: (310) 260-1921 E-mail: frontdoor@childrenspartnership.org Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health insurance, Low income groups, School lunch programs, State programs, Uninsured persons