Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the number and the impact of childhood injuries, especially those due to fire and violence. Two broad objectiveswere written for year 3 activities, involving methods of training emergency providers (training objective), and public/student education, smoke detector battery distribution, and school injury reporting (injury prevention objective). Materials developed include a 1993 injury prevention calendar, a statewide curriculum for pediatric emergencies, and data reports on prehospital and inpatient studies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121917.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Professional Education in EMSC, School Age Children

Annotation: This document provides tips on ways to include fitness breaks in school and resources available to help schools get started. Contents include ideas for classroom activity breaks, using music, suggestions for middle and high school students, tips on involving physical education teachers, and asking students to share their physical activity break ideas.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This survey focuses on the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in Wisconsin during the 2022–2023 school year. The survey provides an introduction explaining why good oral health is important; describes the survey methodology; and presents results in the following areas: participation, tooth decay experience; oral health care needs, statewide trends among children in third grade, and oral health by region. A convenience sample focused on American Indian and Alaska Native students is also discussed, and key findings are presented.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, School age children, State information, Tooth decay, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the number of children in Iowa who received a required oral health screening at school during the 2022–2023 school year. The report presents information, by county, on the following categories: number of children enrolled, with valid screening certificates, with treatment needs, provider types, and with valid exemption certificates (religious or financial hardship). A key with more information about each category is included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Iowa, Oral health, School age children, Screening tests, State information

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

Annotation: These guidelines are intended to help school administrators, dentists, dental hygienists, and nurses implement individual school-based oral health programs that are part of Pennsylvania’s overarching school oral health program. The guidelines provide directions for staffing, documenting, and evaluating programs. Topics include Pennsylvania’s overarching program; school-based oral health programs; the mandated school-based oral health program, which represents the minimum oral health services that students in specified grades must receive; dental hygiene care programs; oral emergencies; fluoride guidelines; and referrals and follow-up.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Division of School Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Web Site: https://www.health.pa.gov/topics/school/Pages/School%20Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pennsylvania, School age children, School health, State programs

Annotation: This document explains how school administrators and school systems can help link students in families with low incomes to local housing assistance programs and community resources. It describes how housing affordability, stability, and quality improve educational outcomes and recommends best practices that can help localities integrate housing stability programs with school systems.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

Keywords: Homelessness, Housing, School age children, School linked programs

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluation of the North Dakota Oral Health Program. Topics include community water fluoridation, oral health services provided in federally qualified health centers, all North Dakota school-based dental sealant programs, SEALIND: all schools served by one North Dakota school-based dental sealant program, SEALIND: schools qualifying for oral health services based on need, and the integration of oral health care and primary care in a North Dakota family medical center.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluoride, North Dakota, Oral health, School health, School-age children, Service delivery, Service integration, State information, State programs