Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

National Institute of Mental Health. 2012. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. [Rev. ed.]. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health, 22 pp.

Annotation: This document offers information on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and its management, including research on medications and behavioral interventions, as well as helpful resources and educational options. Although the focus is on ADHD in children, the document also contains a section on the diagnosis and treatment of ADHD in adults. Topics include ADHD symptoms, diagnosis, causes, co-morbidities, treatment, families of children with ADHD, school for the child with ADHD, and adolescents with ADHD.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescents, Adults, Attention deficit disorder, Children, Diagnosis, Families, Research, School adjustment, Treatment

Schor EL, ed. 2004. Caring for your school-age child: Ages 5 to 12. New York, NY: Bantam Books, 1 v.

Annotation: This book provides information parents need to take care of children between the ages of 5 and 12. It designed to help the parents prepare their children for the world outside of the home. The book includes 60 chapters organized in these parts: promoting health and normal development, nutrition and physical fitness, personal and social development, behavior and discipline, emotional problems and behavior disorder, family matters, children in school, chronic health problems, and common medical problems. The book treats topics into two ways: it includes chapters which provide background information to help the parents develop a context for the problems their children face, and it contains chapters targeted to particular problems which provide specific suggestions for dealing with them. This book is the second of a three-volume series developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics and Feeling Fine Programs.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $29.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Behavior, Behavior disorders, Child development, Child health, Child nutrition, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental stages, Discipline, Emotional development, Family relations, First aid, Parenting, Parenting skills, Physical fitness, Psychosocial development, School adjustment, School age children

Roberts JE. 2004. Predicting African American children's school competence: Final report. Chapel Hill, NC: Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, 26 pp.

Annotation: This project examined the role of child, family, and school factors in predicting African American children's school competence during the later elementary years. Topics include the developmental trajectories of African American children's language and social skills and school competence from infancy through middle childhood; the multiple predictors of school competence including academic achievement of African American children in middle childhood within an ecological model of child development; and the extent to which children's social knowledge and behavior, language, peer adjustment, and the match between Afrocultural beliefs and practices at home and school mediate the relationship between child, family, and school background factors and school competence. Report contents include an executive summary; an introduction as to the nature of the research problem; the purpose, scope, and methods of investigation; the nature of the findings; a review of the literature; study design and methods; a discussion of the findings; and an extensive list of products produced during the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Child development, Children, Cultural beliefs, Elementary schools, Final reports, Language development, MCH research, Racial factors, School adjustment, School age children, School failure, Social factors

Evans L, Jewett T, Powell C, Thompson Smith B. 2004. Fetal alcohol syndrome: A parents guide to caring for a child diagnosed with FAS. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest University Health Sciences, 37 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward parents who have a child with fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) or with brain damage due to alcohol exposure, provides information about FAS. The book provides an overview of FAS; describes how FAS may affect infants, children, and adolescents during different developmental periods; discusses how to care for and advocate for a child with FAS; discusses issues associated with school for children with FAS; and provides resources.

Contact: Organization of Teratology Information Specialists, 5034A Thoroughbred Lane, Brentwood, TN 37027, Telephone: (866) 626-6847 Secondary Telephone: (615) 649-3087 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://otispregnancy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Advocacy, Child development, Consumer education materials, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant development, School adjustment

Biehl MC, Park MJ, Brindis CD, Pantell RH, Irwin CE Jr. 2002. The health of America's middle childhood population. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Public Policy Analysis and Education Center for Middle Childhood and Adolescent Health, 53 pp.

Annotation: This monograph presents data on the health of the nation's middle childhood population, describes children's family and school environments, and presents a wide range of indicators of child well-being, including traditional measures of health. Topics include demographics, health care access and utilization, mortality, chronic illnesses and disabilities, hospitalizations and emergency room visits, common illnesses, and oral health. Mental health, health risk behaviors, diet, and obesity are also discussed. Appendices include data notes, a discussion of study limitations, and information on the major sources of data used for assessing the well-being of the middle childhood population. The monograph concludes with references for figures and endnotes. Charts, graphs, and tables illustrate statistical data throughout the report. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child development, Child mental health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental health, Health surveys, Mortality, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Risk taking, School adjustment, School age children, Statistics

Aspen Systems Corporation. [1995]. Effective transition practices: Facilitating continuity—Training guides for the Head Start learning community. Washington, DC: U.S. Head Start Bureau, 145 pp.

Annotation: This guide, geared toward Head Start staff and families, supports Head Start's efforts to improve long-term school success and continue comprehensive services for children by ensuring their effective transitions to different setting from birth to age 8. The guide is divided into two sections: skill-based training and informational resources. The skill-based training section in is organized into three modules: (1) transition and change, (2) transition and continuity, and (3) partnership for continuity. The information resources section includes documents that can help enhance readers' understanding of the major concepts discussed in the guide. This section contains digests, program profiles, hands-on activities, and resources.

Contact: Office of Head Start, 330 C Street, S.W., #4301, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 205-8347 Secondary Telephone: (866) 763-6481 Fax: (202) 260-9336 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.HeadStart.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 407 143.

Keywords: Families, Head Start, Health promotion, Parents, Resources for professionals, School adjustment, Training materials, Transition planning
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.