Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute. 2025. Looking at NJ Medicaid oral health quality performance for children through a secret shopper market survey of the MCO network directories for children ages 0 to 6. Princeton, NJ: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2018. Best practice approach report: Use of fluoride in schools. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 24 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report focuses on best practices for the use of fluoride in schools. It discusses fluoride as a measure to prevent tooth decay in children, different types of programs that provide fluoride to children, and different forms of fluoride. Evidence for the efficacy of fluoride in preventing tooth decay and best practice criteria are provided. The report also includes state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral heath, Prevention, School health services

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. School dental sealant programs white paper. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information about tooth decay prevalence and Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors recommendations related to school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). The effectiveness of sealants for preventing tooth decay is discussed, along with considerations for SBSPs, including sealant material selection and staffing considerations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Oral heath, School health programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2017. Guidance on how to analyze data from a school-based oral health survey. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a framework for how to appropriately analyze data from a statewide school-based oral health survey with a complex sampling design. The report discusses steps to take to prepare for data analysis, statistical packages and program code to use, other things to consider and be aware of, and where to get additional help.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Oral heath, School health programs

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, School Health Program. 2012. Nebraska school health guidelines = Guidelines for school health services in Nebraska. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2011. Ethical issues in interventions for childhood obesity. Preventing Chronic Disease: Public health research, practice, and policy 8(5):A91-A117,

Annotation: This journal issue includes articles that are related to ethical issues in interventions to prevent and control childhood obesity. Topics include protecting children from harmful food marketing, policy approaches, weight bias, children with special health care needs, public vs individual rights in childhood obesity interventions, the ethical basis for promoting nutritional health in public schools, ethical family interventions, state requirements and recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1545-1151.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Ethics, Families, Health promotion, Human rights, Intervention, Marketing, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School heath, Social bias

Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and Brookings Institution. 2011. Work and family. Princeton, NJ: Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs; Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 3 items. (The future of children; v. 21, no. 2, Fall 2011)

Annotation: This issue of The Future of Children examines a variety of work-family conflicts and assess their effects both on the well-being of American employees and their families and on the productivity of American employers. The authors also suggest approaches to help working parents meet the challenges of work-family conflict. The issue includes articles on the following topics: work and families; changing families, changing workplaces; policies to assist parents with young children; families with school-age children; children with health problems; families and elder care in the twenty-first century; workplace flexibility; the government's role in work-family conflict; and international perspectives on work-family policies.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9814705-7-3.

Keywords: Children with special heath care needs, Employment, Families, Government role, Older adults, Public policy, School age children, Working mothers, Working parents, Young children
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.