Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (302 total).

Miller S. n.d.. New Horizons in School Health [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: University of Maryland at Baltimore, 35 pp.

Annotation: The project provided training experiences to enable health professionals in schools to work together and with school colleagues to provide developmentally appropriate, comprehensive health care. This enhanced the healthy development and academic success of school children. Additionally, the project providef training ot enable school health professionals to serve as effective preceptors for future student professionals. Twenty Maryland schools with school-based health programs established interdisciplinary teams consisting of health and education professionals. Each school-based team identified a health need in its school and designed, implemented, and evaluated a team project. Process evaluation was implemented following key activities. Outcome evaluation focused on outcomes related to specific project objectives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121974.

Keywords: Adolescents, Interdisciplinary Approach, Professional Education in Adolescent Health, School Health Programs, State Staff Development

Keith J. n.d.. Family-Focused Strategy for Reducing Premature and Unprotected Sexual Activity Among Minority Youth in School-Based Health Clinics [Final report]. Dallas, TX: Dallas County Hospital District, 26 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Susin J, Kaplan L. n.d.. "Breaking the Silence" tool kit: A how-to guide to bring mental illness education to schools in your community—A school outreach project. (Rev. ed.). Lake Success, NY: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Queens/Nassau, 46 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit, geared toward program facilitators and volunteer educators, provides methods for bringing the Breaking the Silence program to communities. The purpose of the program is to break the silence about mental illness in schools. The toolkit provides a background on Breaking the Silence, the rationale for mental illness education, information about how to organize and fund a local program, how to enlist and train volunteers, and materials documenting the success of Breaking the Silence. The program is intended for use in upper elementary, middle, and high school classrooms.

Contact: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Queens/Nassau, 1981 Marcus Avenue, C-117, Lake Success, NY 11042, Telephone: (516) 326-0797 Secondary Telephone: (718) 347-7284 Fax: (516) 437-5785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nami.org/MSTemplate.cfm?MicrositeID=241 Available from the website after registration.

Description

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communities, Health education, Mental disorders, Mental health, Resource materials, Schools, Training

The Children's Oral Health Institute. n.d.. Lessons in a lunch box: Healthy teeth essentials & facts about snackstm. Owings Mills, MD: The Children's Oral Health Institute,

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. n.d.. Oral health for children and adolescents: How can you help?. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp. (Ideas for parents)

Annotation: This handout for parents explains why oral health is important and how to help prevent dental caries and other oral health problems. It presents a series of questions about school health services, including oral health services, that can help parents support their child’s school’s efforts to address oral health. Other questions presented cover oral health education, bullying prevention, how teachers reward students (i.e., with food or nonfood items), and whether students have access to free and clean drinking water. The handout explains how to find answers to the questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Delta Dental Plan of Michigan. n.d.. Teaching tools. Okemos, MI: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 1 website.

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

University of Texas, Health Science Center, Michael & Susan Dell Center for Healthy Living. n.d.. CATCH healthy smiles: An oral health education program for grades Pre-K-2. Austin, TX: CATCH Global Foundation, 1 curriculum.

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

New York University College of Dentistry and New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. [2023]. Teaching oral systemic health (TOSH) faculty facilitation guide virtual interprofessional experience. New York, NY: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information on New York University’s (NYU’s) College of Teaching Oral Systemic Health (TOSH) Experience, an interprofessional program that brings together students across health professions. The program is conducted with NYU dental students and nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, medical, and pharmacy students. Topics include the TOSH protocol, a TOSH flowchart, the time required to complete program activities, a script for a patient visit, a student assignment, student instructions, patient instructions, and sample forms.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Forms, Medical students, Nursing, Oral health, Pharmacy schools, Students

Barzel R, Holt K, Kolo S, Siegal M, Lowe B, eds. 2023. School-based dental sealant program training (3rd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This training is designed to ensure that school-based dental sealant program staff have a thorough understanding of the history, operations, and underlying fundamentals of these programs. The training provides detailed guidelines for infection control in school-based programs; discusses tooth selection and assessment for dental sealants; reviews the dental-sealant-application process; and provides information about program operations. Post-tests are available with options for a completion certificate or for two continuing education credits for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in Ohio. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel, Training

Nemours Children's Health System. 2023. Transition of Care . Jacksonville, FL: Nemours Children's Health System, multiple

Annotation: This website includes information for families about changes that occur when a child with a disability or with special health care needs becomes a legal adult. Teaching your child how to navigate the health care system and encouraging them to become actively involved in their medical care are among the topics explored in video and e-publication formats.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education, School to work transitions, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration. 2022. Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration (MNOHI): Instructions for accessing the MNOHI training modules. [Lansing, MI]: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, 1 p.

