Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents findings from interviews and surveys of young people across the United States about what leads to leaving school before graduation. Contents include findings on the relationship between interrupted enrollment and family violence and abuse; school safety; violence in the neighborhood; personal and family health challenges; unsupportive or unresponsive school policies; family abandonment (death, incarceration, other events); family absence; instability of place (residential mobility, school mobility, homelessness); school salience; peer influence and support; and school and community support.

Contact: America's Promise Alliance, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0600 Fax: (202) 657-0601 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americaspromise.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Educational attainment, Graduation, Life course, National surveys, Resilience, Risk factors, School attendance, School dropouts, School failure, Social support, Supported employment

Annotation: This report presents strategies to support educators and minimize school systems' dependence on suspension, expulsion, and arrest to manage student behaviors while promoting safe and productive learning environments that improve academic outcomes for all students and reduce their involvement in the juvenile justice system. Topics include conditions for learning, targeted behavioral interventions, school-police partnerships, courts and juvenile justice, information sharing, and data collection.

Contact: Council of State Governments, 2760 Research Park Drive, P. O. Box 11910, Lexington, KY 40578-1910, Telephone: (859) 244-8000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-1910 Fax: (859) 244-8001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.csg.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Collaboration, Criminal justice system, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Learning, Policy development, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Risk factors, School age children, School attendance, School failure, School role, School safety, Students, Systems development

Annotation: This review assesses the comparative effectiveness of psychological and pharmacological interventions for infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 exposed to maltreatment in addressing child well-being outcomes (mental and behavioral health; caregiver-child relationship; cognitive, language, and physical development; and school-based functioning) and child welfare outcomes (safety, placement stability, and permanency). The review also assesses the comparative effectiveness of interventions with (1) different treatment characteristics, (2) for child and caregiver subgroups, and (3) for engaging and retaining children and caregivers in treatment. In addition, the review assesses harms associated with interventions for this population.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 13-EHC002-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Intervention, Language development, Maltreated children, Mental health, Parent child relations, Physical development, Safety, School failure, School readiness, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about the Adolescent Family Life Program (AFLP), a California program that strives to (1) promote the health and well-being of pregnant and parenting adolescents and their infants by maximizing the use of existing services and (2) save public funds by preventing the problems associated with preterm births and low birthweight and by reducing long-term welfare dependency resulting from school failure and dropouts. The report, which includes an executive summary, provides client stores, a program history and description, data sources and methodology, information about providers and funding, a profile of female clients, process and outcome indicators, and a conclusion. The report includes one appendix: list of AFLP agenices.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, California, Costs, Families, Financing, Health services delivery, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Pregnant adolescents, Preterm birth, School dropouts, School failure, State programs

Annotation: This brief summarizes findings from research identifying what is known about the number of children at risk of school failure and the consequences for their performance in school and subsequent life outcomes. The brief focuses on the characteristics and number of children who may need help to overcome threats to healthy development. Topics covered include disparities in early childhood, consequences for school readiness and beyond, and a role for early intervention. A sidebar containing key findings is included.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Early childhood development, Early intervention, High risk children, Low income groups, Research, School failure, School readiness

Annotation: This project examined the role of child, family, and school factors in predicting African American children's school competence during the later elementary years. Topics include the developmental trajectories of African American children's language and social skills and school competence from infancy through middle childhood; the multiple predictors of school competence including academic achievement of African American children in middle childhood within an ecological model of child development; and the extent to which children's social knowledge and behavior, language, peer adjustment, and the match between Afrocultural beliefs and practices at home and school mediate the relationship between child, family, and school background factors and school competence. Report contents include an executive summary; an introduction as to the nature of the research problem; the purpose, scope, and methods of investigation; the nature of the findings; a review of the literature; study design and methods; a discussion of the findings; and an extensive list of products produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Child development, Children, Cultural beliefs, Elementary schools, Final reports, Language development, MCH research, Racial factors, School adjustment, School age children, School failure, Social factors

Annotation: This project was designed to evaluate the long-term effects of home intervention on the health, growth, and development of low-income, inner-city children diagnosed with nonorganic failure to thrive (NOFTT). The longitudinal study built on an ongoing randomized clinical trial of home intervention. The study followed the intervention children and their matched controls through their preschool years until they reached first grade. Approximately 90 percent of the children were from African-American families and most of the families were headed by single mothers who had not completed high school. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2000-106933.

Keywords: Blacks, Failure to Thrive, Home Health Services, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Low Income Population, MCH Research, Preschool children, Research, School-age children, Urban Population

Annotation: This report presents the results of the survey on whether school performance and other school related measures for adolescent girls can predict whether they will become adolescent parents. The report contains an overview of previous research, a description of the research methodology, an exposition of the findings, and a conclusion. It is part of the School Dropout Demonstration Assistance Program Evaluation.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Contact Phone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Evaluation, School failure

Annotation: This book was developed for health care providers, school administrators, and others working with adolescents and focuses on four adolescent problem areas: delinquency, substance abuse, pregnancy, and school failure. It provides a description of adolescents who are at risk for problem behaviors, synthesizes the experience of programs which have been successful in changing various aspects of these behaviors, and proposes strategies for using this knowledge base to implement more effective approaches to help adolescents succeed. Schools are recognized as the focal institution in prevention, not only in regard to helping adolescents achieve academically, but in providing young people access to social support and health programs.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Health programs, Juvenile delinquency, Prevention, Risk taking, School failure, School health, Social services, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report discusses school health policy, provides background information on school health topics, and outlines some techniques used by school health services. The report was prepared for physicians but will also be of interest to educators. Topics discussed include the relationship between schools and health services; the school health education medical specialty; health screening of students; special school health needs of adolescents; children with special health needs and schools; academic performance and school attendance; physical fitness and sports medicine; the health of school personnel; and cooperation and communication between physicians and educators.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Confidentiality, Education, Emergency medical services for children, Health policy, Health promotion, Health screening, Health screening, Human development, Medical education, Occupational safety and health, Physical fitness, School attendance, School failure, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School personnel, Schools, Sports medicine, Tests

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward pediatricians, includes psychological aspects of pediatric practice, including feeding problems, psychogenic vomiting, thumb sucking, nail biting, speech disorders, constipation, anxiety, compulsions, difficulties at school, and other topics. The booklet strives to provide pediatricians with tools to help manage psychological problems in infants and children.

Keywords: Children, Compulsive behavior, Constipation, Eating disorders, Feeding disorders, Infants, Mental health, Nail biting, Pediatric practice, School failure, School phobia, Speech disorders, Thumb sucking, Vomiting