Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information on bullying actions that target gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender youth and the affect on their mental health and education. Advice and resources are provided for mental health, school counseling, human rights, advocacy, and for families and friends of lesbians and gays.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Available from the website.

• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, High schools, Homosexuality, Mental health, Middle schools, Resources for professionals, School counseling, Students, Violence prevention

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action planning component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Elementary schools, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action plan component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, High schools, Middle schools, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students

Annotation: This book, primarily for school administrators, also helps teachers, staff, counselors, and students find guidance in responding to a bias incident or hate crime. The guide is divided into three sections: before, during, and after a crisis occurs. Topics include assessing the school climate with an eye towards defusing tension, preventing escalation, and avoiding problems; key points to consider when responding to a bias or hate incident; and addressing long-term planning and capacity building for the future, including development of social and emotional skills.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Hate crime, Needs assessment, School counseling, School health services, School personnel, School violence

Annotation: This brief discusses the need for safe and secure schools and the role of school discipline policies such as suspension and expulsion. Topics include ways vulnerable youth are disproportionately affected; negative implications for behavioral health, academic achievement, and life success; and how adopting positive approaches to school discipline can promote social-emotional learning.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Behavior problems, Discipline, Policy development, Psychosocial development, School age children, School counseling

Annotation: This resource addresses schools facing real-time crises, providing information on ways to deal with loss in a school community and how to promote a coordinated response. The toolkit provides school districts and private school associations with evidence-based programs designed to address serious childhood and adolescent distress and prevent suicide (Objective 4.2 of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention). Content includes consensus recommendations developed in consultation with school-based personnel, clinicians, researchers, and crisis-response professionals. It incorporates relevant existing material and research findings as well as references, templates, and links to additional information and assistance. Specific areas addressed in the toolkit include crisis response, helping students cope, working with the community, memorialization, social media, suicide contagion, bringing in outside help, and going forward.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Coping, Crisis intervention, Grief, Prevention, Resources for professionals, School age children, School counseling, Schools, Students, Suicide

Annotation: This paper examines cost-recovery and cost-reduction strategies and provides recommendations to increase the availability of reproductive health services (sexuality education, behavioral risk assessment, counseling, pregnancy testing, contraception or referral for contraception, and the diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection) in Colorado school-based health centers.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Colorado, Contraception, Costs, Counseling, Diagnosis, Pregnancy tests, Referrals, Reproductive health, Risk factors, School health services, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Treatment

Annotation: This paper focuses on Colorado school-based health centers' (SBHCs') provision of preventive and primary reproductive health services, including human sexuality education, behavioral risk assessment, counseling, pregnancy testing, contraception or referral to contraception, and diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection. Topics include documenting the need for reproductive health services, defining preventive and primary reproductive health services offered in an SBHC, and SBHCs and the law.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Colorado, Contraception, Counseling, Diagnosis, Health services, Legislation, Pregnancy tests, Prevention, Referral, Reproductive health, Risk assessment, School health, Sexuality education, State programs, Treatment

Annotation: These guidelines were designed to help school administrators, teachers, and crisis team members respond to the needs of student and staff after a loss (such as a death of a student or staff member or a death that affects many people in the community) has impacted the school environment. The guidelines discuss school crisis team interventions, notification procedures, crisis and grief counseling and other support services at school, impact on learning, and special circumstances.

Contact: National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement , Cincinnati Children's, 3333 Burnett Ave., Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-4200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 344-2462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cincinnatichildrens.org/service/n/school-crisis/default/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Counseling, Death, Grief, Guidelines, Intervention, Learning, Schools, Students

Annotation: This report on mental health in schools is intended as a resource aid for policy and capacity building. The report focuses on definitional concerns; the rationale for mental health in schools; guidelines to clarify the nature and scope of a comprehensive, multifaceted approach; how mental health and psychosocial concerns currently are addressed in schools; and ways of advancing the field. The guidelines are presented in six sections: general domains for intervention in addressing students' mental health; major areas of concern related to barriers to student learning; types of functions provided related to individuals, groups, and families; timing and nature of problem-oriented interventions; assuring quality of intervention; and outcome evaluation and accountability. The appendices include guidelines with rationales and supporting references, guideline comments related to staff development and outcome evaluation, resources for materials, technical assistance, and training, frameworks for rethinking roles, functions, development and credentialing of pupil service personnel, and a list of Cadre participants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health services, Outcome and process assessment, Peer counseling, Psychosocial development, School based clinics, School psychology

Annotation: This report provides a sampler of information about preventing youth suicides by school intervention. It includes the Surgeon General's Call to Action to Prevent Suicide issued in July, 1999, and discusses suicide prevention, assessing suicide risk, training and counseling programs, and aftermath assistance. The final section of the report lists additional resources including books, journal articles, and websites. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available at no charge.

Keywords: Counseling, Intervention, Reports, Risk assessment, Risk factors, School health programs, Suicide prevention, Training, Youth, Youth risk behavior

Annotation: This book presents information that student assistance counselors, guidance counselors, and social workers need to develop prevention and intervention programs for adolescents who are abusing substances. It explores issues related to adolescent drug use, the impact of drug use on development, and predicting substance abuse. It considers a comprehensive school-based program that uses primary, secondary, and tertiary levels of prevention to deter, intervene, and support the adolescents; and it covers counseling techniques that can be used for individuals, small groups, and families. Other topics covered are staff development and legal issues.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-4866-2.

Keywords: Adolescents, Intervention, Prevention programs, Program development, School based programs, School counseling, Substance abuse

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: The overall goal of this project was to develop strategies which improved the physical, emotional, and mental health of Llorens Torres high-risk adolescents in San Juan and which can be replicated in other metropolitan areas in Puerto Rico and the United States. The overall objective was to establish an adolescent health promotion, disease prevention, and risk reduction program for Llorens Torres adolescents. Activities included the development of a multiservice, community-based health services system and the establishment of a multidisciplinary health team for the screening, evaluation, and treatment of youth enrolled in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-181524.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescents and Preventive Health, Community-Based Health Services, Counseling, Data Collection, Health Promotion, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Interdisciplinary Teams, Minorities, Puerto Ricans, School Dropouts, Schools

Annotation: This book provides a first-person account of a small group of adolescents and their families confronted by the overwhelming burdens of poverty and adolescent parenthood. It is based on the author's experience, an investigative reporter for The Washington Post, living in one of the poorest neighborhoods in Washington, DC for eighteen months. It discusses the adolescents' views regarding sexuality, sex education in schools, school counseling, health clinics, relationships, families, and other aspects of their life experiences.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Clinics, Poverty, School counseling, Sexuality education, Social problems, Urban population

Annotation: This document discusses problems of teenage sex and pregnancy; underlying reasons for the problem; what adolescents know and don't know about conception and contraception; how adolescents learn about sex, conception, and birth control; outside help for the family from school and television; what society can do; and further understanding teenagers and birth control. Appendix A provides a profile of the American adolescent and of three high risk groups.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, High risk adolescents, School counseling, Television

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Continuing education, Reports, School counseling, School to work transition, Vocational education, Working adolescents