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Schroeder S. 2020. Evaluation of SEAL!ND: School year 2019—2020. Grand Forks, ND: Center for Rural Health, University of North Dakota; Bismarck, ND: Oral Health Program, North Dakota Department of Health, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about an evaluation of the North Dakota Department of Health, Oral Health Program’s school-based dental sealant program, SEAL!ND, which has been providing oral health screenings, dental sealant and fluoride varnish applications, education, and referrals for students throughout North Dakota since 2012. The report covers the following topics: evaluation; clinical reach and dental referrals; participating school personnel perceptions of SEAL!ND; and reach of the related program, Ronald McDonald Care Mobile in partnership with Bridging the Dental Gap, which offers access to oral health care at additional schools in the state.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State programs

First Things First. 2019. The big picture for Arizona's littlest kids (rev). Phoenix, AZ: First Things First, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™. 2019. Dr. Rabbit and the Tooth Defenders: An oral health education program for grades 2–3. New York, NY: Colgate-Palmolive Company, 24 pp. (Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™ series)

Annotation: This health education program guide is designed to help teachers integrate oral health into an existing curriculum for students in grades 2–3. The program uses a standards-based approach to cover core learning objectives that can be adapted to classroom needs. The guide contains developmentally appropriate lesson plans designed to challenge children to take responsibility for their own oral health. Ideas for getting parents and other family members involved with the topic of oral health are included throughout the guide. Additional program components include a video featuring two cartoon dentists who have mentored a group of children to become Tooth Defender "superheroes;" a storybook; a poster; and a parent take-home.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Elementary schools, Oral health, School health education, School health programs

Amah G, Jura M, Mertz E. 2019. Practice patterns of postgraduate dental residency completers from select long-term HRSA-funded primary dental care training programs. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Resource Center, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to examine practice patterns of graduates of primary care dental postgraduate training programs with a history of Health Resources and Services Administration funding. The study aims were to assess the impact of graduates’ training experience on current practice patterns and subsequent patient access to care and to measure the long-term impact of these programs on improving dentists’ capacity to meet the needs of those who are underserved. The report provides background and discusses study methods, findings, and limitations. A discussion of the findings, including information about policy implications, is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental schools, Dentists, Graduate education, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Research

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2019. Ways to protect teeth and prevent decay in school-age kids and teens. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 2 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents provides information about preventing tooth decay in school-aged children and adolescents. It offers information about the percentage of children ages 6–8 who have had cavities, by race. Steps to take care of a child’s primary and permanent teeth are presented. Information about the benefits of drinking fluoridated water; eating healthy foods; avoiding smoking, vaping, and chewing tobacco; human papillomavirus (HPV); and wearing a mouthguard during sports is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

New York, NY, Office of School Health. 2019. Integration of preventive dental services in school health programs. Albany, NY: University of New York at Albany, Center for Public Health Continuing Education, 1 item.

Annotation: This course for health professionals provides an overview of how to conduct an oral health screening, identify problems, apply fluoride varnish, and provide education to children in a school based setting. It also includes information on making a dental referral. The course may be taken to fulfill continuing education credits.

Contact: University of New York at Albany, Center for Public Health Continuing Education, Web Site: http://www.phtc-online.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: , Continuing education, Fluoride, Health education, Health screening, Oral health, Referrals, School health

School-Based Health Alliance and Oral Health 2020 Network. 2018. School oral health: An organizational framework to improve outcomes for children and adolescents. Washington DC: School-Based Health Alliance; Oral Health 2020 Network, 9 pp. (OH2020 white paper)

Annotation: This paper presents a framework for how communities can achieve improved and more equitable oral health outcomes. The framework includes five components: oral health education, oral health screening, preventive oral health care, care coordination and linkage to community-based care, and preventive oral health care and oral health treatment in schools. Data collection and sustainability.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, School health services, Service coordination

School-Based Health Alliance and Oral Health 2020 Network. 2018. Confronting the consent conundrum: Lessons from a school oral health community. Washington DC: School-Based Health Alliance; Boston, MA: Oral Health 2020 Network, 6 pp. (OH2020 white paper)

Annotation: This document presents ideas that emerged from the School-Based Health Alliance initiative, Strengthening School Oral Health Services and Growing the School Oral Health Learning Community, and that resulted in an increase in the number of positive parental consents for school oral health services. The initiative encompassed the 10 largest U.S. school districts, which serve more than 4 million students, including a significant number of students with high needs. The document discusses school engagement, family engagement, community engagement, oral health education, and data collection and use.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Data collection, Health education, Informed consent, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, School age children, School health services

King C, Perkins V, Nugent C, Jordan E. 2018. 2018 State of state early childhood data systems . Bethesday, MD: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs